We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No booking fees
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Arnav P
Great stay!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2024
I had a great stay at the Capital Hotel for one night - very clean room and in a good location for walking around Thimpu. They also have a fitness center and a good restaurant. Overall, would recommend to anyone looking for a quick stay in the capital city!
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$92
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • LeMeridien.com
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Restaurant
D'Light Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.6 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
11.4 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
1.1 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$38
  • Priceline
23.4 km from The Capital Hotel Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
8
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2023

The facilities are all modern and hot water for the bath can be enough.
The hospitality of the staff for the guest is excellent.
The breakfast buffet menu is little bit poor and fresh vegetable is little.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Freedom52189861847
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Operation Manager, General Manager at The Capital Hotel Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback. We will definitely look into including more vegetables for the buffet breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2023

The Capital Hotel was a wonderful home-away-from-home during my trip to Thimphu! My room had an excellent view of the city, the every meal was delicious, and the staff was incredibly warm and helpful. We honestly could not have chosen a better place to stay during our visit. We received amazing care and hospitality! I definitely recommend staying here.

Room tip: Request a room with a view of the Buddha Dordenma
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sightsee16074222535
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Operation Manager, General Manager at The Capital Hotel Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2023

Thank you so much for your decision to stay with us. It's absolutely our pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you so much for your reviews and we will be looking forward to welcome you to the Himalayan Kingdom and The Capital Hotel Thimphu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2023

I stayed 2 nights at the Capital Hotel and can tell you it is the perfect place to stay in Thimphu whether you are a tourist or on business. The location perfect, facillities excellent, food in the restaurant exquisite and service fantastic - polite, gentle and attentive. I recommend this hotel highly.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Operation Manager, General Manager at The Capital Hotel Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you so much for your reviews. We are glad you had a wonderful experience out here at The Capital Hotel, Thimphu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023

One of the finest hotel I have ever stayed in. We were traveling with a team of 30 persons. Stayed there for 10 days. The experience staying in this hotel was awesome. Would like to visit this place again.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MajidYousuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Operation Manager, General Manager at The Capital Hotel Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Thank you so much for your review. Your review motivates us to strive towards excellence in service. Hope to welcome you back in near future. With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Rooms were very nice with beautiful view . The service was excellent !! The food at the red was also very good. . Tried some Bhutanese cuisine, really liked it . Each and every staff was very polite and very friendly . Had a lovely stay. Would definitely come back to the hotel again

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rashrash143
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Operation Manager, General Manager at The Capital Hotel Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

We are extremely grateful for your kind reviews. Thank you for choosing The Capital Hotel Thimphu as your preferential accommodation and staying with us. Tashi Delek- May all good things come to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews