We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Years on...Better and Better”

Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 180 Restaurants in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel is an American-owned, private, serene property opened in May of 2008 in the lovely neighborhood of Kiyovu. Started as a social enterprise to improve service levels in the hospitality sector and create employment, Heaven is consistently ranked one of the country's top restaurants with a spectacular ambience on a custom-built outdoor terrace overlooking the entire city. Heaven Boutique Hotel has 22 beautifully appointed hotel rooms with a salt water heated swimming pool, an open air state-of-the-art gym, ensuite private bathrooms, local artwork, free wifi, unlimited coffee/tea/purified water, 24 hour security, just steps from downtown Kigali. In addition to 22 rooms currently in operation, our 11 room new luxury hotel called The Retreat is now open! The Retreat is a new property with 11 luxury rooms all with peaked ceilings and private outdoor terraces, a gym, spa and swimming pool!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Oh Heaven, how I adore thee! This is my go-to spot with girlfriends on the weekend for their all-you-can eat delicious brunch. Sundays it tends to be mobbed with what feels like everyone in Kigali so I often go Saturdays. Price is the best in town and they always put out yummy specials, baked goods etc. The setting is lovely - right on a big deck. The owners are often there and come by and greet us and the service staff is remarkably attentive especially by Rwandan standards. Lunches and dinners here are great! I love the mojitoes so much (maybe too much!) The new chef, Vedish, is awesome and his specials reflect it. I had the sticky pork ribs recently and loved them. Don't come to Kigali without visiting!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VaneyKigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your stellar review Vaney! We always love having you and your friends!

Warm wishes,
Alissa

Founder & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great meal here on our last night in Kigali. The restaurant is mainly for western tourists and residents with more money to spend than the average Rwandan. wine as usual was exorbitant but the food reasonably priced by western standards. That said, it is not pretentious in anyway and the food was 5 star with a definite local twist.
The waiters were all delightful and cheerful and not at all pushy...very well trained I'd say. also the food arrived in good order without the customary hour long wait that you sometimes get!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dee6jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm glad that you enjoyed our service and food and timing! Come back again!

Warm wishes,
Alissa

Founder & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel and restaurant was fantastic! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They thought of everything you’d need to make your stay enjoyable! The food at the restaurant was amazing. Everything was freshly made and the breakfast had so many choices, I overate. The service from all the staff was top notch. They were all so friendly, helpful, warm, and seemed excited to have us staying there. They couldn’t do enough. I wish I could have stayed longer. The location was great as well! Stay here!!! Don’t think twice- stay here!!

2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John - we're glad that you loved the restaurant, breakfast, service and the hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back to Heaven!

Best wishes,
Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've been in Kigali for two weeks and was getting tired of the food I was getting. After a fast storm, the power was out on our hill lost power. Heaven had power and a great steak. Wine is outrageously expensive, drink the beer.

2  Thank backone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your steak at Heaven! Indeed, wine prices are high in Kigali due to the tax structure, but we do offer a unique product curated from South Africa. Look forward to having you back.

Warm wishes,
Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Went to the restaurant three times in five days at the end of our two week trip to Rwanda. Once we had gone to Heaven, nothing else made the cut. Typically, restaurants in Rwanda take 2-3 hours to serve your food and maybe and hour to serve your drinks. This is not the case at Heaven. Servers were always attentive, cheerful, and spoke great English. The food was to die for as well. I recommend the Rwandan Beef Fillet with green beans, and sweat potato bites. Brunch was incredible as well. They have a custom omelet and pancake station, as well as an extensive buffet of hot and cold food. The thing about heaven is that they make foreign travelers feel comfortable while also offering them a taste of Rwanda better than anyone else in the country. If you don't go anywhere else in Rwanda, Heaven is the place to go.

    • Service
1  Thank brookevansant2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so happy that you came 3 times in a week and found brunch and all the food to be the best! The Rwandan beef filet has been on our menu since we opened so we're glad that you loved it!

Warm wishes,
Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing