We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SaurabhAgarwal

Bliss In The Heart Of Thimphu - that is CITY HOTEL

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Oct 2019
Excellent location, wonderful GM & her super efficient Team makes sure that the stay is comfortable. Linens are clean and ambience is fulfilling for family. Family loves it! Surrounded by restuarants serving Indian cuisine. Looking forward to staying soon! Great going guys!!
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$206
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$151
  • Trip.com
    AU$183
0.2 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$229
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$230
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$229
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$96
  • Agoda.com
    AU$86
  • Priceline
0.4 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$102
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    AU$147
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
0.4 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$94
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$51
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$313
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$311
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$313
  • Vio.com
5.5 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lunch with Thai guests
AU$127
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$94
1.6 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
AU$58
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$58
1.1 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
AU$946
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$945
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$52
  • Trip.com
    AU$86
0.4 km from City Hotel, Thimphu
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
40
46
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
46
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious rooms recommend this hotel clean hotel excellent hotel travel agent heart bhutan comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

The City Hotel does not look promising on the outside but inside it is very pleasant, well fitted out and with excellent service. My room was large and comfortable, with a roomy bathroom.

The staff were very welcoming (as everywhere in Bhutan) and service very good. I was surprised to find there was an evening turn down service. I didn’t expect that in this level of hotel. (At my next hotel the room was not serviced at all!)

There is no fridge in the room but bottled water is provided as well as a kettle and the makings for tea and coffee. The dining room has western, Indian and Bhutanese dishes on its menu.

The location is a side street in the centre of town. It is strolling distance to shops, banks, the post office and a street of handicraft stalls.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Birdie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
City Hotel T, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Dear Birdie56,

Thank you for the very detail review of your stay with us at City Hotel Thimphu. It gives us great satisfaction when our guest appreciates every little effort put by the staff to make your stay with us comfortable. Thank you for your appreciation on the turn down service, your detail feedback is a great motivation for us to keep performing better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2019

Wonderful facilities. Amenities and room are just fantastic. Staff is kind, accomodating and responsive.
Location is within walking distance to shops, stadium where you can have a share of the capital's life.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RichardGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
City Hotel T, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2019

Dear Richard,
Thank you for the wonderful review, we are very happy to know that you had a excellent stay with us and the location of the hotel was of great convenience. We really hope you will be able to visit us again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2019

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and it was all bang on!

Location: 5/5

The hotel is very central. Most places of interest are in a few kms radius. The hotel is right in the middle of the market, so a nice stroll in the evening is also a great experience. The local life is simple and hence great to walk. People wear traditional clothes and kids still play on the streets. The handicrafts market is less than 5 min away and we did all our shopping there. There are tons of restaurants around. Look up reviews online to choose. Also, most places shut down by 9pm so you might have to plan in advance.

Room: 3.5/5

We got the 5th floor suite with a great view, including the Buddha statue on the hill. But the room has basic design flaws and we weren't happy about them the first night. We came up with idea and made it work thankfully. The suite is a bigger than a std room but it is huge and woody. Not warm and cosy. You do get used to it gradually - we stayed for 7 nights. The bigger problem is that there is only one master switch for most of the suite. So if you want to switch off the lights, the room lights, bathroom lights and half the drawing room goes off and it's pretty much pitch dark. We need a fan in the room no matter what the weather but with the master switch everything goes off. The solution for fresh air is to open the windows but the dogs's incessant barking wont let you sleep.

We had a tough time the first night between the heat and the noise. They said all rooms have the same system. But we bought a tiny lamp and asked for an extension chord. We could connect the fan with the drawing room switch - which had a different master switch and make it work. This way we did not have to keep the windows open and the dogs did not bother us.

Another bad thing is that there is no TV in the bedroom and whats a vacation without lolling in bed watching TV. But this one was manageable with my laptop. Also, the windows don't have a ledge. If you have small kids you need to keep them from peeping through the window. It's dangerous for adults too. We's just stand back and look out, if need be.

The room was equipped with a fridge and microwave - both helpful

Service and food: 5/5

They have excellent service. Check in was quick. We ordered room service all the time. And got our housekeeping done at odd times when it was convenient for us. The staff did everything with a smile on their face - always happy and courteous. The staff is mostly women and that's a welcome change to see. Indian food is amazing and you won't miss home at all.

Check out - 2/5

This is one of the reasons why I should deduct one more point from the total score. When we came downstairs to check out and leave for the airport, their credit card machine had a problem and on calling the bank they told that their server was down. If this is that case, how does one pay? Esp when there we need to leave for a flight? It took them about 45 min to finally sort this out - we were sent a link to make payment, which could have been done earlier instead of wasting time calling the bank. In fact, they should have sent us the link right away instead of calling the bank. They should anticipate problems like this and ask people to settle the previous night so that the flight isn't in danger. We started out 4 hours before our flight - the route to the airport is 75 min - because of which the 45 min delay was bearable. But these were stressful times because no one carries cash for 75K and you can't leave unless you pay. This was a dampener in out trip experience.

Room tip: Choose a room on the higher floor. The view is better
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rovingeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
City Hotel T, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2019

Dear Rovingeyes
Thank you for your detail review on your stay with us at City Hotel Thimphu. We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us except for the problem with the POS System during your check out time. That whole week there was a problem with the POS System in Thimphu and we had even discussed this issue with our hotel association to talk to the Bank, we were informed that due to data migration and change in IP they had to keep testing the system therefore there was service disruption. We could not really understand the above reason provided but had no other option than to keep trying. With regard to the online payment link, the banking charges are much higher and we do not use it very often, for huge bill amount like yours the banking charges itself comes to quite a bit. However we would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused and we really hope you will be able to visit Bhutan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the City Hotel in February and we were very well looked after. It was quite cold outside and they supplied an extra heater in our bedroom to keep us cosy.
Our bedroom was huge. The only downside to Thimphu is the dogs who bark all night

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sandyj702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
City Hotel T, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Dear Sandyj702,

Thank you for your review and very happy to know that you had a lovely stay with us at City Hotel Thimphu. I can understand the disturbance caused by the barking dogs which is a problem faced by whole of Thimphu Town and we do provide ear plugs to our guest. Thank you and we hope you will be able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

It is located a short walk away from city centre in a quiet residential neighborhood . lobby area is impressive . rooms quite large to accommodate an extra bed equipped with LED TV and electric kettle , small fridge. Toiletries provided are upmarket but washroom is too small and its layout is cumbersome
Hotel caters to primarily Chinese and Japanese groups which is reflected in breakfast menu, Although few Indian dishes are available on request. The restaurant staff isnt hospitable , infact quite rude. Surprisingly breakfast spread was over at 8AM on all 2days we stayed there and we had to speak tough to get something to eat. Overall a cold, pricey stay for the services and hospitality received . Better options licated well at available at cheaper prices .
Wont suggest this hotel to my friends, colleagues and acquaintances.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank indiantravelbug93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
City Hotel T, Management at City Hotel, Thimphu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2019

Dear indiantravelbug93

We would like to apologies for the unsatisfactory stay with us especially with the Food and Beverage service and we will definitely look into the issues raised above by you. As an information we would like to share that buffet breakfast spread is laid depending on the number of in-hose guest, if we have less guest then we serve the same items on the table and normally do not set up the buffet for less number of guest and this could be the reason that you could not see the buffet spread at 8 AM. Breakfast time is from 7:00 AM till 10:00 AM and we will provide the service irrespective of putting up the buffet spread or not. On the menu, we would like to inform that based on the feedback from our guest we now have new menu with more variety of Indian dish. We would again like to apologies for the inconvenience faced by you.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews