We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller1
Taipei, Taiwan
It is sure nice, but no interesting activities
Review of Amankora
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 July 2019
This is our first lodge of our Amankora journey and it has a great location. It stood in the carnivorous forests and the rooms are beautifu. However, the food are really small potions so you should not worry to order more. The dance they did was cool, so don't miss that out. Other than that, there arent much to do. Do not go to the Royal Botanical Garden because the sandflies are no good. They bit my child and my husband on the leg and it took a long time to cure. My husband was allergic and ended up having to go to a local Clinique.
Date of stay: June 2019
Room Tip: All rooms are the same
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
LeMeridien.com
AU$941
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$942
  • Booking.com
    AU$942
  • Expedia.com
    AU$941
109.8 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
AU$115
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$73
  • Trip.com
    AU$118
  • Vio.com
    AU$73
109.6 km from Amankora
Free parking
Restaurant
Agoda.com
AU$95
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
    AU$129
109.6 km from Amankora
Priceline
AU$532
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$360
110.0 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$87
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$87
  • Agoda.com
    AU$84
  • Expedia.com
    AU$91
109.6 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$123
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$123
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Vio.com
    AU$123
110.0 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$261
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$234
  • Trip.com
    AU$291
  • Vio.com
    AU$237
110.8 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$148
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$148
  • Agoda.com
    AU$30
  • Expedia.com
    AU$148
109.5 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$69
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$69
  • Agoda.com
    AU$69
  • Vio.com
    AU$69
108.0 km from Amankora
Booking.com
AU$75
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$53
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$50
  • Priceline
    AU$75
132.8 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
131
20
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
20
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aman resorts bhutan architecture kinley karma
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2019

Hotel is very quiet and peaceful, which was perfect after a day and half of traveling from east coast of USA. The food was very good and the choices (Bhutanese and Western) was great for the family.

Really enjoyed the hikes and the visit to the center of Thimphu (not that city of thimphu is anything great), but our guide Tara, was fantastic and seemed to understand our level of interest in different things.

Look forward to returning someday.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nobaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2019

We arrived into Paro to be met by our driver and guide who then drove us straight to Thimpu to begin our adventure.
The lodge is set amidst a pine forest, really tranquil and peaceful.
After refreshing ourselves, we set off immediately to explore this beautiful country.
We were not disappointed. Lots to see and do and never failed to be impressed by the magnificent scenery.
Lodge was clean and comfortable. Overlooked the inner courtyard. The food was impressive and the menu varied.

Room tip: We had room 1
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mo0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2019

I travelled to Bhutan in February of this year, 2019. We arranged to stay at the Amankora chain of lodges. Each of these locations was pure magic. The location in Thimphu was an unbelievable start to our trip. The lodge is set in a perfect and idyllic setting. It is set amongst a beautiful forest. A small creek runs near that you can hear at night. We were warmly greeted by our Amankora guide and driver at the airport in Paro. First of all these were great people to show us their beautiful friendly country. The lodge rooms were large and luxurious. There is a stove in the room for a nice fire. It is a fantastic room. All the Amankora properties have great spa facilities. I had a fantastic massage the night we arrived. The lodge also set up a chance to speak with a Budhist monk the first evening. This was so enlightening. I am not a Budhist but this was very spiritual and meaningful to me. What a great treat. The meals are included at all the Amankora properites. The food was also fantastic. You could have local cuisine or western. Every thing was delicious. They would pretty much make anything you wished if they had it on hand. The staff was all amazing. I could not envision a better way to start this magical journey. I was travelling with a lady friend that I have had a long platonic relationship with as a travel buddy, however for those travelling as a couple, this is one of the most romantic places I have ever stayed at. I cannot stress how wonderful all of the Amankora properties are.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roccodenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmankoraBhutan, General Manager at Amankora, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Dear Roccodenver,

Kuzuzangpo la and thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your experience at Amankora Thimphu specifically, but also of your high praise of our 5 lodges across the Kingdom of Bhutan.

We also love the secluded forest setting of our lodge, removed from Thimphu city. The traditional Bukhari stoves really are perfect, especially at this time of year. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the talk by Mynak Trulku Rinpoche, especially as a basis for understanding Buddhism for your journey through the Kingdom.

We hope you enjoyed our other lodges just as much, and that we have a chance to welcome you back sometime in the future. There is always so much more to explore and experience.

All the very best from Thimphu,

Tashi Delek,
John Reed
Country Manager, Amankora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

With only 18 rooms, you think you’re in a country manor. Arrive and you’re enveloped in service and hospitality. Beautifully maintained property. The staff cannot do enough for you. Just ask. Outstanding restaurant. Beautiful rooms. All manner of surprising amenities, like those cookies that magically appear at the end of the day. Free morning yoga (recommended). Nice spa, with excellent (albeit not cheap) treatments. Steam room but, sadly, no sauna. Mountain bikes. The list goes on. Come to the Amankora and you will not want to leave. Excellent WiFi.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank filmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

LOCATION
It is tucked away in the hills above Thimphu. We walked to the main area, but it was about a 25 minute walk.

ROOMS
Spotless! Loved the open concept! Shower needs a curtain as it gets cold and leaks all over the floor. They clean your room or leave you a surprise every time you leave!

SERVICE
The service is amazing! They bent over backwards for us!

EXCURSIONS
The Buddha Dordenma statue is beautiful.
We LOVED hiking to the hidden monestary.
Seeing the paper factory and all the art shops was interesting!

GIVING BACK
Stop by the Bhutan Animal Rescue and Care to make a donation to help spay/neuter the street dogs. Contact them prior to your trip to see if there is anything you can bring in your suitcase!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank deborahanne312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews