We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough!”
Review of Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Safari Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The hotel seems abuzz with activity upon arrival. Reception wasnt sure that our rooms were ready and this was at 4:30. The hotel system seems to be manual which seems strange for such a large establishment. The room, bathroom and bedding was clean but it was very apparent that room cleaners are not supervised. The duvet cover opening was at the top of the bed and open, which could be staff inexperience but should have been picked up by the supervisor, so I can only conclude that there is no supervision. The breakfast the next morning was fair, but all self service except for tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetravel090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is about a 40 minute drive from the airport and about a 15 minute drive to the centre of town. The hotel has a pool and the rooms are spacious. The bathroom is decent with a glass wall shower which sometimes splashes water out if you are not careful. The breakfast was adequate with made to order omelettes. There is a bar and the foyer offers some good waiting areas. All areas are air conditioned which was very welcome. There is a shopping centre about a 5 minute drive away.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

I would not recommend this hotel at all. Luckily only stayed one night, but it was very uncomfortable. The shower barely worked, drains were blocked and I struggled to get the warm tap even open. The hotel did not feel clean at all and the beds are rock hard. The staff is friendly and helpful, but the hotel will never see me again. We had dinner at the hotel and expected to have a great steak, but they managed to serve the worse fillet I have ever tasted. Stay clear of this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaChristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

The compound looks great, but once you are taken to your room things change completely. I had to call reception a few times as the fridge firstly didn't work and then I had no hot water. It took them over an hour to come look at to why there was no hot water and change my room on my second night. The second room had not bed cover and it was a single bed. When I asked them why there would be no hot water, I was told because they have solar heating and it has been cold so that is why. The second room had warm water, not hot and can someone start their day off freezing and uncomfortable. On you room service they charge you for a tray service which is absurd as you are staying with them longer than 1 night. The food (steak) was overcooked and cold.
I will definitely never stay here again on my next trip when I am in town.

Room Tip: I would not book in here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 608terryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The Safari Hotel is a large compound in Windhoek. I stayed there for a conference in their conference center.
The service is very good and the rooms are nice. I was staying in one of the executive rooms. The one minor drawback is the very large key that is needed to lock and unlock the door. The food in the restaurant is okay, not great.
This is a very large, clean facility and I will stay there again the next time I am in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, General Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you back again in future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.3 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,433 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#12 of 17 in Windhoek
275 reviews
3.4 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.1 km away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Address: Corner Auas & Aviation Rd | PO Box 3900, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range: $101 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing