We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
34
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
34
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden buddha lodge nest gm itinerary architecture properties land paro archery culture guide luxury clouds happiness festival bhutan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2019 via mobile

We arrived afternoon from Bangkok and were immediately taken care of - Our room got upgraded, and we were offered fresh drinks and foods by the amazing staff.

The location is breathtaking! It is quite a way up, but it's worth every meter. The infinity pools also added depth to the beautifully detailed and designed lobby.

The rooms are brilliant, too! They are very spacious yet also cozy. The beds are very comfortable as well.

The indoor swimming pool is well heated and the gym is really up to date. The spa is also really nice.

The manager is fabulous! She is so friendly and enthusiastic. Her dogs are also the nicest!

Again I would like the thank the staff - they all took such amazing care of us (definitely better than any other hotel we've been in).

The place is great for kids and adults and the food is superb. Everything is included of course.

I would recommend this to anyone, with no exception! I know we'll come back for sure :)

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jonathanerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CountryLodgeManager, Manager at Six Senses Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Dear Jonathanerez

Please do come back and do not forget we are opening two more properties! We are delighted to read your great review of our lodges, from the comfortable bed and food, to our amazing hosts. Our lodge dogs, Kyichu and Jampa were very happy to be spoiled and cuddled by all of you!
We hope to see you soon!

Tashi Delek
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019

The friendly hosts made sure I had a memorable trip- one I will cherish for the rest of my life. I have to applaud the six senses team for doing such a thorough job with the sustainability efforts to help both bhutan locally as well as the environment, overall. From their use of glass bottles everywhere to focusing on seasonal, locally sourced produce from the kitchen gardens, the efforts do not go unnoticed. The Thimpu property has a gorgeous indoor, temperature controlled pool so you can swim anytime from 9-9. It is a great idea to work up an appetite or to unwind after a hike. The hosts at your hotel would request that you take it easy on day 1 and rest up and drink enough fluids to help with acclimitisation and you should definitely listen to them. The destination dining experience at the farmhouse with traditional, bhutanese food is an afternoon I will be talking about for a long long time to come. Everything was just perfect and painstakingly curated with a beautiful sentiment behind each inclusion. The visit to the temple for blessings and to light the butter lamps was also one of the highlights of our visit. We wanted to say thank you to everyone at the team especially Sonam, Deepak, Yanki for going out of their way to make sure we were well looked after and comfortable. Highly recommend the wellness screening with Dr Apoorva and try and opt for a couples hot stone treatment particularly after a gruelling hike.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Wanderingforwellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CountryLodgeManager, Manager at Six Senses Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Dear Jia S

It was our pleasure to welcome you to both Six Senses Thimphu and Paro. We are happy you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, particularly our sustainability initiatives, pool and wellness screening. We’ve shared your comments with our hosts, particularly our Sustainability Coordinator, Yeshey, Guide and Driver, Sonam and Deepak, GEM Yanki and Dr. Apurva.
We hope to welcome you back!

Tashi Delek
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2019

Six Senses Thimpu will take your breath away. Not metaphorically, but truly. As the big wooden main door opens, you see an infinity pool with the reflection of the fantastic Bhutanese sky at the far end. The gorgeous town of Thimpu below you is nestled between mighty, green mountains. There is a picturesque telescope with which you can see the iconic statue at Buddha Point (a place you're bound to visit either later the same day, or the next).
The suites feel like your very own personal mini lodges and have everything a luxury traveler could ask for, replete with a picturesque tub and even a private balcony. The hosts are polite, knowledgeable and incredibly attentive- and will ensure everything you ask is taken care of.
The food is absolutely phenomenal, and if you get a chance- do try the picnic lunch as well! Swim in one of the most beautiful swimming pools you'll ever experience no matter the weather outside- as they'll set the temperature just right. The wellness team take fantastic care and while there, get a Hot Stone treatment and if you're up for it, a Personalized Wellness Screening (haven't ever seen anything like it except at Six Senses).

Room tip: All rooms are perfect!
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vkullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CountryLodgeManager, Manager at Six Senses Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Dear vkullar

We thank you for taking the time to review, in such detail, your stay at Six Senses Thimphu. We are happy to read you had a breathtaking experience and our hosts were attentive and took care of everything.

Tashi Delek
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2019

The settings (for each of three locations now open: Paro, Thimphu and Punakha): Dramatic beauty. The accommodations: Relaxed luxury. The food: Creative and (almost all) delicious. The people: This is where Six Senses Bhutan separates itself. Genuinely sincere professionals, including several industry veterans in management, who welcome and treat you as if you’re good friends visiting their new home. Keep in mind, of course, that these properties, all carved into formidable hillsides, opened only in April 2019. So there was an occasional hiccup (e.g., brief power outage) but nothing which took away from the Six Senses vibe and consistent personal attention. Nothing was too trivial or difficult. What could be better than kind people providing exemplary hospitality as you travel across a remarkable country?

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestCoastTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CountryLodgeManager, Manager at Six Senses Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2019

Dear dmrosen1

Thank you for taking the time to review our properties. We love your generous comment of ‘exemplary hospitality’. Wow! It is always a pleasure to welcome good friends to our new home. And we so look forward to your return.
Tashi Delek, Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019 via mobile

My wife and I visited Bhutan on a 7 days trip and stayed in the three different Six Senses Bhutan properties  (Thimphu, Punakla, Paro). All three of them are newly opened in April and each of them have their own characters and surrounding environments. Rooms, amenities, gym, wellness center, swimming pools and restaurants are all very well setup. At Thimphu Six Senses, the lounge and the restaurant are surrounded by the infinity pool and have a nice paranomic view of the surrounding valley. The lounge at Punakla have been setup so nicely that we have decided to have meals there. The lounge is right on top of a infinity pool. Besides a stunning view of the valley, our dinning table is on top of a see through glass floor looking into the pool. Perhaps the most amazing parts are the hospitality of all the staffs in the three properties. We do feel we receive the royal family like services. Their guest experience managers and all staffs are serving us from the bottom of their heart and knowing our needs at any time. For example they have arranged foot massage upon us arriving hotel right after our few few hours of hiking to Tiger Nest. The tour guide and drivers were assigned for us from the time we arrived Paro Airport till we left Bhutan. We have been well taking care. Good planning on our itinerary and very passionate in explaining us all details. All the meal arrangements are within the tour package of Six Senses. The food are excellents in all three properties. We have experience Bhutanese, Indian, and Western. All dishes are excellent. One last thing worth to mention is the free yoga session in the morning. It is also worth to experience and is tailored to our personal conditions. To our knowledge, two more Six Senses Hotel to be in service end of the year and early next year. A good reason for a return visit. Finally I would like to complement such an excellent team in taking care of us.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank VitusW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CountryLodgeManager, Manager at Six Senses Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2019

Dear VitusW_13
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Six Senses Bhutan and we thank you for the wonderful feed-back. We are happy you enjoyed the unique features of each property and you took back home a memorable stay. We do look forward to welcome you back soon. Warm regards. Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews