We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ladybird108
Seattle, Washington

Central location to anything in Thimphu

Review of Hotel Galingkha
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Sept 2018
This is a great location in Thimphu. You can see the famous one man traffic circle from the window and you can easily walk to shopping and restaurants in Thimphu. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The soaking tubs are great and the water is hot. I had to call to get slippers but they arrived quickly.
The only caveat about this hotel is the restaurant. When I travel to Bhutan, I prefer to eat Bhutanese food. The restaurant at Galingka seems to cater to foreigners who do not want Bhutanese food. As a result, the Bhutanese food is "so-so." The breakfasts were very good.
The hotel itself is nicely decorated and the outdoor patio is covered in beautiful plants. I would stay here gain-but I will go out for dinner:-)
Date of stay: September 2018
Room Tip: I stayed in the corner room, facing the traffic circle-it was nice. The dogs can be noisy at...
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this review
Responded 18 Sept 2018
Dear ladybird108,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our Location and view that was highlighted and we truly appreciate your constructive feedback on the Bhutanese food that our team fail to present the Bhutanese Menu (which you have missed our wonderful Bhutanese set) which makes us to make more suggested menu during meal. I am certain you will find all aspects in line with your expectations on your future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
AU$237
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$241
  • Agoda.com
    AU$231
  • Prestigia.com
    AU$241
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
AU$97
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    AU$100
  • Agoda.com
    AU$61
  • Vio.com
    AU$61
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free parking
Restaurant
Comfort Forest View
Priceline
AU$379
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$348
0.3 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$98
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
  • Hotels.com
    AU$96
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$145
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$145
0.4 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$102
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$102
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
  • Trip.com
    AU$170
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$267
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$245
  • Prestigia.com
    AU$267
  • Vio.com
    AU$246
1.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$127
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$93
1.3 km from Hotel Galingkha
LeMeridien.com
AU$923
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$923
  • Booking.com
    AU$923
  • Expedia.com
    AU$923
0.1 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$941
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$941
  • Agoda.com
    AU$911
  • Priceline
    AU$941
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

i ve stayed in this hotel Twice and liked it,,,though they dont have a Lift facility and for rooms you have to climb stairs ,

clean ,cosy ,big decent rooms in the heart of Thimphu and found it quite a nice stay...
Limited Complimantary breakfast is avaible .

in my second stay their is are lot of mosquitos in the room so be careful about that

Room tip: check for mosquitos in th eroom...
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank iftekharz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Iftekhar Z

Thank you very much for reviewing us at TripAdvisor. It gives us immense pleasure to note that and we truly appreciate your feedback regarding the complimentary breakfast and mosquito that happen during your stay. We look forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need. Thank you once again for your time and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and offers clean, comfortable rooms. Food at the hotel was decent. There was no hot water on 2 out of the 4 nights but the staff was helpful and tried to provide accommodations.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KastaliaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Lisa

Thank you very much for taking time to do this for us. It gives us immense pleasure to note that. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I booked a deluxe room for 6 nights for 3 members through Expedia. So I needed an extra bed. Through expedia I had paid for 3 members and the extra bed also. On checking in I was given a room with an extra bed - however the room was quite small. I guess they might have given me a standard room instead of deluxe room. The main idea of choosing the deluxe room was that it would be spacious, however this was not the case. With the extra bed there was hardly any space to move around. On complaining they said they will change the room - but somehow kept pushing it and did not give me a different room. Another issue was that the blankets all had spilled coffee and other stains. This needs to be improved. The positives were the staff ensured that 3 towels were placed daily and 3 water bottles. Compare this to other hotels where if you have one extra person you need to request for these everyday. The location of the hotel is also good. It is at the central location. Yes dogs bark a lot in the nights - but since we are used to it in our place also - it did not disturb us. The rates for breakfast extra are very high and hence we were forced to have breakfast outside. Overall an ok place. Seems a bit costly for the price. I felt cheated as I was given a small room.

Room tip: Ensure you are allocated the right room - which you have choosen.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Satyanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Satyanath,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. Your feed back will definitely help us improve and learn more. We truly appreciate, it gives us immense pleasure to note that. We are looking forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

spacious room with nice view of street, good staff, good food. has a nice streetside sitout near restaurant. stairs are not comfortable. no lift hence elderly people please ask for rooms in lower floors. in the middle of market but no noise. A WORD OF CAUTION- shelves in cupboards are very flimsily placed. one of my friend was injured when the shelf fell down.

Room tip: no lifts only stairs that too unwieldy hence elderly people can choose rooms on first floor.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mverma20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Mverma20142014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our Location and view, food and staff that was highlighted and we truly appreciate your constructive feedback on shelves in cupboards we feel really sorry that it happened during your time here.I am pleased to inform you that, we are constantly in the process of keeping our products fresh and safe assured this is been undertaken. Thank you once again and we look forward to yet another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel Galingkha.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Well located in the city of Thimphu , very convenient for shopping and walking outside. The garden of hotel is really nice !

The room is big and well decorated, quiet and clean.The staff are polite and nice! Wonderful memory there

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Dor709
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Dor709

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review on our property. We are delighted to know you had a great stay and enjoy our services. We hope to again have the pleasure of having you with us.
Once again thank you for perfect rating and excellent accolades of Hotel Galingkha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews