We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Footprints80753
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Great central location
Review of Hotel Galingkha
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 July 2019
We spent a week in this hotel and loved the location and proximity to everything in Thimphu. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly. They smiled and assisted with every enquiry without being pushy. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The food was consistently good and every effort was made to accomodate our needs. I highly recommend the hotel and especially the staff and location
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
LeMeridien.com
AU$950
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$949
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$951
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
AU$116
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$131
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$96
1.3 km from Hotel Galingkha
Booking.com
AU$149
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
  • Agoda.com
    AU$30
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$363
0.3 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$91
  • Agoda.com
    AU$85
  • Booking.com
    AU$88
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$124
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$268
  • Agoda.com
    AU$236
  • Lol.travel
1.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$75
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$51
  • Agoda.com
    AU$53
23.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$70
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
3.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2019

Warm staff, huge rooms, good food, perfect location. Excellent information contained in the hotel welcome pack, especially about the humane dog population management programme in Bhutan. Nice restaurant serving local beer, lovely way to celebrate our first night in Bhutan.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank VAS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Dear VAS2011,

Thank you very much for taking a time to review our hotel in TripAdvisor. We are trilled to hear you had a fabulous stay with us. We look forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need.

Thank you once again for your great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

Really central to Thimphu main streets. V. Friendly. Room serviced daily and clean, friendly staff. Good service, good food. I would recommend. Staff fluent in English and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 187judyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Dear 178judy,

Thank you for taking a time to share your recent experience in Hotel Galingkha. We look forward welcoming you again in future.

Thank you once again for your time and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel right in the city center. Rooms are heated, which is a big plus in winter. Restaurant is not heated. Rooms are spacious and beds are good. Negative is that there is no isolation so you will hear the dogs bark at night.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank hjkort
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Dear hjkort,

Thank you for your review. Yes we fully agree to the fact that we do have problems with dogs. But unfortunately this is a problem of the whole city and the stray dogs are also on the outskirts of the city. The Government is trying very hard and putting in a lot of effort to curb this issue. We have also started installing the sound proof glass in the rooms and have a central heating system in restaurant and reception area. I am certain you will find all aspects in line with your expectations on your future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2018

Hotel was good, nice location, neat and clean, lobby is small but outside main gate lawn was good, staff is very cooperative, very nice place to enjoy vacations, very civilazed people, only draw back is transportation.

Room tip: its on a nice location, market and restaurant is near by, front side rooms are good.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank princejeremiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear about the location, cleanliness, cooperative staff and our Location that was highlighted and we truly appreciate your constructive feedback for the transportation that we can help you in your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2018 via mobile

The room are nice and the hotel is located ideally for tourists. It’s like in the Center of the market place. The staff present at the hotel were also co-operative and welcoming. Overall a nice experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vidit73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews