We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
21
22
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
22
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2018

I stayed in Bhutan and booked this hotel for a week after reading good reviews. Turns out, this hotel is a terrible place to be. The restaurant staff is rude and sends burnt food for room service. The food is so terrible that I actually bought cup noodles from the nearby grocery shop almost every day. The quantity of the food is barely enough for one person and is priced high. Imagine 2 eggs curry for 250?
The wifi is terribly slow and disconnects all the time. The cafe served bournvita for hot chocolate. They also sent completely burnt (black colored) toasts for breakfast and I had to go down to get it changed. They never accommodate your wishes in spite of the fact that you are paying a large amount compared to other places in Thimphu. Most of the restaurants are 1 km away and you end up ordering in at least at some point. It is just an utter disappointment to eat here. They use the fact that the hotel is a bit away from the center to exploit you.

I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room tip: There are better options, look out.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveller20191
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Dear Traveller20191,
We apologise for your unpleasant room service experience with us.
Thank you for your feedback, we will advise our FnB team to improve their service for our future guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018

The potion of the food is so small that even after paying 800 rupees for meal every time, you will sleep hungry. Rotis are bite-sized (and on complaining, they say it is the standard roti size) and you get 2 eggs curry for 250. We are still staying here and booked for 7 days but on asking to atleast improve the potion for human sizes, they flat out refused. The problem is it is chilling outside in the evening and the hotel is 1 km from the clock tower and main market where all the restaurants are, so in a way the hotel is keeping you hostage with bite-size portions of food! Rude restaurant staff, pathetic potion sizes of food.

While we travel a lot and in-house restaurant food is expensive, cutting down on portion size and still keeping the prices high and then going on to claim that these are standard portion sizes is pathetic.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank n00buser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Dear n00buser,
Once again we apologise for you and your friend unpleasant experience with us.
Thank you for your feedback, we will advise our FnB team to improve their service for our future guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

We had a very comfortable stay. Location is great. Very Peaceful. Market is not far..just 5 min walk and you will be near handicraft market. Although, Rooms are small but had all amenities.
The best part of this hotel was the Veg Restaurant that was quite good. Had Aloo
Tikki Chaat and it was delicious:) Very well behaved and Courteous staff.
I would highly recommend this hotel for its location,staff and food.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Akhil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Dear Akhil G,
warm greetings from Hotel Bhutan,
Thank you very much for taking your precious time and writing review for our hotel, we are very glad that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and also we are happy to know that you liked our veg restaurant food.
i have shared with the staff regarding the feedback you have given for their behaviour and they are very much happy and motivated.
Hope to see you again in coming future,

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

It's a small hotel in a residential area in Thimpu but very conveniently located within easy walking distance from the main market place. It is cosy and comfortable. The rooms are small and minimalistic in furnishings but are quite comfortable nevertheless. Cleanliness is also well maintained. Evenings are very quiet and peaceful and it feels nice to sit out on the narrow verandah outside the hotel in the gathering dusk. The staff are very cordial but at times one might face difficulty in communicating with them in English. Food in the restaurant is average in quality but is freshly made and served. Internet access can be very erratic inside the rooms even though all floor have wifi connections available. Overall, quite a cosy and comfortable stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devjyoti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear DrdTripathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and feedback.

While we are glad that your stay was generally comfortable, we are sorry that our wifi connectivity was not up to your expectations.

We are taking steps to address your feedback on the English proficiency of some of our staff.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch here and was surprised with the quality of food . Freshly prepared, tasty food for vegetarians. Would recommend anyone visiting thimpu to have a meal . Cost for 2 pax - apx rs.1000

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wander05121271382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Wander05121271382,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your meal here and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews