We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Points_and_Travel
Bengaluru, India

Come only if you want to get totally ripped off!

Review of Hotel Bhutan
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Dec 2018
The potion of the food is so small that even after paying 800 rupees for meal every time, you will sleep hungry. Rotis are bite-sized (and on complaining, they say it is the standard roti size) and you get 2 eggs curry for 250. We are still staying here and booked for 7 days but on asking to atleast improve the potion for human sizes, they flat out refused. The problem is it is chilling outside in the evening and the hotel is 1 km from the clock tower and main market where all the restaurants are, so in a way the hotel is keeping you hostage with bite-size portions of food! Rude restaurant staff, pathetic potion sizes of food.

While we travel a lot and in-house restaurant food is expensive, cutting down on portion size and still keeping the prices high and then going on to claim that these are standard portion sizes is pathetic.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this review
Responded 23 Mar 2019
Dear n00buser,
Once again we apologise for you and your friend unpleasant experience with us.
Thank you for your feedback, we will advise our FnB team to improve their service for our future guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$209
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$226
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$226
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$226
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Willows Hotel on Chang Lam, Thimphu.
AU$106
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$59
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$77
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
1.0 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$274
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$274
  • ZenHotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$243
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$63
  • ZenHotels.com
0.7 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$130
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$24
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$93
2.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
AU$922
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$917
  • Expedia.com
    AU$917
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$917
1.0 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Room
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$120
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
21
22
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
22
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2018

We had a very comfortable stay. Location is great. Very Peaceful. Market is not far..just 5 min walk and you will be near handicraft market. Although, Rooms are small but had all amenities.
The best part of this hotel was the Veg Restaurant that was quite good. Had Aloo
Tikki Chaat and it was delicious:) Very well behaved and Courteous staff.
I would highly recommend this hotel for its location,staff and food.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Akhil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Dear Akhil G,
warm greetings from Hotel Bhutan,
Thank you very much for taking your precious time and writing review for our hotel, we are very glad that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and also we are happy to know that you liked our veg restaurant food.
i have shared with the staff regarding the feedback you have given for their behaviour and they are very much happy and motivated.
Hope to see you again in coming future,

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

It's a small hotel in a residential area in Thimpu but very conveniently located within easy walking distance from the main market place. It is cosy and comfortable. The rooms are small and minimalistic in furnishings but are quite comfortable nevertheless. Cleanliness is also well maintained. Evenings are very quiet and peaceful and it feels nice to sit out on the narrow verandah outside the hotel in the gathering dusk. The staff are very cordial but at times one might face difficulty in communicating with them in English. Food in the restaurant is average in quality but is freshly made and served. Internet access can be very erratic inside the rooms even though all floor have wifi connections available. Overall, quite a cosy and comfortable stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devjyoti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear DrdTripathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and feedback.

While we are glad that your stay was generally comfortable, we are sorry that our wifi connectivity was not up to your expectations.

We are taking steps to address your feedback on the English proficiency of some of our staff.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch here and was surprised with the quality of food . Freshly prepared, tasty food for vegetarians. Would recommend anyone visiting thimpu to have a meal . Cost for 2 pax - apx rs.1000

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wander05121271382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Wander05121271382,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your meal here and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Its a nice hotel away from hustle bustle of market ,still very near to it.The hotel is very clean and newly constructed. Beds are comfortable, tea kettle and hot water in every room.Though it does not provide great view but you get comparatively good views as compared to hotels in the market area .Indian food is available.Staff is well behaved.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank radiorakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear RadioRakesh,
We thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review and are glad you found our property and services to your satisfaction. We hope you had a wonderful time in Bhutan in look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Hotel Bhutan was part of my tour package, situated a couple of minutes drive from city centre. My room was small - with the usual amenities (ie. safe, television, bathroom, toilet, heater). Service is generally hospitable and warm. There was a bit of a language barrier when it comes to conversing in English between certain hotel staff - most of the staff generally spoke decent functional English.

A point for improvement would be the cleanliness - towels had visible stains; mine had red stains over it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jiaquan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Jia,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are normally known for our attention to detail and are extremely sorry that we seem to have fallen short here. We thank you for pointing out our shortcomings on your visit as this can only help us improve our services further, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews