We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 261
USD 199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 2001(Maputo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Acacia Guest House(Maputo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
10
23
20
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
23
20
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roomtwo nightsone nighthot waterhostel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I travel a lot, but I've never been to a hostel this bad. The receptionist was on her mobile phone most of the time, simply ignoring guests who wanted to check in and letting them wait. When we finally got into the room, the sheets clearly hadn't been changed and had stains on them- gross! Wifi wasn't working. The bathroom and kitchen are super simple and we didn't feel like using the pots and plates. They advertise their view a lot, but we didn't even have access to the terrace as the door was locked. They also let families with their kids stay there, who were running around screaming all day, so we made sure to spend as much time outside the hostel as possible. We stayed at Malagueta after. It's a little more expensive but the difference in quality makes it well worth it. Staying at the Base was a waste of money and just stressful- not a nice start to our trip :(

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaGaruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseMozambique, Manager at The Base, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Anna,
Thank you for your comment and important feedback. I'am so sorry for your experience and I wish The Base can compensate you in a next opportunity. However I would like to inform you that The Base is under new management since May 1, 2018, and between other initiatives that are already underway, we already started to renovate the kitchen and improve the bathrooms and installed free wi-fi internet. We also changed the mattress of the double room, the sheets, ederdons and cushions.
At the level of human resources we are training receptionists with the best customer service practices and developing partnerships with other tour operators with a view to making The Base what it has always been: a quiet, cozy hostel and "The base" for tourists who want to get to know Mozambique in general and Maputo in particular.

Anyway we still have a lot of work to do, but we are full of energy!

I hope one day you can come back to Maputo and stay by us to feel the difference!

All the best,
Kim Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We thought we'd save money by staying at The Base and ended up regretting it entirely. As we arrived, the receptionist was having a personal phone call with her feet on the table for 10 minutes assuming we couldn't understand the conversation. We eventually got fed up, sat in front of her and stared her in the eyes until she helped us (she wasn't phased at all). Once we had finally booked our dorm room we walked through the corridor past kids running and screaming to a cramped and hot room. The sheets on the beds had stains on them and smelled bad, the kitchen was in bad shape, and the WiFi wasn't working. We decided to stay out all night just to avoid sleeping there while we waited for the bus to Tofo at 4 a.m which only arrived after 2 hours.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bradleyblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The lady running the hostel is very nice and can arrange things for you. The beds are decent, but no covers are supplied. The wifi is spotty and there are no chargers for your devices in the room. You can charge in the living room.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Saskia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We took the shuttle bus from base backpackers to Tofo and paid 850mt per person. They sold the bus for us as "door to door" service. We were supposed to be dropped off at a guesthouse in Tofo beach.

We got on the bus at 5am and after 2,5 hours of picking people up from Junta we finally left Maputo. We arrived to Inhambane after 4pm. Everyone got off the bus there and as we told to the driver that we had bought the ticket (and showed them the receipt) all the way to Tofo beach, the staff just laughed at us. They had no intention taking us to Tofo beach. After 15 minutes of arguing with the bus staff they just left and we had to pay for a chapa from Inhambane to Tofo.

We sent email to the Base about us being very unhappy with the service and told them that we want 500 meticais back that we paid extra to get to Tofo but didn't get there. The base staff answered that they will deal the issue with the bus company and we can come to get our money back. Once we got back to Maputo and the Base there was a employee who knew nothing about the issue and was not able to contact anyone who knew something about it. So we didn't get the promised money back.

I would suggest that you should deffinitely NOT use the base shuttle bus. Use the Fatimas bus instead, that will take you atleast to Tofo, no doubt.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Teemu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The base has all the cosyness and service that Fatima's lacks... Also this place offers cheaper shuttle to Tofo than Fatima's...
If you're travelling further on with the Intercape busses, The Base is also only a 5 minute walk away from the Intercape office, which also is the pickup point for the busses.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ErikKraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews