We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Vidit A
Dibrugarh, India
Excellent
Review of Hotel Galingkha
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2018via mobile
The room are nice and the hotel is located ideally for tourists. It’s like in the Center of the market place. The staff present at the hotel were also co-operative and welcoming. Overall a nice experience.
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$947
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • LeMeridien.com
    AU$946
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$148
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$264
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$60
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$1,499
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
10.9 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$91
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$142
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
D'Light Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$51
  • Booking.com
23.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Galingkha Hotel is perfectly alright for a simple, no-frills stay. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and like all previous reviewers mentioned - it is in the city centre which makes exploring the city on foot very easy.

Bhutan buildings typically reach 5 levels at most, so there are no elevators. Galingkha Hotel has no elevator so walking up to your room will be good conditioning for your upcoming treks in this country.

There are many dogs on the streets and you can hear them bark. My wife and I, and our friends did not hear them bark loudly at night and we slept well. We enjoyed our stay here.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nick_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018



Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our Location, cleanliness and comfortable bed that was highlighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This is a great location in Thimphu. You can see the famous one man traffic circle from the window and you can easily walk to shopping and restaurants in Thimphu. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The soaking tubs are great and the water is hot. I had to call to get slippers but they arrived quickly.
The only caveat about this hotel is the restaurant. When I travel to Bhutan, I prefer to eat Bhutanese food. The restaurant at Galingka seems to cater to foreigners who do not want Bhutanese food. As a result, the Bhutanese food is "so-so." The breakfasts were very good.
The hotel itself is nicely decorated and the outdoor patio is covered in beautiful plants. I would stay here gain-but I will go out for dinner:-)

Room tip: I stayed in the corner room, facing the traffic circle-it was nice. The dogs can be noisy at night in Thimphu-but that is everywhere.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybird108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear ladybird108,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our Location and view that was highlighted and we truly appreciate your constructive feedback on the Bhutanese food that our team fail to present the Bhutanese Menu (which you have missed our wonderful Bhutanese set) which makes us to make more suggested menu during meal. I am certain you will find all aspects in line with your expectations on your future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

i ve stayed in this hotel Twice and liked it,,,though they dont have a Lift facility and for rooms you have to climb stairs ,

clean ,cosy ,big decent rooms in the heart of Thimphu and found it quite a nice stay...
Limited Complimantary breakfast is avaible .

in my second stay their is are lot of mosquitos in the room so be careful about that

Room tip: check for mosquitos in th eroom...
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank iftekharz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Iftekhar Z

Thank you very much for reviewing us at TripAdvisor. It gives us immense pleasure to note that and we truly appreciate your feedback regarding the complimentary breakfast and mosquito that happen during your stay. We look forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need. Thank you once again for your time and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and offers clean, comfortable rooms. Food at the hotel was decent. There was no hot water on 2 out of the 4 nights but the staff was helpful and tried to provide accommodations.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KastaliaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Lisa

Thank you very much for taking time to do this for us. It gives us immense pleasure to note that. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I booked a deluxe room for 6 nights for 3 members through Expedia. So I needed an extra bed. Through expedia I had paid for 3 members and the extra bed also. On checking in I was given a room with an extra bed - however the room was quite small. I guess they might have given me a standard room instead of deluxe room. The main idea of choosing the deluxe room was that it would be spacious, however this was not the case. With the extra bed there was hardly any space to move around. On complaining they said they will change the room - but somehow kept pushing it and did not give me a different room. Another issue was that the blankets all had spilled coffee and other stains. This needs to be improved. The positives were the staff ensured that 3 towels were placed daily and 3 water bottles. Compare this to other hotels where if you have one extra person you need to request for these everyday. The location of the hotel is also good. It is at the central location. Yes dogs bark a lot in the nights - but since we are used to it in our place also - it did not disturb us. The rates for breakfast extra are very high and hence we were forced to have breakfast outside. Overall an ok place. Seems a bit costly for the price. I felt cheated as I was given a small room.

Room tip: Ensure you are allocated the right room - which you have choosen.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Satyanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Satyanath,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. Your feed back will definitely help us improve and learn more. We truly appreciate, it gives us immense pleasure to note that. We are looking forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews