We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Suzie Mike & Sam
Wallington, United Kingdom

Average at best with limited Buffet & bar

Review of Hotel Riverview
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Oct 2019via mobile
This hotel is not great. It does have a nice view over the river to Thimphu but that is really all it can offer.
The rooms are spacious but are not comfortable or well maintained. The bathrooms are worse - old and both rooms I stayed on had the coat hook hanging by one screw - showing a lack of maintenance and proper checking.
The shower in the second room was not working properly but with the boiler being physically in every bathroom at least you can guarantee hot water!
The breakfast and dinner buffet is limited. Dinner particularly is bland western style food with a Chinese influence for some reason. The bar is nonexistence in reality as they only had coke or soda water as mixers and the spirits did not include rum (even though the local rum is decent).
I wouldn’t be in a hurry to come back here
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
AU$237
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$242
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
AU$97
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$61
  • Vio.com
    AU$62
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from Hotel Riverview
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$96
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
  • Expedia.com
    AU$84
0.4 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Forest View
Priceline
AU$379
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$349
0.8 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$145
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
  • Priceline
    AU$145
0.5 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$102
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$104
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
  • Vio.com
    AU$102
0.9 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$287
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
    AU$284
  • Trip.com
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$127
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$93
1.3 km from Hotel Riverview
LeMeridien.com
AU$888
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$890
  • Priceline
    AU$887
  • Booking.com
    AU$887
0.6 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$942
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$942
  • Agoda.com
    AU$929
  • Booking.com
    AU$942
0.8 km from Hotel Riverview
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
13
80
45
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
80
45
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2019

it's an old but well built and spacious hotel, ideally located overlooking the river. Nice well appointed rooms with spacious balconies. A spacious and neat attached bathroom with bath tub. The Hotel staff is very limited but extremely friendly. No AC/fan in rooms so afternoons in summer will be slightly stuffy. No lift in the Hotel though only 3 floors.
Has a small restaurant, which may get crowded when occupancy is high.Hotel is just a 10 min walk from the main market area.

Room tip: Chose a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATISH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2019

This hotel has been rightly named as riverview. It’s a hotel indeed with a great view. We were on the 3rd floor . The room had a balcony and the view was amazing. It overlooks the Thimphu river , football stadium and a part of the Thimphu city. You can also see the sitting Buddha few miles on a hilltop. The hotel is 10 -12 mins walking from the Thimphu clock tower even though not on the main city centre the short distance covers up. Food is good but can improve. Breakfast spread is not much but okay.
I hear it’s one of the oldest hotels in Thimphu, but well maintained. Being an old building there are no lifts. The hotel is so nicely positioned that even you are not on the third floor the view from the entire hotel is worth it. A good family and not so expensive hotel in Thimphu. Staffs are also courteous. Me and family really enjoyed the stay and can recommend this hotel anyone coming to visit Thimphu.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anirban G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile

This is one of the earliest hotels in Bhutan. Fairly large, probably 80-100 rooms. Large sitting area and dining area where limited selection of Bhutanese cuisine is served. Rooms are reasonably large and toilets are well maintained with hotel show facilities working well. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Repeat stay is possible.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Teong Hoon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2019

Is a nice and modern hotel overlooking the city. My room was a good size and clean. Everything worked in the room. Had dinner in the restaurant which was pleasant and a nice selection from the dinner buffet.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Situated a little out of the town but still in walking distance, just a short walk along the lane and over the bridge. great place to see the school children on their way to school all in their National costume and to hear the calls of the Archers enjoying themselves on the field of play. Loved the little balcony that looked over the river and the town. All comforts catered for admirably.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews