We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
AU$1,866
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$1,866
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
87
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post card beautifully appointed hotel indoor pool a wonderful stay personalized service great ambience boutique hotel icing on the cake will visit again sitting area amazing hotel bhutanese style postcards valley chef tj hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2023

Lovely place just short of Thimpu with all the typical postcard touches people have come to like. Great food and team. Lovely heated rooms with balconies looking out into the valley. Pool is great touch.

Room tip: Ideal to cover thimpu not Paro.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Postcard Hotel The Postcard Hotel, Owner at The Postcard Dewa Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Dear Mr. Bhatia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay experience on TripAdvisor.
It brings us immense joy to know that you found our location to be lovely, complete with the typical postcard touches that guests have come to appreciate. Our team takes great pride in curating a memorable experience for our guests, and we are thrilled to hear that you found our food and team to be exceptional.

The fact that you enjoyed the heated rooms with balconies overlooking the valley warms our hearts. We strive to create a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere, and i'am so honored to learn that we were successful in providing you with a pleasant stay. Additionally, we're pleased that you found the pool to be a great touch, adding to the overall enjoyment of your time at our resort.

Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it motivates our team to continually provide the best possible service. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable experience soon .

Warm regards,

TJ
Resort General Manager
The Postcard Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023

The property itself is beautiful... picturesquely set on a fabulous location surrounded by majestic mountains...as everything in Bhutan is...but it was the Postcard Dewa team's hospitality (led by resort's general manager TJ) that made our holiday an unforgettable personalised experience.

The littlest things touched our hearts...like
adapter plugs conveniently placed by the bedside so we didn't need to request for them;
archery set up on the lawn;
the team escorting us on our hikes, market visits, nights out...introducing us to the amazing local culture;
the private picnic organised for our family by the pristine riverside;
Chef Harsh's delicious food - from traditional Bhutanese to buckwheat pancakes, to the Pani Puri platter with the most unconventional, innovative variety of Paani, and desserts so beautifully plated we felt guilty to cut into them...
all of this along with city tours to monasteries, white water rafting, massages etc. painstakingly organised for us,
made us crave to be back before we even left!

Special shout out to TJ, Unnish at reception, our favourite sculptor, musician Kuenzang and the entire team really, who were so professional and attentive in their hospitality...that they felt like family!

Room tip: Going off season helped us get the undivided attention of the team.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sunseteffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Postcard Hotel The Postcard Hotel, Owner at The Postcard Dewa Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

Dear Mrs. Satyani,

Your warm remarks are highly appreciated, especially your recognition towards the staff that works behind the scene. I will ensure that your comment are been shared with Kuenzang, Harsh, Unish and the team. They will serve as a source of great inspiration and will inspire us to strive for even greater levels of service.

We were overjoyed to have you and your family with us. The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Postcard Dewa, Thimphu for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Temjen. Ao (TJ)
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023

Wondeful visit at the Postcard Hotel in Thimphu . Our room was enormous with an outdoor patio . Delicious treats awaited us upon arrival and every night there was a small gift left for us . Food was fantastic and the staff attentive without being intrusive . Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SpongeCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Postcard Hotel The Postcard Hotel, Owner at The Postcard Dewa Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2023

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Saker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at The Postcard Hotel in Thimphu. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our spacious room with an outdoor patio, delicious treats upon arrival, nightly gifts, fantastic food, and attentive staff made your visit a memorable one.

We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another exceptional stay.

Sincere regards,

Temjen. Ao (TJ)
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2023 via mobile

I have stayed at this property 3 times now. The service is exceptional, the food is delicious, the spa is fantastic, the property is stunning with amazing rooms. It’s my go to within Thimphu. The GM TJ goes out of his way for the guest experience every time.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank easyI14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Postcard Hotel The Postcard Hotel, Owner at The Postcard Dewa Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Dear Mr. Kai,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Postcard Dewa,Thimphu and for taking your precious time out to review us.

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our services and specially for the team that works behind the scenes. We are delighted to hear that the food, rooms, hotel and service met your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our team and we are confident they will find this a source of inspiration to keep up the great work.

We are extremely delighted to have you and look forward to welcoming you back!!

Best regards,

Temjen. Ao (TJ)
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2023

Where do I even start?! The Postcard Dewa felt like home away from home in Bhutan. I only stayed for a night because of my packed itinerary, but the staff truly made my stay so seamless and comfortable. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, someone is always ready to assist you with whatever you need. I also want to say a special thank you to the chef and kitchen staff for whipping up an amazing breakfast and dinner platter for me. (Not to mention all the snacks/treats they provide throughout your stay so you're never hungry!)

The room I stayed in was extremely spacious yet cozy with a nice layout. I especially liked the outdoor terrace for the views and the heated floors. I also want to mention that the turndown service was amazing - loved the extra little notes and hotel merchandise especially for taking away toiletries.

The pool was under maintenance during the time of my stay but I was able to use the steam/sauna room which was also a pleasant add on to the room perks!

Thank you to the whole team (front desk/room service staff, chef and restaurant staff, GM) at Postcard Dewa! Highly recommend staying here!

Room tip: Don't forget your swimsuit if you want to use the pool!
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tiffk852
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Postcard Hotel The Postcard Hotel, Owner at The Postcard Dewa Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2023

Dear Ms.Kwan,

Greetings from The Postcard Dewa,Thimphu !

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Bhutan and for taking out your time to review and recommend us. We put guest experience and satisfaction as our top priority and your detailed review of your experience reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. It is the feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the hotel with memorable moments.
I am glad to learn everything about the product and service made your leisure stay a special one. We regret that the pool was closed for periodic maintenance and that you were unable to use it.

We thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Kind regards,

Temjen. Ao (TJ)
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews