We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
otraveller
Dublin, Ireland

Two day stay

Review of Hotel Riverview
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2019via mobile
Hotel is basic but the view makes up for this. Situated on the other side of Thimphu (an easy 10 min walk from centre), the rooms are large but basic. As i was part of tour the breakfast and main meal were included, both breakfast and dinner were buffet style and were fine. Wifi was not great worked best in lobby. Overall a pleasant stay.
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
LeMeridien.com
AU$923
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
D'Light Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Prestigia.com
0.5 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$939
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Hotel
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
5.2 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.7 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double bed set up in all rooms HN
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
11.2 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.6 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$40
  • Booking.com
23.7 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
13
80
45
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
80
45
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2019

Hotel River view is situated near by river and area is calm. It is well built hotel and located in a nice place. We took lunch at this hotel and we had very good vegetarian food. South indian dishes are supplied to us.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Balasubramanian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

This hotel is not great. It does have a nice view over the river to Thimphu but that is really all it can offer.
The rooms are spacious but are not comfortable or well maintained. The bathrooms are worse - old and both rooms I stayed on had the coat hook hanging by one screw - showing a lack of maintenance and proper checking.
The shower in the second room was not working properly but with the boiler being physically in every bathroom at least you can guarantee hot water!
The breakfast and dinner buffet is limited. Dinner particularly is bland western style food with a Chinese influence for some reason. The bar is nonexistence in reality as they only had coke or soda water as mixers and the spirits did not include rum (even though the local rum is decent).
I wouldn’t be in a hurry to come back here

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Suzanneandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2019

it's an old but well built and spacious hotel, ideally located overlooking the river. Nice well appointed rooms with spacious balconies. A spacious and neat attached bathroom with bath tub. The Hotel staff is very limited but extremely friendly. No AC/fan in rooms so afternoons in summer will be slightly stuffy. No lift in the Hotel though only 3 floors.
Has a small restaurant, which may get crowded when occupancy is high.Hotel is just a 10 min walk from the main market area.

Room tip: Chose a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATISH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2019

This hotel has been rightly named as riverview. It’s a hotel indeed with a great view. We were on the 3rd floor . The room had a balcony and the view was amazing. It overlooks the Thimphu river , football stadium and a part of the Thimphu city. You can also see the sitting Buddha few miles on a hilltop. The hotel is 10 -12 mins walking from the Thimphu clock tower even though not on the main city centre the short distance covers up. Food is good but can improve. Breakfast spread is not much but okay.
I hear it’s one of the oldest hotels in Thimphu, but well maintained. Being an old building there are no lifts. The hotel is so nicely positioned that even you are not on the third floor the view from the entire hotel is worth it. A good family and not so expensive hotel in Thimphu. Staffs are also courteous. Me and family really enjoyed the stay and can recommend this hotel anyone coming to visit Thimphu.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anirban G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile

This is one of the earliest hotels in Bhutan. Fairly large, probably 80-100 rooms. Large sitting area and dining area where limited selection of Bhutanese cuisine is served. Rooms are reasonably large and toilets are well maintained with hotel show facilities working well. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Repeat stay is possible.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Teong Hoon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews