We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Satyanath
Bangalore District, India

Good hotel, but lax attitude of staff

Review of Hotel Galingkha
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 June 2018
I booked a deluxe room for 6 nights for 3 members through Expedia. So I needed an extra bed. Through expedia I had paid for 3 members and the extra bed also. On checking in I was given a room with an extra bed - however the room was quite small. I guess they might have given me a standard room instead of deluxe room. The main idea of choosing the deluxe room was that it would be spacious, however this was not the case. With the extra bed there was hardly any space to move around. On complaining they said they will change the room - but somehow kept pushing it and did not give me a different room. Another issue was that the blankets all had spilled coffee and other stains. This needs to be improved. The positives were the staff ensured that 3 towels were placed daily and 3 water bottles. Compare this to other hotels where if you have one extra person you need to request for these everyday. The location of the hotel is also good. It is at the central location. Yes dogs bark a lot in the nights - but since we are used to it in our place also - it did not disturb us. The rates for breakfast extra are very high and hence we were forced to have breakfast outside. Overall an ok place. Seems a bit costly for the price. I felt cheated as I was given a small room.
Date of stay: June 2018
Room Tip: Ensure you are allocated the right room - which you have choosen.
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this review
Responded 21 June 2018
Dear Satyanath,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. Your feed back will definitely help us improve and learn more. We truly appreciate, it gives us immense pleasure to note that. We are looking forward welcoming you again in future and our team remains at your disposal for any assistance you may need.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
LeMeridien.com
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$913
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
D'Light Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$931
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Hotel
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
5.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double bed set up in all rooms HN
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
10.9 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
1.1 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$39
  • Booking.com
23.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

spacious room with nice view of street, good staff, good food. has a nice streetside sitout near restaurant. stairs are not comfortable. no lift hence elderly people please ask for rooms in lower floors. in the middle of market but no noise. A WORD OF CAUTION- shelves in cupboards are very flimsily placed. one of my friend was injured when the shelf fell down.

Room tip: no lifts only stairs that too unwieldy hence elderly people can choose rooms on first floor.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mverma20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Mverma20142014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our Location and view, food and staff that was highlighted and we truly appreciate your constructive feedback on shelves in cupboards we feel really sorry that it happened during your time here.I am pleased to inform you that, we are constantly in the process of keeping our products fresh and safe assured this is been undertaken. Thank you once again and we look forward to yet another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel Galingkha.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Well located in the city of Thimphu , very convenient for shopping and walking outside. The garden of hotel is really nice !

The room is big and well decorated, quiet and clean.The staff are polite and nice! Wonderful memory there

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Dor709
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Dor709

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review on our property. We are delighted to know you had a great stay and enjoy our services. We hope to again have the pleasure of having you with us.
Once again thank you for perfect rating and excellent accolades of Hotel Galingkha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

In one word 'beautiful'. In respect of room quality , service , food quality and taste , behavior of employees and very supportive and humble Manager Mr. Pema Kunzang.

My best experience in entire Bhutan comparing to other 3 hotels in Bhutan I stayed.

Location is superb , heart of the town, road side but not in congested market area.

good time can be spent for shopping , eating street foods , No taxi needed to visit Club .
And specially I love the lawn the hotel have.

If I come to Bhutan again I will visit you for sure.

Room tip: Corner and Front side rooms
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRITESHP202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YeshiJigs, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you very much for your good feedback and please visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

The best location and nice view is probably the sales point for this hotel though the equipment becomes bit old. Restaurant serves slow for breakfast and provide relatively good Indian cuisine (but not western cuisine).

Room tip: Try top floor for better view
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Koji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Kojit869

Warm greeting from Hotel Galingkha

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our location and view that was highlighted and we truly appreciated your constructive feedback on the bit old equipment. I am pleased to inform you that, we are constantly in the process of keeping our products fresh and rest assured this has been undertaken. I apologize for the delay service and not offering better western cuisine that has happen during your stay.
I am certain you will find all aspect in line with your expectation on your future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future

With best wishes

Pema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Clean, Centrally located is a good hotel, but close to traffic and a lot of dogs barking at night....
The restaurant offers the usual Buffet Style food .... that never is quite hot/ warm.
Chicken / meat is on the menu daily and if you are a vegetarian you have make do with the side dishes.

Room tip: The further up you live you might hear less of the barking dogs at night ...
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank gyeloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Gyeloh,

Thank you for staying with us and taking out the time to review on our property. I am thrilled to know about the location and cleanliness that is rightly pointed out and really felt sorry regarding dog barking, which is on the outskirt of the whole city that government is also putting lot of effort to curb this issue and expecting for the better result soon.

Fixing the soundproof glasses has been undertaken in few rooms. I am certain you will find all aspects in line with your expectations on your future visits.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in near future

With best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews