We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
AU$94
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
M K Ganesan M
Malaysia
Far from satisfactory
Review of Osel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Apr 2023via mobile
Friendly reception and reasonsbly good food. The breakfast spread is limited. The bread is thick and hard. Fruits are limited to 2 items namely cut apple & watermelon.
Service at the restaurant is very good with attentive waiter.

Our room toilet was not properly cleaned when we checked in with stains on the lid and toilet bowl left by previous occupant that was not properly cleaned.
No toothpaste & brush provided.

Wooden floors creaks badly.
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
LeMeridien.com
AU$938
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$936
  • Expedia.com
    AU$936
  • Booking.com
    AU$939
0.6 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$47
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$147
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$147
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$147
0.4 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$99
  • Agoda.com
    AU$94
  • Priceline
    AU$98
0.6 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$315
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$311
  • Agoda.com
    AU$329
  • Vio.com
    AU$354
5.5 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Osel
Premium Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    AU$135
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Vio.com
    AU$103
0.7 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$74
  • Hotels.com
    AU$70
  • Expedia.com
    AU$74
23.0 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$69
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
3.6 km from Osel
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$100
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.9 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
163
124
39
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
124
39
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha point dogs barking wooden floors comfortable stay capital city courteous staff restaurant staff bhutan mountains earplugs heart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2023 via mobile

Located at the heart of Thimpu, the suite possesses a luxurious & spacious design. Osel has exquisite F&B facilities, a chill cafe and an amazing bar with an extended list of cocktails. I was highly impressed with their friendly and polite staff. The porch provided a great view over the capital city and it's landscapes of the surrounding valleys. Dogs barking at night? No problem, plug in your airpods and you're all set. Special thanks to Kuenga for his generous hospitality. I recommend Osel without reserve!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Matthew KH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Dear Matthew KH W,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and more than happy that your stay with us was as pleasant as we expect it to be for all of our guests. We were more than happy that you discovered our Bar and enjoyed our cocktails. We do hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2022

This hotel was a last-minute substitute for another property under renovation, but I"m glad that it was. The staff was super-accommodating (the charming front desk trio of Sangita, Neeta, and Manita were inquisitive about my travels without prying), the restaurant folks were willing to bring dinner to my room so that I could work (alas, it was vacation in name only), and the room itself was clean and well-stocked with necessaries. The one complaint -- which apparently applies to all Thimphu hotels -- is that the local dogs decide to hold an conversation around midnight. But after an hour or so, they quiet down. Osel was a great hotel for my few nights in Thimphu. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kcmvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Dear kcmvirginia,
Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and more so that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as we do for all of our guests. We do apologise for the dogs but we do offer ear plugs for free for all of our guests. Thank you again for picking Osel and we hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2022 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. Massive room with great views. The internet, in particular, was very good and I was able to work in the afternoon/ evening without a hitch - I was even told my internet is better than some of my colleagues based in central London!

Good in the restaurant was varied and delicious.

The only issue was the sound of the dogs barking at night. I would recommend bringing wax or silicone earplugs as the foam ones weren’t ideal at blocking out the noise.

Room tip: Bring silicone or wax earplugs if a light sleeper
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Explore35302463629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear xplore35302463629,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and would like to thank you for highlighting our best services and location. We do apologize about the dogs but they are a problem all over the country. We do provide earplugs to help with this. We do hope you visit Bhutan and Osel again soon.



Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2022

10 Days of stay in Hotel OSEL was a great memorable moment for me. The staff are very friendly and nice. Especially during COVID time too, the staff from the Hotel were very responsive and offered good hospitality. Mansingh, who was in charge during my stay at Hotel had helped me a lot in person and made my stay very comfortable.

The large suites are really nice with a substantial lounge with views of mountains and the view of The Buddha point. The amenities and service was awesome. Dogs barking at night could be an issue.



Overall a good hotel with comfortable stay in Thimphu.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhushan-Bajracharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear Bhushan-Bajracharya,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were pleased to be your choice in Thimphu and more so that your stay was as pleasant as we strive for all of our guests. We do hope you visit again soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

We stayed at Osel on our Bhutan trip for a day-night. The check in experience was ok and they did seem understaffed for a weekday. We had opted for a king bed and it was actually two single beds joined. The join was covered with a separator, but it was very uncomfortable. Thanks to the ineffective small heater, we managed to sleep on one side of the bed. The washbasin water just tricked and two calls to the reception suggested that help is on the way. The restaurant and bar had a deserted look, so we stepped out for dinner. On our return we were told that the situation has been taken care but it was ineffective. Other further calls were only acknowledged with sorry and we will get this sorted in morning.

The severity of hotels water problem emerged only in morning. We only had trickling steaming hot waters in all taps (even compose hand showers) and no cold water. When multiple calls didn’t help a chaos at reception ensured that we were given an alternate room, but situation was eucalyptus bad there. On more fuss we were given keys to other wing, where things were just about ok for some time and then turned similar. Only one of us managed to bath.

The hotel staff was ineffective and belonged to a budget hotel category. When requested to take a photocopy, the staff charged us Rs 10/-. While the amount is small, this definitely is not what we expect from 4* or even 3* hotel. There is no manager in hotel.

Not a place I would advise anyone to stay... be it leisure or business travel. Avoid this place like plague.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ViXXiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear ViXXiV,

We were sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected and is not indicative of the average experience at Osel. We will look into the matter.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews