We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”

Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 185 Restaurants in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel is an American-owned, private, serene property opened in May of 2008 in the lovely neighborhood of Kiyovu. Started as a social enterprise to improve service levels in the hospitality sector and create employment, Heaven is consistently ranked one of the country's top restaurants with a spectacular ambience on a custom-built outdoor terrace overlooking the entire city. Heaven Boutique Hotel has 22 beautifully appointed hotel rooms with a salt water heated swimming pool, an open air state-of-the-art gym, ensuite private bathrooms, local artwork, free wifi, unlimited coffee/tea/purified water, 24 hour security, just steps from downtown Kigali. In addition to 22 rooms currently in operation, our 11 room new luxury hotel called The Retreat is now open! The Retreat is a new property with 11 luxury rooms all with peaked ceilings and private outdoor terraces, a gym, spa and swimming pool!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Stayed 2 nights wish it was more. excellent all around all staff and amenities . food and comfort 5 star.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CheriHarvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

It was a pleasure to have you and we are so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of the experience! We hope to see you back in Kigali soon.

Warm wishes,
Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Ate here with colleagues - and we loved it. Great service, ambiance and food (nice local options and decent wine list).

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Marie - I'm so glad to hear that you had a great experience! We have two pallets of wine arriving from South Africa next month so hope to have a much upgraded wine list for you then.

Warm regards,
Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Prior to visiting Heaven Restaurant I had high expectations due to the good word of mouth reviews. However, when I left I was certain I would not return again.

Firstly, for the price the portions are shockingly small. The Rwandan breakfast came with four tiny slices of sausage. Definitely not one to order if you are craving something similar to a full English breakfast.

Waitresses are also very slow and forgetful. Also, after ordering lemon and ginger tea I received lemon and ginger mixed in water. Where is the tea? Appalling!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Emelia1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Emilia:
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. As a training facility, our trainees sometimes get things wrong and I can imagine that our lemon ginger tea - which we prepare as a traditional beverage - would not have tea leaves. That said, our staff should have known to ask whether you wanted it mixed with our organic black Rwandan tea. We do hope that you'll give the Heaven team another chance and will gladly welcome you back for a meal on us.

Warm regards,
Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you Bonaventure for your good quick quality service on 26th March, keep up the good work, and thank you all Heaven Staff!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank christianandrewii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Christian - thanks for this shout out to Bona and the rest of the Heaven Team! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I moved to Kigali a few months ago and this restaurant came highly recommended. I then took my family there for dinner last night and what an awful experience. The service was so poor and the food bland and burnt! We were very disappointed!!!!!!!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ms S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Sandra - we are very disappointed to receive this review and would like to invite you and your family back for dinner at no charge to show you the quality we ordinarily deliver every day!
Warm regards,
Alissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing