We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PRITESH P
Kolkata (Calcutta), India

BEST OUT OF BEST HOTELS IN THIMPHU

Review of Hotel Galingkha
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2018
In one word 'beautiful'. In respect of room quality , service , food quality and taste , behavior of employees and very supportive and humble Manager Mr. Pema Kunzang.

My best experience in entire Bhutan comparing to other 3 hotels in Bhutan I stayed.

Location is superb , heart of the town, road side but not in congested market area.

good time can be spent for shopping , eating street foods , No taxi needed to visit Club .
And specially I love the lawn the hotel have.

If I come to Bhutan again I will visit you for sure.
Date of stay: November 2017
Room Tip: Corner and Front side rooms
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YeshiJigs, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this review
Responded 14 Feb 2018
Thank you very much for your good feedback and please visit us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$228
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$228
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$95
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$131
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$131
0.4 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$244
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$244
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$212
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$245
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$224
  • Trip.com
0.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$59
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$925
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$925
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$925
0.1 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    AU$935
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
neat and clean bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$71
  • Booking.com
23.2 km from Hotel Galingkha
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
57
34
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

The best location and nice view is probably the sales point for this hotel though the equipment becomes bit old. Restaurant serves slow for breakfast and provide relatively good Indian cuisine (but not western cuisine).

Room tip: Try top floor for better view
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Koji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Kojit869

Warm greeting from Hotel Galingkha

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Hotel Galingkha. I am thrilled to hear our location and view that was highlighted and we truly appreciated your constructive feedback on the bit old equipment. I am pleased to inform you that, we are constantly in the process of keeping our products fresh and rest assured this has been undertaken. I apologize for the delay service and not offering better western cuisine that has happen during your stay.
I am certain you will find all aspect in line with your expectation on your future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future

With best wishes

Pema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Clean, Centrally located is a good hotel, but close to traffic and a lot of dogs barking at night....
The restaurant offers the usual Buffet Style food .... that never is quite hot/ warm.
Chicken / meat is on the menu daily and if you are a vegetarian you have make do with the side dishes.

Room tip: The further up you live you might hear less of the barking dogs at night ...
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank gyeloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkuenzang, Manager at Hotel Galingkha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Gyeloh,

Thank you for staying with us and taking out the time to review on our property. I am thrilled to know about the location and cleanliness that is rightly pointed out and really felt sorry regarding dog barking, which is on the outskirt of the whole city that government is also putting lot of effort to curb this issue and expecting for the better result soon.

Fixing the soundproof glasses has been undertaken in few rooms. I am certain you will find all aspects in line with your expectations on your future visits.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in near future

With best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We were booked into a corner room on the top floor, overlooking the traffic police kiosk at the main junction of central Thimphu (intersection of Hogdzin Lam and Norzin Lam). Great view of the intersection at all hours! Spacious room with TV, hotpot, mini-fridge, bottled water, modern shower, WC, and lavatory. As usual in many hotels in Bhutan the hot water tank is mounted to the wall in the bathroom, so make sure the switch to the receptacle is on to ensure practically instant hot water. Restaurant on the ground floor provides unremarkable buffet breakfast. Because we were foreigners the staff automatically delivered white bread toast - although it arrived after we finished our meal. Extremely friendly staff! Arrangements for spa amenities can be reserved at the front desk, although these are offsite (across the street). The spa is absolutely worth a visit - especially after a long day walking or after a trek! Perfect place to pamper your tired feet. Be aware that there is no elevator and the staircase is wide but quite steep in places - can take the wind out of your sails. Floors in the hallway on the top floor are uneven with ramps in unexpected places - so tread carefully. The best part of the stay for me was at night. Despite advice from friends to bring earplugs to muffle the din of the street dogs - I just listened. It turned out to be amazing to hear the local dogs organize themselves to belt out a chorus together. After that I slept soundly - in fact profoundly. At some point the dogs became customary and strangely comforting background noise.

Room tip: If you want to see the traffic police kiosk in action ask for a corner room.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arxitexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This Hotel is located at the heart of the Thimphu Town saving time for the travelers to go around the town, do shopping or even for a late night party.
Having a Bhutanese Architectural with Modern amenities, it is a perfect place with extra Comfort and Atmosphere. The mouth Watering cuisine and with great care by the team make it a best to hold a night at.

Date of stay: May 2017
2  Thank Nim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2016

The short: for a restful night, re-read the review title. For details, read on.

Selected by our Bhutan travel guide, the Hotel Galingkha is located in a part of town with a nice local vibe. The staff was wonderful, gracious and helpful with them wrestling your luggage away from you if you attempt to carry it up the stairs in this elevator-free hotel. (A slim elderly man ran several laps from the lobby up the 63 steps to our room with several 40-pound pieces of luggage.) The dining room service was excellent, as was the food. On the other hand...

..after a long day, including the Tiger's Nest climb, additional stairs were not on our agenda. The rooms, which were spacious, are poorly designed for guests. There are not bedside lamps and no way to illuminate one side of the bed and no light switch at bedside. The makeshift desk by the bed had a non-working lamp.

The room was cold with a heater that was not up to the task in December. Worse, the bathroom was colder. Worse still, the hot water quickly ran out leaving us with cold showers in a cold room.

Just as bad, the WiFi was barely usable in the room and only slightly better in the lobby

The bed and pillows were pleasantly firm and up there with the most comfortable hotel surfaces I can recall, but the bed and pillow could not compensate for the cold and THE BARKING OF THE DOGS.

All night, throughout the night, stray dogs, some single, some in packs, responding to each other over the distances, maintained a sustained dysharmonic cacophony of noise that permeated our top-floor room. It was miserable. Most other reviews concur on this doggy issue.

While the Hotel Galinkha has some nice features, they are diminished by the poor WiFi, cold rooms, cold showers and the dogs, the barking of the dogs. Stay in an other part of town unless you want to awaken dog-tired.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank doctorbobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews