We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janet I
Sydney, Australia

Luxurious Hotel!

Review of Khang Residency
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Oct 2019via mobile
This hotel is luxurious! Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff who can't do enough for you and spacious rooms with a huge bathroom. The beds are comfortable as well. The balcony also had panoramic views of the city. Highly recommend this hotel!
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this review
Responded 20 Oct 2019
Kuzuzangpola Janet,

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us just as much as we enjoyed having you here. Our team will be absolutely delighted to hear your feedback. Thank you for your kind words and for mentioning the view from our hotel rooms. They are always appreciated by our guests as all rooms offer a scenic panoramic view of the Thimphu valley and surrounding hills.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Khang Residency very soon.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$910
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    AU$909
1.1 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$93
  • Hotels.com
    AU$50
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
    AU$927
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$100
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
  • Trip.com
1.1 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$225
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$87
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Hotel
  • Hotels.com
    AU$302
  • Vio.com
5.7 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$128
  • Agoda.com
    AU$26
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
2.1 km from Khang Residency
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
149
56
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
149
56
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews young boy heated floors heated towel rack home stay hot water jain food nice bathroom very nice hotel breakfast and dinner other hotels room heater stayed for nights thimphu town balcony bhutan conditioner kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2019

The Khang Residency offers spacious rooms, delicious food and a friendly, efficient service. From the room window or the balcony, one gets a wide glimpse over Thimphu. It is a "don't worry, be happy" place.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we thank you for choosing to stay at Khang Residency. We are extremely pleased to hear your kind words, especially mentioning our spacious rooms and the view from our window and balcony. They are always appreciated by our guests as all rooms offer a scenic panoramic view of the Thimphu valley and surrounding hills.
Lastly I must agree, our team definitely strives to create a “don’t worry, be happy” place!

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

Staff were helpful and kind.
Meals tasty. Breakfast very generous.
It’s not located close to shopping or restaurants, but in house restaurant is fine.
As with most hotels, too much light under doors, through curtains and from led displays.

Room tip: Take an eye mask to sleep if you can’t do light.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 49Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. Our team will be absolutely delighted to hear your positive comments and learn that their efforts did not go unnoticed. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our food as all dishes are carefully prepared from scratch and catered towards our guests' preferences. As per our location, there are actually a number of restaurants located right next to us and handicraft stores are only a couple minutes away.
We are so sorry to hear about the light entering your room. I wish you had addressed this immediately to our front desk as we are always prepared to help our guests and would have made arrangements to create a better stay for you.

Hope your overall stay in Bhutan was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back with a better experience.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2019 via mobile

We had a very good stay at Khang Residency but I believed this hotel will become even better with regular checks and maintenance.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom had a bathtub and standing shower. Our room 402 had a poor water pressure. The bathtub shower and standing shower simply didn't have enough water pressure even if you turned the tap to the max. The entrance door at 402 couldn't close properly and there is a gap which allows anyone to see inside the room.

The breakfast is very good and service staff are friendly.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank OriginalAngryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. I wish you had addressed these issues immediately to our front desk as we are always prepared to help our guests and would have made arrangements to create a better stay for you. I have reported these issues to maintenance and I can confidently say that these issues have been well resolved.
On the other hand I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our food as all dishes are carefully prepared from scratch and catered towards our guests' preferences. Our team will also be absolutely delighted to hear your positive comments and learn that their efforts did not go unnoticed.

Hope your stay in Thimphu was otherwise enjoyable and hope to welcome you back to our new and improved hotel.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2019

The service was great. The bed was comfortable and clean. However, the water pressure of the shower was extremely low and the temperature of water heater varies, which disappoint us quite a bit, especially when the evenings were cold. Not sure if the water pressure issue was just for our room.

The food was great, very homecooked. But, the portion for dinner could be a little too much.

Overall, recommended stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LGB_ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I am pleased to hear your positive review about our service and rooms but extremely sorry about your experience with the shower. I wish you had addressed this immediately to our front desk as we are always prepared to help our guests and would have made arrangements to create a better stay for you.

Hope your stay in Thimphu was otherwise enjoyable and hope to welcome you back to our new and improved hotel.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019

This is the best place to stay in Thimphu at a perfect city centre location, food is delicious and hotel team service is full of warmth.
Hotel owner is Amazing, who is generous and down to earth, always ready to answer to your queries with a smile on the face.

Room tip: Nice, clean and Comfy Room
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Excursionvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We have an extremely hard working team that strives to provide the highest level of services for our guests and they will be absolutely delighted to hear your feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our food as all dishes are carefully prepared from scratch and catered towards our guests' preferences. I must agree, our location is unbeatable. It provides our guests with the comfort and convenience of staying in a quiet, safe and private residential neighborhood, and still only a 5 minute drive away from the City Center.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at Khang Residency. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews