We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique animal”

Motithang Takin Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 150.00*
and up
4-Day Bhutan Tour
Ranked #23 of 34 things to do in Thimphu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Be prepared to walk a lot, but, you won't be disappointed. The taking is a truly unique animal, something between a cow & a goat. They are protected in the middle of the preserve with a walking trail that goes along the periphery.

I wasn't inclined to walk; so i stayed put on the left side. To my delight, the taking started descending towards where I was standing because, apparently, it was their feeding area & time.

Without moving a muscle, I saw about 30 of these unique animals. They are gentle, & not great in the looks department, but they are unique & a cause of pride for Bhutan. Please don't tease the animals or make any loud noises.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank LetsGoSightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"national animal"
in 155 reviews
"goat"
in 152 reviews
"the reserve"
in 36 reviews
"barking deer"
in 23 reviews
"mini zoo"
in 16 reviews
"sambar"
in 11 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 8 reviews
"endangered species"
in 7 reviews
"divine madman"
in 11 reviews
"visit this place"
in 17 reviews
"fence"
in 90 reviews
"cow"
in 98 reviews
"bears"
in 60 reviews
"wild"
in 38 reviews
"herd"
in 12 reviews
"acres"
in 8 reviews
"myth"
in 9 reviews
Filter

92 - 96 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Only worth visiting if you are curious to see this unique animal. I am glad we did as I knew nothing about it before arriving in Bhutan and can now understand the Bhutanese pride in this national icon.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MarkMcG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

It’s a long walk up the hill to you a few Takin. Chances are you will not be able to see them close up. Photographing them also is very difficult through a tightly weaved fence. I don’t feel seeing them is worth the time or effort.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Manuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

It is like a mini zoo Mostly Takins are preserve here. Male and Female Takins are presnet. Along with Takin , there are deers mainly Samba deer.
There is an entry fee for tourist. One may skip the place untill and unless you are not a zoologist or animal lover.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank ShaliniP_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Go if on your way, worth the time to see this unique animal. Not so busy and worth a quick visit. There are some other animals also (deers).

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Motithang Takin Preserve also viewed

 
Thimphu, Thimphu District
Thimphu, Thimphu District
 

Been to Motithang Takin Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing