We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rakesh D
Nainital, India

Clean

Review of Hotel Bhutan
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Nov 2018via mobile
Its a nice hotel away from hustle bustle of market ,still very near to it.The hotel is very clean and newly constructed. Beds are comfortable, tea kettle and hot water in every room.Though it does not provide great view but you get comparatively good views as compared to hotels in the market area .Indian food is available.Staff is well behaved.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this review
Responded 21 Nov 2018
Dear RadioRakesh,
We thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review and are glad you found our property and services to your satisfaction. We hope you had a wonderful time in Bhutan in look forward to hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$189
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$154
  • Trip.com
    AU$177
0.4 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$92
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$92
  • Expedia.com
    AU$50
  • Priceline
    AU$92
0.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$87
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$87
  • Vio.com
    AU$72
  • Priceline
    AU$87
1.0 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$218
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$223
  • Agoda.com
    AU$224
  • Vio.com
    AU$220
1.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$107
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Expedia.com
    AU$107
  • Vio.com
    AU$70
  • Priceline
    AU$75
0.7 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$99
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$109
  • Trip.com
    AU$142
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
0.5 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$298
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$287
  • Agoda.com
    AU$319
  • Vio.com
    AU$298
6.0 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$91
2.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
AU$902
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    AU$901
  • Hotels.com
    AU$902
  • Expedia.com
    AU$902
1.0 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$919
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$913
  • Vio.com
    AU$912
  • StayForLong
0.4 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
21
22
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
22
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Hotel Bhutan was part of my tour package, situated a couple of minutes drive from city centre. My room was small - with the usual amenities (ie. safe, television, bathroom, toilet, heater). Service is generally hospitable and warm. There was a bit of a language barrier when it comes to conversing in English between certain hotel staff - most of the staff generally spoke decent functional English.

A point for improvement would be the cleanliness - towels had visible stains; mine had red stains over it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jiaquan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Jia,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are normally known for our attention to detail and are extremely sorry that we seem to have fallen short here. We thank you for pointing out our shortcomings on your visit as this can only help us improve our services further, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Clean room. Small bathroom. Hot shower, but weak water pressure. Firm comfy bed.

It’s very close to the Textile Museum and also the market, so especially great location for souvenir shopping.

I had local dishes for dinner and it was delish. Everything was vegetarian but I really enjoyed it. Breakfast was also hearty. I had fried eggs, oatmeal, mixed fruit (apples, pears and bananas), juice and real coffee. Everything was made to order so the food was piping hot and not lukewarm.

Good stay. Would go back again...

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank edjlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Edjlau,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are much valued. We are happy that you found the location handy and enjoyed your meals with us.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

While the location is great and staff are very nice place falls slightly short on some amenities. we visited in early September where the temperatures were in the mid twenties. this is warm for Thimpu, and since the Hotel has no ai conditioning the rooms become warm and uncomfortable. also since the rooms are designed for winters its difficult to open the windows . the hotel should consider fixing ceiling fans in the rooms.

Also the restaurant is only vegetarian which suited us fine, but travelers with carnivorous cravings will have to step out for a meal.

Room tip: ask for the rooms facing the main road and textile academy
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topsy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Topsy67,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your valuable suggestions have been noted and we hope to be able to fix the ceiling fan issue in the very near future.
Thank you again for your feedback.
We hope our present shortcomings will not prevent you from staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Hospitality to the maximum, warm and happy staff one could see through... Lovely warm clean boutique hotel. Celebrated my birthday with family here, unforgettable experience. I'm definitely visiting again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anungla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Anungla,

A warm greetings from Hotel Bhutan,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time and writing reviews to us, we are happy that you liked our hotel and the staff. we are glad to know that you had a beautiful unforgettable experience with us.

we hope to see you soon.

WRs
Reena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

This is a new hotel with excellent modern amenities. Behind textile museum and very near to market. Very nice mountain view from room. They have dedicated smoking area. Fresh vegetarian food is hygienically made but little bit costly. Everything is very neat and clean and well maintained. Stuff is very prompt, friendly and caring. I recommended the hotel 99.5%. I will keep 0.5% as we found rooms and bathrooms are little bit congested…

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KrishnenduBhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Mr. Bhandari,
Thank you very much for taking time and writing review to us, we are happy that you liked our modern room amenities and the location of our property. Food production department are glad to know that you liked the food that they have prepared and also the other staff are very much happy to know that you were satisfied with our service.
Regarding the cost of the food we will definitely look into it and for the bathroom and rooms we are sorry as it was bit congested for you.

once again thank you very much for your review, hope to see you in coming days.

Warm Regards

Reena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews