We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
AU$138
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
163
124
38
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
124
38
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha point dogs barking wooden floors comfortable stay capital city courteous staff restaurant staff bhutan mountains earplugs heart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2023 via mobile

The stay at hotel OSEL at thimpu was just amazing
This hotel is a nice hotel the staff there was very courteous the rooms were also neat and clean so was the bathroom.The food was also good there was a great spread.The hotel is situated at a sight from where the shops also close by. I would recommend this hotel for stay.Mr Omnath, the manager at OSEL is a great person very helpful and always welcoming and approachable.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BALWINDER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2023 via mobile

Friendly reception and reasonsbly good food. The breakfast spread is limited. The bread is thick and hard. Fruits are limited to 2 items namely cut apple & watermelon.
Service at the restaurant is very good with attentive waiter.

Our room toilet was not properly cleaned when we checked in with stains on the lid and toilet bowl left by previous occupant that was not properly cleaned.
No toothpaste & brush provided.

Wooden floors creaks badly.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mkganesan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Dear mkganesan7,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were pleased to be your choice in Thimphu and happy to host you. We were sorry to find out that your stay was not as we intend for our guests. We are currently looking into the fruits as we normally do have at least 4 options of fruits and looking into the housekeeping issues as well.

We were however happy to note that our service was as we intend in the restaurant and front office. We do hope you visit us again and give us a chance to serve you better.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2023 via mobile

Located at the heart of Thimpu, the suite possesses a luxurious & spacious design. Osel has exquisite F&B facilities, a chill cafe and an amazing bar with an extended list of cocktails. I was highly impressed with their friendly and polite staff. The porch provided a great view over the capital city and it's landscapes of the surrounding valleys. Dogs barking at night? No problem, plug in your airpods and you're all set. Special thanks to Kuenga for his generous hospitality. I recommend Osel without reserve!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Matthew KH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Dear Matthew KH W,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and more than happy that your stay with us was as pleasant as we expect it to be for all of our guests. We were more than happy that you discovered our Bar and enjoyed our cocktails. We do hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2022

This hotel was a last-minute substitute for another property under renovation, but I"m glad that it was. The staff was super-accommodating (the charming front desk trio of Sangita, Neeta, and Manita were inquisitive about my travels without prying), the restaurant folks were willing to bring dinner to my room so that I could work (alas, it was vacation in name only), and the room itself was clean and well-stocked with necessaries. The one complaint -- which apparently applies to all Thimphu hotels -- is that the local dogs decide to hold an conversation around midnight. But after an hour or so, they quiet down. Osel was a great hotel for my few nights in Thimphu. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kcmvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Dear kcmvirginia,
Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and more so that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as we do for all of our guests. We do apologise for the dogs but we do offer ear plugs for free for all of our guests. Thank you again for picking Osel and we hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2022 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. Massive room with great views. The internet, in particular, was very good and I was able to work in the afternoon/ evening without a hitch - I was even told my internet is better than some of my colleagues based in central London!

Good in the restaurant was varied and delicious.

The only issue was the sound of the dogs barking at night. I would recommend bringing wax or silicone earplugs as the foam ones weren’t ideal at blocking out the noise.

Room tip: Bring silicone or wax earplugs if a light sleeper
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Explore35302463629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear xplore35302463629,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and would like to thank you for highlighting our best services and location. We do apologize about the dogs but they are a problem all over the country. We do provide earplugs to help with this. We do hope you visit Bhutan and Osel again soon.



Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews