We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
AU$95
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
163
124
39
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
124
39
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha point dogs barking wooden floors comfortable stay capital city courteous staff restaurant staff bhutan mountains earplugs heart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2023

I was impressed by the staff's communication and attentiveness- I never had to ask when meals were, where to get something, wifi password, etc. They anticipated our questions and were ready to help.

I loved having the option of a cafe with smaller meals, snacks, coffee drinks and gorgeous desserts AND the restaurant with a wide range of meals. Both also had professional staff and delicious, well presented food.

We had a corner room with spectacular views of the mountains surrounding Thimphu. Very spacious room. I'll definitely come back for another stay and have recommended it to my friends!

Room tip: Get a corner room if you can for even better views. Try the desserts in the cafe!
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2023

The hotel is blessed with courteous staff esp Mr Om Nath
and his restaurant staff. They provided us with VEGAN meals.
The housekeeping staff is equally good.
There was a mini market in the neighbourhood which is a good feature.
Generally we are happy with the hotel.
We wish the staff all success in life..

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ramanathan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2023 via mobile

The stay at hotel OSEL at thimpu was just amazing
This hotel is a nice hotel the staff there was very courteous the rooms were also neat and clean so was the bathroom.The food was also good there was a great spread.The hotel is situated at a sight from where the shops also close by. I would recommend this hotel for stay.Mr Omnath, the manager at OSEL is a great person very helpful and always welcoming and approachable.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BALWINDER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2023 via mobile

Friendly reception and reasonsbly good food. The breakfast spread is limited. The bread is thick and hard. Fruits are limited to 2 items namely cut apple & watermelon.
Service at the restaurant is very good with attentive waiter.

Our room toilet was not properly cleaned when we checked in with stains on the lid and toilet bowl left by previous occupant that was not properly cleaned.
No toothpaste & brush provided.

Wooden floors creaks badly.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mkganesan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Dear mkganesan7,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were pleased to be your choice in Thimphu and happy to host you. We were sorry to find out that your stay was not as we intend for our guests. We are currently looking into the fruits as we normally do have at least 4 options of fruits and looking into the housekeeping issues as well.

We were however happy to note that our service was as we intend in the restaurant and front office. We do hope you visit us again and give us a chance to serve you better.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2023 via mobile

Located at the heart of Thimpu, the suite possesses a luxurious & spacious design. Osel has exquisite F&B facilities, a chill cafe and an amazing bar with an extended list of cocktails. I was highly impressed with their friendly and polite staff. The porch provided a great view over the capital city and it's landscapes of the surrounding valleys. Dogs barking at night? No problem, plug in your airpods and you're all set. Special thanks to Kuenga for his generous hospitality. I recommend Osel without reserve!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Matthew KH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Dear Matthew KH W,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and more than happy that your stay with us was as pleasant as we expect it to be for all of our guests. We were more than happy that you discovered our Bar and enjoyed our cocktails. We do hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews