We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kigali Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here for business but loved it.

Rooms: I was in a superior room facing the pool. The room itself was very large. Bathroom had a separate tub and shower. All the amenities you could need and expect from a top hotel to include slippers and a robe. Wireless internet, flat screen tv, minibar, and very comfortable bed.

Staff and Service: All very friendly and eager to help.

Restaurant: Buffet breakfast is a great spread. Good quality food and lots of variety. Room service and pool restaurant also good food.

Overall I will stay here again when I come back to Kigali and highly recommend this hotel to anyone in Kigali. It is probably the best hotel in Kigali.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    267
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
62
151
52
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed at the Serena on business trip in December. The hotel has all the amenities you would expect of an international hotel, wireless internet in rooms, meeting rooms available (at a steep price_ $330 a day for a small room), irons and ironing boards can be provided in the rooms and so on.

The best aspect of this hotel is undoubtedly the staff who are very polite and well trained, they almost exclusively seemed willing to stretch themselves to provide good service to guests. This, in my experience, is not often found in the region. Partlicularly helpful was a manager called James, who impressed our team with his flexibility and helpfulness.

The breakfast buffet was pleasant and whilst the room service menu is nothing special, the food was delivered quickly and it's pretty good. Services in the spa - I had a massage and facial (elemis) were lovely.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old wing apparently have some issues with odors from the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Hotel Serena is "the place to stay" if you are looking for luxury and elegance. Located in the center of the city but still on the side makes the atmosphere very nice. I can warmly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We ended a two-week trip around Rwanda here, which ended up being a great choice. It feels a little corporate and sterile upon arrival (as opposed to the more interesting, less "upscale" mille collines) but the room was plush with a big balcony overlooking the nice pool, and it felt like a nice vacation-type spot.

Most importantly, after traveling around the country, the food here was fantastic -- with flavorful, spicy, indian options, and many other good dishes. The spa was decent, pool nice, service attentive. Room was spacious, clean, and the bathroom was very nice.

My only complaint would be that the first night they had "live jazz" (actually two people with a casio keyboard and a full repertoire of ESL cover tunes) that echoed up through the courtyard until around 10pm, and even with your doors closed you can hear it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duggernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel has received the highest rating I have posted on Tripadvisor. I was simply blown away. The service was impeccable. My room was spacious and perfectly appointed ... lovely bed, excellent working area with international plugs, good internet speed, fantastic bathroom and perfect rain-shower . . .
The lobby area is spacious and clean. The restaurants are excellent and the pool and outside area are amazing.
I cannot fault a single thing . . . .
. . . . and what a lovely country . . . .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin_Sargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.3 km away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#4 of 47 in Kigali
107 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
1.1 km away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
5.6 km away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#2 of 47 in Kigali
167 reviews
4.7 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigali Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigali Serena Hotel

Property: Kigali Serena Hotel
Address: KN 3 Ave | P.O. Box 7469, Kigali, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price range (per night): $382 - $543
Hotel Class:5 star — Kigali Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Central Kigali, the ambassadorial and commercial heart of Rwanda, and the city's pre-eminent meeting place for diplomats and businessmen. Relaxed yet elegant, the hotel features an executive lounge and Bar and one of the city's most popular venues, the Milimani Restaurant styled to offer a classically elegant interior and a light filled atrium overlooking the verdant tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kigali Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing