We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Haflidi A
Montego Bay, Jamaica

Wonderful Gakyil

Review of Gakyil
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Aug 2023
I was there for a conference in July 2023. The stay was wonderful, the reception staff was super helpful and knowledgeable about the area, the room was very clean and nice (the bedding decorative pieces were really impressive and a nice touch), the location is right in the center of the city, so very close to everything. The breakfast, and just the food in general, was really really nice. Next time I'll stay there again, for sure! Special thanks to Leki Wangmo, Damchoe Dorji and Ugyen Dorji, you made my stay there especially memorable.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Ask them for a Cappuccino, trust me
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this review
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your generous review and giving us a chance to be of service to you.

Our entire team is happy to learn that they have lived up to your expectations especially Leki Wangmo, Damchoe Dorji and Ugyen Dorji who had made your stay memorable.

We will be glad to have you back soon at Gakyil. Thank you once more.

Best Regards,
Hotel Gakyil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
LeMeridien.com
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$923
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$943
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$102
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$346
  • Official Hotel
6.1 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Forest View
Priceline
AU$379
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$63
  • Trip.com
    AU$99
0.9 km from Gakyil
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$254
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$80
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$53
  • Priceline
    AU$73
23.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
97
79
23
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
79
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower hotel is located the hotel staff views of the mountains top floor thimpu city business trip excellent location heart heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2023

Location of hotel is good.Staff behaviour is very good. They follow the instructions very well. Room service is very good. Among the staffs Chef "Prosenjit " has shown very good hospitality. Food quality very good.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rajdeep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Champa Ghalley, Sales at Gakyil, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Dear Rajdeep,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing us your experience.
We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We shall continue to provide our best hospitality.
Thank you for choosing us. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2023

Stayed in this hotel this week during my business trip. Hotel is good specifically chef Prasenjit is very good. Food is delicious and tasty.. I would love to stay in Gakyil in my next visit of Thimphu

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Coastal54102573305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2023

The hotel is in the heart of Thimpu city and close to clock tower which is the center of attraction in thimpu, its a happening place, there were programs held every evening at the clock tower like singing and dancing a very enjoyable place, you can also watch programs from this hotel rooms on the 5th floor, the hotel staff were very courteous and always greeting with smile and restaurant staff were also good, they had chef from Calcutta who was efficient in preparing indian style food which was very good in taste, there are lots of hotels and store and shopping in the walking distance from this hotel, the rooms are also good and specious, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Room tip: Best location hotel with excellent food and very courteous staff.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank needs_travelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2023 via mobile

Excellent hotel in a nice location in the centre of the city. Very much clean and have heater in the room. Rooms are beautifully decorated and i had city facing room. Breakfast was excellent . 5 floors with lift..booking was done by my guide..front desk staff was excellent. Restaurant in the Hotel too

Room tip: City facing room
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank RajeshPillai20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2022

The hotel is located right next to Clock Tower and one can get great views of the mountains from the rooms on the top floor. Amenities need to improve a lot though. We faced a power cut for one hour in the night and one morning something as basic as bread was not replenished in the breakfast buffet.

I am still giving 4 stars because we visited within one month of reopening and it must have been very difficult to offer the expected standard of service.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarkarsonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews