We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Roccodenver
Denver, Colorado

A perfect start to a magical trip to Bhutanb

Review of Amankora
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Feb 2019
I travelled to Bhutan in February of this year, 2019. We arranged to stay at the Amankora chain of lodges. Each of these locations was pure magic. The location in Thimphu was an unbelievable start to our trip. The lodge is set in a perfect and idyllic setting. It is set amongst a beautiful forest. A small creek runs near that you can hear at night. We were warmly greeted by our Amankora guide and driver at the airport in Paro. First of all these were great people to show us their beautiful friendly country. The lodge rooms were large and luxurious. There is a stove in the room for a nice fire. It is a fantastic room. All the Amankora properties have great spa facilities. I had a fantastic massage the night we arrived. The lodge also set up a chance to speak with a Budhist monk the first evening. This was so enlightening. I am not a Budhist but this was very spiritual and meaningful to me. What a great treat. The meals are included at all the Amankora properites. The food was also fantastic. You could have local cuisine or western. Every thing was delicious. They would pretty much make anything you wished if they had it on hand. The staff was all amazing. I could not envision a better way to start this magical journey. I was travelling with a lady friend that I have had a long platonic relationship with as a travel buddy, however for those travelling as a couple, this is one of the most romantic places I have ever stayed at. I cannot stress how wonderful all of the Amankora properties are.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmankoraBhutan, General Manager at Amankora, responded to this review
Responded 25 Feb 2019
Dear Roccodenver,

Kuzuzangpo la and thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your experience at Amankora Thimphu specifically, but also of your high praise of our 5 lodges across the Kingdom of Bhutan.

We also love the secluded forest setting of our lodge, removed from Thimphu city. The traditional Bukhari stoves really are perfect, especially at this time of year. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the talk by Mynak Trulku Rinpoche, especially as a basis for understanding Buddhism for your journey through the Kingdom.

We hope you enjoyed our other lodges just as much, and that we have a chance to welcome you back sometime in the future. There is always so much more to explore and experience.

All the very best from Thimphu,

Tashi Delek,
John Reed
Country Manager, Amankora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
AU$242
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$221
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$221
  • eDreams
109.6 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
AU$96
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$61
  • Trip.com
    AU$100
  • Vio.com
    AU$64
109.6 km from Amankora
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$144
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
    AU$144
109.5 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$99
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$87
  • Agoda.com
    AU$81
  • Hotels.com
    AU$98
109.6 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Forest View
Priceline
AU$377
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$347
110.0 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside picture
Booking.com
AU$126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$94
109.6 km from Amankora
Expedia.com
AU$287
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$260
  • Vio.com
    AU$278
  • Booking.com
110.8 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
LeMeridien.com
AU$885
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
    AU$888
  • Booking.com
    AU$882
  • Hotels.com
    AU$888
109.8 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$942
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$935
  • Agoda.com
    AU$917
  • Priceline
    AU$935
109.7 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$101
  • Priceline
    AU$111
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
110.0 km from Amankora
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
131
20
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
20
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aman resorts bhutan architecture kinley karma
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

With only 18 rooms, you think you’re in a country manor. Arrive and you’re enveloped in service and hospitality. Beautifully maintained property. The staff cannot do enough for you. Just ask. Outstanding restaurant. Beautiful rooms. All manner of surprising amenities, like those cookies that magically appear at the end of the day. Free morning yoga (recommended). Nice spa, with excellent (albeit not cheap) treatments. Steam room but, sadly, no sauna. Mountain bikes. The list goes on. Come to the Amankora and you will not want to leave. Excellent WiFi.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank filmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

LOCATION
It is tucked away in the hills above Thimphu. We walked to the main area, but it was about a 25 minute walk.

ROOMS
Spotless! Loved the open concept! Shower needs a curtain as it gets cold and leaks all over the floor. They clean your room or leave you a surprise every time you leave!

SERVICE
The service is amazing! They bent over backwards for us!

EXCURSIONS
The Buddha Dordenma statue is beautiful.
We LOVED hiking to the hidden monestary.
Seeing the paper factory and all the art shops was interesting!

GIVING BACK
Stop by the Bhutan Animal Rescue and Care to make a donation to help spay/neuter the street dogs. Contact them prior to your trip to see if there is anything you can bring in your suitcase!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank deborahanne312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

it is a super luxury hotel in bhutan ,the high quality service with amenity facilite hotel in Thimphu of Bhutan . and a clean envinroment ,,really offer a confortable condition special the location is much better

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank tenzinlhasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmankoraBhutan, General Manager at Amankora, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Dear Tenzinlhasa,

Kuzuzangpo la and thank you for taking the time to write your review of your experience at Amankora Thimphu.

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and tranquil location!

Hopefully we do have a chance to welcome you back to Thimphu, or are other 4 lodges in Bhutan.

All the very best from Thimphu,

Tashi Delek,
John Reed
Country Manager, Amankora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

From what I understand from the wonderful staff, this hotel is 12 years old. It has that wonderful spartan, zen feel that Aman resorts are known for. Our room was large and very comfortable except for regulating the temperature. The bathroom, and toilet area need upgrading. You could not take a shower without getting your head wet and there was no heat in the little toilet room. The restaurant was wonderful and the staff warm and helpful. Just needs some upgrades as newer hotels start opening in Thimphu.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmankoraBhutan, General Manager at Amankora, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear Louise L,

Kuzuzangpo la and thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Amankora Thimphu.

I will be passing on your wonderful praise to all of our team, as it really does motivate them. Many have been with us since the beginning. Thank you also for your feedback on the bathroom, I will be discussing this with our engineering team to see where improvements can be made!

Hopefully we do have a chance to welcome you back to Thimphu, and hopefully our other lodges in Paro, Punakha, Gangtey & Bumthang too.

All the very best from Thimphu,

Tashi Delek,
John Reed
Country Manager, Amankora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2018 via mobile

You couldn’t pay me write something negative about Amankora Thimphu. This place was perfection - it spoils you for any other resort in Bhutan. Here’s an example: I thought it would be fun to try archery. Within fifteen minutes, the hotel arranged for a private instructor and a staff member who stood by me with the requisite wine and accoutrements used while shooting. The evening lecture by a Monk was fascinating.

The food was outstanding, and it was possible to get a Bhutanese menu. The resort is beautifully designed and the rooms are huge and well appointed (although I know of my wife would have been with me she would have preferred a little privacy in the bathroom which was open to the rest of the suite.

I’d return in a second. I stayed in some really fine resorts in Bhutan, but this place set the bar really high. And the staff couldn’t have been more accommodating.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank NantucketJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnReedAmankora, General Manager at Amankora, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Dear NantucketJoe,

Kuzuzangpo la and thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Amankora Thimphu. It's a real pleasure to hear such high praise from you & your wife.

The archery is lots of fun and I'm glad you found time to try out the national sport. I will pass on the compliments to the instructor and to the chef for the work him and his team did during your stay.

Hopefully we do have a chance to welcome you back to Thimphu, and hopefully our other lodges in Paro, Punakha, Gangtey & Bumthang. Until then, safe travels!

All the very best from Thimphu,

Tashi Delek,
John Reed
Country Manager, Amankora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews