We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
iftekharz007
Guwahati, India

Nice hotel in the Mid of the city

Review of Hotel Galingkha
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Aug 2018
i ve stayed in this hotel Twice and liked it,,,though they dont have a Lift facility and for rooms you have to climb stairs ,

clean ,cosy ,big decent rooms in the heart of Thimphu and found it quite a nice stay...
Limited Complimantary breakfast is avaible .

in my second stay their is are lot of mosquitos in the room so be careful about that
Date of stay: August 2018
Room Tip: check for mosquitos in th eroom...
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this review
Responded 19 Sept 2018
Dear Iftekhar Z

Thank you very much for reviewing us at TripAdvisor. It gives us immense pleasure to note that and we truly appreciate your feedback regarding the complimentary breakfast and mosquito that happen during your stay. We look forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need. Thank you once again for your time and patronage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
AU$96
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$61
  • Trip.com
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free parking
Restaurant
Outside picture
Booking.com
AU$126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$94
1.3 km from Hotel Galingkha
LeMeridien.com
AU$885
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    AU$882
  • Hotels.com
    AU$888
0.1 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$237
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Forest View
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$347
0.3 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$935
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$144
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$101
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$99
  • Agoda.com
    AU$81
  • Hotels.com
    AU$98
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$73
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$50
  • Priceline
23.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and offers clean, comfortable rooms. Food at the hotel was decent. There was no hot water on 2 out of the 4 nights but the staff was helpful and tried to provide accommodations.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KastaliaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Lisa

Thank you very much for taking time to do this for us. It gives us immense pleasure to note that. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I booked a deluxe room for 6 nights for 3 members through Expedia. So I needed an extra bed. Through expedia I had paid for 3 members and the extra bed also. On checking in I was given a room with an extra bed - however the room was quite small. I guess they might have given me a standard room instead of deluxe room. The main idea of choosing the deluxe room was that it would be spacious, however this was not the case. With the extra bed there was hardly any space to move around. On complaining they said they will change the room - but somehow kept pushing it and did not give me a different room. Another issue was that the blankets all had spilled coffee and other stains. This needs to be improved. The positives were the staff ensured that 3 towels were placed daily and 3 water bottles. Compare this to other hotels where if you have one extra person you need to request for these everyday. The location of the hotel is also good. It is at the central location. Yes dogs bark a lot in the nights - but since we are used to it in our place also - it did not disturb us. The rates for breakfast extra are very high and hence we were forced to have breakfast outside. Overall an ok place. Seems a bit costly for the price. I felt cheated as I was given a small room.

Room tip: Ensure you are allocated the right room - which you have choosen.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Satyanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Satyanath,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. Your feed back will definitely help us improve and learn more. We truly appreciate, it gives us immense pleasure to note that. We are looking forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

spacious room with nice view of street, good staff, good food. has a nice streetside sitout near restaurant. stairs are not comfortable. no lift hence elderly people please ask for rooms in lower floors. in the middle of market but no noise. A WORD OF CAUTION- shelves in cupboards are very flimsily placed. one of my friend was injured when the shelf fell down.

Room tip: no lifts only stairs that too unwieldy hence elderly people can choose rooms on first floor.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mverma20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Mverma20142014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our Location and view, food and staff that was highlighted and we truly appreciate your constructive feedback on shelves in cupboards we feel really sorry that it happened during your time here.I am pleased to inform you that, we are constantly in the process of keeping our products fresh and safe assured this is been undertaken. Thank you once again and we look forward to yet another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel Galingkha.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Well located in the city of Thimphu , very convenient for shopping and walking outside. The garden of hotel is really nice !

The room is big and well decorated, quiet and clean.The staff are polite and nice! Wonderful memory there

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Dor709
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Dor709

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review on our property. We are delighted to know you had a great stay and enjoy our services. We hope to again have the pleasure of having you with us.
Once again thank you for perfect rating and excellent accolades of Hotel Galingkha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

In one word 'beautiful'. In respect of room quality , service , food quality and taste , behavior of employees and very supportive and humble Manager Mr. Pema Kunzang.

My best experience in entire Bhutan comparing to other 3 hotels in Bhutan I stayed.

Location is superb , heart of the town, road side but not in congested market area.

good time can be spent for shopping , eating street foods , No taxi needed to visit Club .
And specially I love the lawn the hotel have.

If I come to Bhutan again I will visit you for sure.

Room tip: Corner and Front side rooms
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRITESHP202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YeshiJigs, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you very much for your good feedback and please visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews