We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RajeshPillai20
Birmingham, United Kingdom

Excellent hotel at the Centre

Review of Gakyil
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2023via mobile
Excellent hotel in a nice location in the centre of the city. Very much clean and have heater in the room. Rooms are beautifully decorated and i had city facing room. Breakfast was excellent . 5 floors with lift..booking was done by my guide..front desk staff was excellent. Restaurant in the Hotel too
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: City facing room
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$227
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$275
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
1.2 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$96
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$244
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$228
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
AU$72
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$72
23.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
AU$63
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$939
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$938
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$921
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$211
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Gakyil
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
97
79
23
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
79
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower hotel is located the hotel staff views of the mountains top floor thimpu city business trip excellent location heart heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2022

The hotel is located right next to Clock Tower and one can get great views of the mountains from the rooms on the top floor. Amenities need to improve a lot though. We faced a power cut for one hour in the night and one morning something as basic as bread was not replenished in the breakfast buffet.

I am still giving 4 stars because we visited within one month of reopening and it must have been very difficult to offer the expected standard of service.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarkarsonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2020 via mobile

Hey!!!
I visited in this hotel for business meetings and also meeting goes successfully.
I request u all to visit here with your friends family or wot but i sure that it will be one of the best place you will visit.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank sunita1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Recently visited Gakyil hotel for my business solo trip,location is awesome and it in heart of city Thimphu.
Rooms were clean and everything placed in good and attractive manner.
food quality and taste was awesome for me and restaurant staff specially take care for Indian foods.
last nut not least front office staff are very warm welcoming and specially Mr. kunzang gyeltshen hospitality was appreciable.

good luck for all.

i recommend to all please visit.

thanks

Room tip: all rooms good
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank everycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

We were group of 3 couples stayed @ gaykil from 14 feb to 18 feb 2020. It was wonderful experience at gaykil right from check in to check out. It is located right at heart of thimpu city and steps away from clock tower.

Most courthouse staff, delicious food and good amenities. You make a request for anything and its right there on ur doorstep next minute. They helped us with transport as well as fine tuned our itenry with their experience.

Thanks a lot for the memories guys@gaykil and special thnx to Ms Rachel for providing all necessary info even before our trip started. Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank manishankars2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

Hotel is located in the heart of the city and close to local market. You can find many restaurants near to the hotel area. Rooms are clean and spacious with room heaters. Breakfast is good and staff is really nice. Great hospitality in budget price.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Shab_Ngpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews