We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hans K
Vienna, Austria
Nice hotel in city center
Review of Hotel Galingkha
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2018via mobile
Nice hotel right in the city center. Rooms are heated, which is a big plus in winter. Restaurant is not heated. Rooms are spacious and beds are good. Negative is that there is no isolation so you will hear the dogs bark at night.
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
LeMeridien.com
AU$950
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$949
  • Booking.com
    AU$951
  • Priceline
    AU$951
0.1 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$537
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$363
0.3 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
AU$116
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$73
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$73
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
AU$88
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$91
  • Agoda.com
    AU$85
  • Booking.com
    AU$88
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$124
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$124
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Vio.com
    AU$124
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$268
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$236
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$241
1.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
AU$96
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
    AU$131
1.3 km from Hotel Galingkha
Booking.com
AU$149
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$149
  • Agoda.com
    AU$30
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
0.4 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Priceline
AU$75
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$53
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$51
  • Booking.com
    AU$75
23.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$70
  • Priceline
    AU$70
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
3.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2018

Hotel was good, nice location, neat and clean, lobby is small but outside main gate lawn was good, staff is very cooperative, very nice place to enjoy vacations, very civilazed people, only draw back is transportation.

Room tip: its on a nice location, market and restaurant is near by, front side rooms are good.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank princejeremiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear about the location, cleanliness, cooperative staff and our Location that was highlighted and we truly appreciate your constructive feedback for the transportation that we can help you in your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2018 via mobile

The room are nice and the hotel is located ideally for tourists. It’s like in the Center of the market place. The staff present at the hotel were also co-operative and welcoming. Overall a nice experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vidit73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Galingkha Hotel is perfectly alright for a simple, no-frills stay. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and like all previous reviewers mentioned - it is in the city centre which makes exploring the city on foot very easy.

Bhutan buildings typically reach 5 levels at most, so there are no elevators. Galingkha Hotel has no elevator so walking up to your room will be good conditioning for your upcoming treks in this country.

There are many dogs on the streets and you can hear them bark. My wife and I, and our friends did not hear them bark loudly at night and we slept well. We enjoyed our stay here.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nick_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018



Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our Location, cleanliness and comfortable bed that was highlighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This is a great location in Thimphu. You can see the famous one man traffic circle from the window and you can easily walk to shopping and restaurants in Thimphu. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The soaking tubs are great and the water is hot. I had to call to get slippers but they arrived quickly.
The only caveat about this hotel is the restaurant. When I travel to Bhutan, I prefer to eat Bhutanese food. The restaurant at Galingka seems to cater to foreigners who do not want Bhutanese food. As a result, the Bhutanese food is "so-so." The breakfasts were very good.
The hotel itself is nicely decorated and the outdoor patio is covered in beautiful plants. I would stay here gain-but I will go out for dinner:-)

Room tip: I stayed in the corner room, facing the traffic circle-it was nice. The dogs can be noisy at night in Thimphu-but that is everywhere.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybird108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear ladybird108,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our Location and view that was highlighted and we truly appreciate your constructive feedback on the Bhutanese food that our team fail to present the Bhutanese Menu (which you have missed our wonderful Bhutanese set) which makes us to make more suggested menu during meal. I am certain you will find all aspects in line with your expectations on your future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

i ve stayed in this hotel Twice and liked it,,,though they dont have a Lift facility and for rooms you have to climb stairs ,

clean ,cosy ,big decent rooms in the heart of Thimphu and found it quite a nice stay...
Limited Complimantary breakfast is avaible .

in my second stay their is are lot of mosquitos in the room so be careful about that

Room tip: check for mosquitos in th eroom...
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank iftekharz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Iftekhar Z

Thank you very much for reviewing us at TripAdvisor. It gives us immense pleasure to note that and we truly appreciate your feedback regarding the complimentary breakfast and mosquito that happen during your stay. We look forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need. Thank you once again for your time and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews