We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$149
No prepayment needed
Priceline
AU$149
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$30
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Girish D
Hyderabad, India
Excellent hotel at centre of Thimphu
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 June 2023via mobile
Excellent hotel in centre of Thimphu. New hotel, spacious rooms & clean hotel. Restaurant ambiance is very good. Friendly staff. Very convenient near centre of Thimphu.
Breakfast need improvement as well as dinner options. The terrace of the restaurant is best place to relax.
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
LeMeridien.com
AU$950
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$943
  • Booking.com
    AU$951
  • Priceline
    AU$951
0.5 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$537
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$361
0.7 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Booking.com
AU$116
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$73
  • Trip.com
    AU$119
  • Vio.com
    AU$73
0.4 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$124
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Vio.com
    AU$124
  • eDreams
    AU$124
0.4 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$88
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$88
  • Agoda.com
    AU$84
  • Expedia.com
    AU$91
0.4 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$268
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    AU$293
  • Agoda.com
    AU$234
  • Vio.com
    AU$239
1.3 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
AU$96
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
    AU$131
1.6 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
neat and clean bed
Priceline
AU$75
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$75
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$51
  • Agoda.com
    AU$53
23.4 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$101
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$101
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Vio.com
    AU$101
2.6 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$70
  • Agoda.com
    AU$69
  • Vio.com
    AU$70
3.4 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
40
46
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
46
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious rooms recommend this hotel clean hotel excellent hotel travel agent heart bhutan comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2023 via mobile

Our stay at City Hotel can only be described as delightful. The rooms are very spacious, clean, and high quality. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. We were three of us, but the arrangements for the extra person were all taken care of even before we landed in the hotel. That location of the hotel is really good as it’s in the middle of Thimpu’s shopping area. Overall, recommend the hotel for a family stay.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TravellerAksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2023

Excellent place, great rooms, fantastic personnel and managers. Well located too and the rooms are great. A very good choice for staying at Thimphu. The hotel has also a typical Bhutanese style that makes the stay even more agreable.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean-Didier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
City Hotel Thimphu, Owner at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2023

Dear jeandidierm2023,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at City Hotel Thimphu! We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience and that everything from the rooms to the staff exceeded your expectations.
We take great pride in our Bhutanese-style decor and are delighted that it contributed to your overall enjoyment of the stay. Additionally, we are pleased to hear that the hotel's location was convenient for you and that you found the rooms to be comfortable and well-appointed. Our team works hard to provide exceptional service, and we are happy that you found them to be fantastic. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team, who will undoubtedly be pleased to hear that their efforts made a positive impact on your stay.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for another wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2023 via mobile

Very centrally located hotel and accessible to all tourist spots. A very friendly front desk staff. Good rooms and a very good Wi-Fi. This 3 star hotel but as per my travel agent Nature Wing it is a 4 star hotel. Food is excellent and the service is superb. Actually they were the first ones who offered us Bhutanese dish Ema Datshi. Apart from the Bhutanese fish, Indian and Continental food was also available. Ema Datdhi is made from chillis and cheese. The Kitchen staff need special mention for taking care of the interests of each guest.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
City Hotel Thimphu, Owner at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2023

Dear Anil,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We're thrilled to hear that our central location made it easy for you to explore the local area and that you found our front desk staff to be friendly and helpful. We're also glad that you found the rooms comfortable and the Wi-Fi reliable, making your stay even more enjoyable.
It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the food at our hotel and that our kitchen staff were attentive to your needs and preferences. We're delighted that we were able to introduce you to the traditional Bhutanese dish Ema Datshi, and we hope that it was a memorable part of your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a superb experience and we appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2022

My wife and I are spending 5 months in Bhutan as part of an academic exchange program. Consequently, we have some experience living and traveling in this beautiful country. We recently spent a few days in Thimphu, Bhutan’s capital city. City Hotel provided the comfort, privacy, convenience, and professional service we need at a modest (by Western standards) price. The room was spacious, nicely furnished, and quiet. The restaurant was pleasant and the food delicious, with its “spiciness” calibrated to Western tastes. And in every interaction with hotel staff, we were treated with the greatest respect and appreciation.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davidcynthiathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
City Hotel Thimphu, Owner at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

Dear David,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on your stay with us at City Hotel Thimphu. We are extremely happy to note that you had comfortable stay. We hope you enjoyed the Tshechu Festival and hope you will be able to visit Thimphu again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2020

The hotel rooms on the top floor have high ceiling and provide a grandeur feeling. The hotel staff is more than cordial and nice. The food was great with options in veg and non-veg and way too cheap in comparison to a hotel of that status. A must place to stay in Thimpu.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shainkythareja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews