We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No booking fees
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
OriginalAngryBird
Singapore

Maintenance Required

Review of Khang Residency
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 June 2019via mobile
We had a very good stay at Khang Residency but I believed this hotel will become even better with regular checks and maintenance.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom had a bathtub and standing shower. Our room 402 had a poor water pressure. The bathtub shower and standing shower simply didn't have enough water pressure even if you turned the tap to the max. The entrance door at 402 couldn't close properly and there is a gap which allows anyone to see inside the room.

The breakfast is very good and service staff are friendly.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this review
Responded 29 Aug 2019
Kuzuzangpola,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. I wish you had addressed these issues immediately to our front desk as we are always prepared to help our guests and would have made arrangements to create a better stay for you. I have reported these issues to maintenance and I can confidently say that these issues have been well resolved.
On the other hand I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our food as all dishes are carefully prepared from scratch and catered towards our guests' preferences. Our team will also be absolutely delighted to hear your positive comments and learn that their efforts did not go unnoticed.

Hope your stay in Thimphu was otherwise enjoyable and hope to welcome you back to our new and improved hotel.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$268
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$268
0.1 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$242
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$242
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$245
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$245
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$204
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Khang Residency
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$59
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Restaurant
neat and clean bed
Tripadvisor
AU$73
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
22.3 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$98
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
LeMeridien.com
AU$925
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$924
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$942
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Khang Residency
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
149
55
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
149
55
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews young boy heated floors heated towel rack home stay hot water jain food nice bathroom very nice hotel breakfast and dinner other hotels room heater stayed for nights thimphu town balcony bhutan conditioner kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2019

The service was great. The bed was comfortable and clean. However, the water pressure of the shower was extremely low and the temperature of water heater varies, which disappoint us quite a bit, especially when the evenings were cold. Not sure if the water pressure issue was just for our room.

The food was great, very homecooked. But, the portion for dinner could be a little too much.

Overall, recommended stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LGB_ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I am pleased to hear your positive review about our service and rooms but extremely sorry about your experience with the shower. I wish you had addressed this immediately to our front desk as we are always prepared to help our guests and would have made arrangements to create a better stay for you.

Hope your stay in Thimphu was otherwise enjoyable and hope to welcome you back to our new and improved hotel.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019

This is the best place to stay in Thimphu at a perfect city centre location, food is delicious and hotel team service is full of warmth.
Hotel owner is Amazing, who is generous and down to earth, always ready to answer to your queries with a smile on the face.

Room tip: Nice, clean and Comfy Room
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Excursionvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We have an extremely hard working team that strives to provide the highest level of services for our guests and they will be absolutely delighted to hear your feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our food as all dishes are carefully prepared from scratch and catered towards our guests' preferences. I must agree, our location is unbeatable. It provides our guests with the comfort and convenience of staying in a quiet, safe and private residential neighborhood, and still only a 5 minute drive away from the City Center.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at Khang Residency. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019

Wonderful, peaceful stay, every time. The staff are friendly and kind. Clean lovely rooms with views, some overlook Thimphu, my favorite rooms look toward Changangkha Lhakang temple. Bathrooms have heated floors and towel racks. Breakfasts are ample with delicious food and omelets cooked to order. Set above the main town of Thimphu, its easy to access downtown Thimphu with local taxis. I love staying here.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xoakj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Kuzuzangpola Wendy,

We cannot thank you enough for yet another wonderful review and for always choosing to stay with us. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us just as much as we enjoyed having you here. Our team will be absolutely delighted to hear your feedback. Your kind words have motivated us to work even harder and hopefully provide you with an even better experience in the future.

Thank you again for your kind words and choosing to stay at Khang Residency. We are absolutely certain that we will be welcoming you back again soon!

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2019 via mobile

Our group stayed here both before and after our three week trek. It was wonderful! The service was great, the rooms were awesome, in the staff met our every needs. I definitely would stay here again. Some rooms even had their own central communal gathering/kitchen areas which were large, spotless, and comfortable.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Spider-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We have an extremely hard working team that strives to provide the highest level of services for our guests and they will be absolutely delighted to hear your feedback.
Thank you for mentioning our Premium rooms, where three rooms share a common Living/Dining and Kitchen area. They are located on our highest floor, offering either a panoramic view of the whole valley or unobstructed views of the nearby hills.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at Khang Residency. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2019 via mobile

Service and staff were so friendly and met every need of our group. Breakfast was fantastic. Clean clean rooms with city views from the room and balcony with sitting area. Can not say enough about the staff.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhondup w, General Manager at Khang Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Kuzuzangpola,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. Our team will be absolutely delighted to hear your positive comments and learn that their efforts did not go unnoticed. Thank you for mentioning the view from our hotel room and balcony. They are always appreciated by our guests as all rooms offer a scenic panoramic view of the Thimphu valley and surrounding hills.


Once again, thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at Khang Residency. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kadrinchela,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews