We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
kcmvirginia
Falls Church, Virginia
Friendly, nice stay in Thimpu
Review of Osel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Nov 2022
This hotel was a last-minute substitute for another property under renovation, but I"m glad that it was. The staff was super-accommodating (the charming front desk trio of Sangita, Neeta, and Manita were inquisitive about my travels without prying), the restaurant folks were willing to bring dinner to my room so that I could work (alas, it was vacation in name only), and the room itself was clean and well-stocked with necessaries. The one complaint -- which apparently applies to all Thimphu hotels -- is that the local dogs decide to hold an conversation around midnight. But after an hour or so, they quiet down. Osel was a great hotel for my few nights in Thimphu. I highly recommend it.
Date of stay: October 2022
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$947
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • LeMeridien.com
    AU$946
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$148
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$60
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$264
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$91
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$142
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
D'Light Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
11.1 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$50
  • eDreams
23.0 km from Osel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
163
124
39
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
124
39
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha point dogs barking wooden floors comfortable stay capital city courteous staff restaurant staff bhutan mountains earplugs heart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2022 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. Massive room with great views. The internet, in particular, was very good and I was able to work in the afternoon/ evening without a hitch - I was even told my internet is better than some of my colleagues based in central London!

Good in the restaurant was varied and delicious.

The only issue was the sound of the dogs barking at night. I would recommend bringing wax or silicone earplugs as the foam ones weren’t ideal at blocking out the noise.

Room tip: Bring silicone or wax earplugs if a light sleeper
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Explore35302463629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear xplore35302463629,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and would like to thank you for highlighting our best services and location. We do apologize about the dogs but they are a problem all over the country. We do provide earplugs to help with this. We do hope you visit Bhutan and Osel again soon.



Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2022

10 Days of stay in Hotel OSEL was a great memorable moment for me. The staff are very friendly and nice. Especially during COVID time too, the staff from the Hotel were very responsive and offered good hospitality. Mansingh, who was in charge during my stay at Hotel had helped me a lot in person and made my stay very comfortable.

The large suites are really nice with a substantial lounge with views of mountains and the view of The Buddha point. The amenities and service was awesome. Dogs barking at night could be an issue.



Overall a good hotel with comfortable stay in Thimphu.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhushan-Bajracharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear Bhushan-Bajracharya,

Thank you for your review of Osel, we were pleased to be your choice in Thimphu and more so that your stay was as pleasant as we strive for all of our guests. We do hope you visit again soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

We stayed at Osel on our Bhutan trip for a day-night. The check in experience was ok and they did seem understaffed for a weekday. We had opted for a king bed and it was actually two single beds joined. The join was covered with a separator, but it was very uncomfortable. Thanks to the ineffective small heater, we managed to sleep on one side of the bed. The washbasin water just tricked and two calls to the reception suggested that help is on the way. The restaurant and bar had a deserted look, so we stepped out for dinner. On our return we were told that the situation has been taken care but it was ineffective. Other further calls were only acknowledged with sorry and we will get this sorted in morning.

The severity of hotels water problem emerged only in morning. We only had trickling steaming hot waters in all taps (even compose hand showers) and no cold water. When multiple calls didn’t help a chaos at reception ensured that we were given an alternate room, but situation was eucalyptus bad there. On more fuss we were given keys to other wing, where things were just about ok for some time and then turned similar. Only one of us managed to bath.

The hotel staff was ineffective and belonged to a budget hotel category. When requested to take a photocopy, the staff charged us Rs 10/-. While the amount is small, this definitely is not what we expect from 4* or even 3* hotel. There is no manager in hotel.

Not a place I would advise anyone to stay... be it leisure or business travel. Avoid this place like plague.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ViXXiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear ViXXiV,

We were sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected and is not indicative of the average experience at Osel. We will look into the matter.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020 via mobile

OSEL is great hotel. The staff is very friendly and nice. The room we got at 1st had some issue with toilet as soon as we informed the staff they came checked the same. On not being able to rectify it they immediately changed our room. The room we were shifted to was even better. It was a corner room with big windows and a fantastic view.
The food was also very good in the hotel. All in all a great Hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jalbulsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear jalbulsara,

Thank you for your review of Osel! We were pleased to be your choice in Thimphu and do hope that you visit us again. We do apologise about the initial issue but glad we were able to rectify it immediately. We are always willing to do everything we can to ensure that our guests feel at home and are treated better. Please do let us know if we can in anyway be of service to you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

I checked s lot of reviews and booked this hotel for 2 nights. Was a let down.
Firstly, the hotel was empty with 10% occupancy, so you would expect better service right ? No.. the staff was pretty lazy about the service.
The wifi was super slow, the rooms did not have much amenities and baths also had minimum toiletries.
The breakfast spread was pathetic with bread, cut fruits and pulao as the option.

However the rooms were large and baths were also neat.

The other concern were the barking dogs, that don't let you sleep all night.

Overall an average stay, but not worth the tag.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 138sanathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Dear 138sanathk,

We thank you for your patience with the staff and internet which usually is not a problem. While we would love to enjoy 90% occupancy at all times it is the offseason and we cannot control the flow of guests into Bhutan that added to the recent health concerns world wide. The breakfast can usually be adjusted if you happen to ask a day earlier, it is hard however to please every palate visiting. Barking dogs are a problem all over Bhutan for which we do offer ear plugs on request for free. Thank you for visiting Osel and Bhutan.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews