We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Topsy67
Mumbai, India

great location. easy access to market friendly and nice staff.

Review of Hotel Bhutan
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Oct 2018
While the location is great and staff are very nice place falls slightly short on some amenities. we visited in early September where the temperatures were in the mid twenties. this is warm for Thimpu, and since the Hotel has no ai conditioning the rooms become warm and uncomfortable. also since the rooms are designed for winters its difficult to open the windows . the hotel should consider fixing ceiling fans in the rooms.

Also the restaurant is only vegetarian which suited us fine, but travelers with carnivorous cravings will have to step out for a meal.
Date of stay: September 2018
Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the main road and textile academy
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this review
Responded 21 Nov 2018
Dear Topsy67,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your valuable suggestions have been noted and we hope to be able to fix the ceiling fan issue in the very near future.
Thank you again for your feedback.
We hope our present shortcomings will not prevent you from staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$201
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$92
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$50
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$50
0.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$87
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$87
  • Agoda.com
    AU$76
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$222
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$223
  • Prestigia.com
    AU$241
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$222
1.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$107
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$73
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$99
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
0.5 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$356
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$293
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
6.0 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$91
2.1 km from Hotel Bhutan
AU$868
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    AU$867
  • Expedia.com
    AU$866
  • Booking.com
    AU$866
1.0 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$919
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$919
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Hotel Bhutan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thimphu
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
21
22
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
22
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Hospitality to the maximum, warm and happy staff one could see through... Lovely warm clean boutique hotel. Celebrated my birthday with family here, unforgettable experience. I'm definitely visiting again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anungla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Anungla,

A warm greetings from Hotel Bhutan,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time and writing reviews to us, we are happy that you liked our hotel and the staff. we are glad to know that you had a beautiful unforgettable experience with us.

we hope to see you soon.

WRs
Reena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

This is a new hotel with excellent modern amenities. Behind textile museum and very near to market. Very nice mountain view from room. They have dedicated smoking area. Fresh vegetarian food is hygienically made but little bit costly. Everything is very neat and clean and well maintained. Stuff is very prompt, friendly and caring. I recommended the hotel 99.5%. I will keep 0.5% as we found rooms and bathrooms are little bit congested…

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KrishnenduBhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Mr. Bhandari,
Thank you very much for taking time and writing review to us, we are happy that you liked our modern room amenities and the location of our property. Food production department are glad to know that you liked the food that they have prepared and also the other staff are very much happy to know that you were satisfied with our service.
Regarding the cost of the food we will definitely look into it and for the bathroom and rooms we are sorry as it was bit congested for you.

once again thank you very much for your review, hope to see you in coming days.

Warm Regards

Reena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

This small almost brandnew hotel is very conveniently locate in central thimphu. Rooms tend to be small but everything is available and anyway you do not come to thimphu to sit in your hotelroom. Good breakfast and friendly staff who give you all information you need

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RikvbGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear RikvbGent,
warm greetings from Hotel Bhutan,

Thank you very much for leaving a review and mentioning a convenient location of our hotel and good service by our team. our team here at Hotel Bhutan is very much happy to know that you liked our cozy room. And also Hotel Bhutan Food production and FnB department are very happy that you liked our food.


we hope to see you again in future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Hotel Bhutan is strategically located in the capital city of Thimphu. Within walking distance of the Crafts Bazaar, bang opposite the National Textile Museum and close to the city centre, Hotel Bhutan was a very pleasant stay. Almost like a business hotel, the rooms may be small, but are well-heated, and hospitality and service were very good. The little, cosy café on the premises serves good continental food and the kitchen also prepared a scrumptious picnic lunch for us on the day we were to visit Tango Monastery. Our stay at Hotel Bhutan was very comfortable and would mainly recommend it for its location and service.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear PriRam,

Thank you for leaving a review and mentioning a location and good service of our hotel. our team here at Hotel Bhutan is very much trilled to know that you liked our cozy room. Hotel Bhutan Food production department and FnB department are very happy that you liked the continental food and the lunch they packed for you.

we hope to see you again in future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel is located below Bhutan Royal Textile Museum,Chubachu Thimphu. Room are clean with very good vegetarian food and their momo I really enjoyed. The hotel people are polite & supportive.Best place to stay in Thimphu. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank FarAway391830
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelBhutan, Manager at Hotel Bhutan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Dear Sir/Madam,
warm greetings, thank you the review and we are very happy to know that you like the food here esp. momo, thank you for the positive feed back for our staff here,they were happy and encouraged when i shared the review with them.

hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews