We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
207
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky dancer thali f b welcome drink bhutanese food clock tower dusitd2 tara soi8 guests le spicy indian
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2023 via mobile

I would have loved to rate this hotel higher because the staff is so courteous and helpful but I really have no other option but to go with the “Average” rating for now 😞. The bottom line is will I come back at stay at this hotel the next time I visit Thimphu? Probably not and I will prefer Le Meridian or one of the other hotels in the city

So let’s go with the good things first:
1. The hotel is at a prime location near the clock tower in Thimphu
2. The staff is really courteous and cheerful. One thing I really liked about the staff is the most of them are women and so this hotel believes in diversity
3. The rooms are pretty decent and with good views to the surrounding hills
4. The food served in the buffet is a combination of Indian and Bhutanese food and is pretty decent. I was surprised for example on how good they make the “phulka” rotis. The food is not very oily and spicy and has a homely feel to it.

Ok so now the list of not so good things and which is why I gave the average rating:
1. It seems that they keep the rooms in the “heat” mode during the night which makes sense since it is cold outside. But the air circulation within the room is horrible and it can get so stuffy sometimes during the night that you will find it difficult to sleep. There is no provision to lower the temperature even if you want to (although there is a temperature controller panel but it doesn’t work). We had to call their technicians several times during the night to at least help us with the air circulation in the room and they huffed and puffed but couldn’t do much about it. Their solution - open the window because that’s what the other guests do. For a hotel that calls itself a 5 star property, this is really unacceptable.
2. They have a rooftop restro bar which is where we went to have lunch when we checked in. Most of the dishes are continental. Since we are salmon aficionados, we ordered salmon steak which is also the most expensive dish at 2500/- Nu (without service charges). I am sorry to say that it was not at all good. It was over cooked and therefore was hard and chewy and left a bitter after taste in the mouth for everyone. The other dishes were ok although the bolognaise was good. But try and avoid the restro bar. It is expensive and not worth the money
3. We had booked 2 rooms and one of the rooms had a horrible smell every time the toilet was flushed. Thankfully they fixed it once we complained.
4. The staff did not do a great job in refilling the toiletries and other things (like tea bags) once they were finished. We had to call them up to send us a refill.
5. The buffet spread is decent but nowhere close to what you will see in 5 star hotels (or even 4 star hotels) in India. Also you need to keep reminding them to refill dishes that have emptied out.

Room tip: If you want room temperature to be according to personal comfort level, don’t check into this hotel since there is no provision to do so
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank aveekmisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2023

It was one of the best experiences I’ve had so far! The hotel was fab, the food was mouthwatering and the service was outstanding!! A shoutout to Poonam and team for making our anniversary celebrations memorable one!!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rosh_xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

Every Saturday there is sing and dine for 1000 plus plus here in the soi8 restaurant and after having dinner night club entry is free. Visit Dusit and I will guarantee that you will enjoy everything including all the services. Soi8 restaurant is comfortable to dine with your partner, friends and family. And also well come drinks is free.thank you so much.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 341nirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonam M Penjor, General Manager at dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2023

Hello Khun Nirm,

Greetings from dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphu, Bhutan!

It is a pleasure to have you as our guests, and we appreciate your kind words. We are overjoyed to have been able to provide you with the highest level of service, and we appreciate you highlighting the services and facilities provided by dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphu.

We would like to highlight that our 'Sing and Dine' package is now at 999++ with mocktail on the house and free entrance to the club.

So please be sure to visit us with your friends and family!

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram for promotions that may be of interest to you. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

I really love the dine and sing in soi8 dining.i really love the buffet which only cost nu 1000++ with club sky dancer entry fee free.with one welcome drink free. Best place to enjoy with your friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank beebag2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonam M Penjor, General Manager at dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2023

Hello Khun Beeba,

Greetings from dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphhu, Bhutan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our "Dine and Stay" package.

We would like to mention that there a few changes for our 'Dine and Sing' package. We are now providing our multi-cuisine buffet at 999+++ per person with free entrance to the club and mocktail on the house.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphu.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2022

Thank you for everything 🙂. It was very great that I have got lots of information about everythin. This will be very unforgettable for me. All the senior staffs have taught me how to handle everything and I am very grateful for them.so serving the guest was very fun and good food & drinks were served.

Yummy dosa and Thali was best to served in this Dusit D2 Yarkey... All the food were fresh and great test. Most of them love Thali and Dosa it's very good and healthy that we were serving to Gest.

Yummy dosa and Thali we served in steal pleats called Thali with many Verity of dishes...

Most Popular gest for visiting us we were great full to Dusit D2 Yarkey chief who performed delicious food.
We were happy with our F & B we performed to Gest for ordering our yummy delicious meal...

Thank you so much...for visiting us....🙂

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 735thinleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonam M Penjor, General Manager at dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2023

Hello Khun Thinley,

Greetings from dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphu, Bhutan!

On behalf of every department in our hotel, we wish to extend our appreciation and thank you for every effort that you gave to the hotel and your assigned tasks. We hope your experience was close to, or more than, what you expected.


Thank you so much for emphasizing the services and amenities provided by dusitD2 Yarkay Thimphu.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews