We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will sure be back and stay:”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scenery Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Maseru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had a great time staying at scenery during the month of june-july 2013 on different occations, great place to stray, stuff is the best very professional. They have the best knowledge on hospitality industry, language skills especially a lady by the name Lemohang, i would advise the owner to keep her for the longest she is very good indeed. overall everything is at its best, for me sometimes we seem to complain way too much forgetting that its a place to sleep and keep moving not our house. Just work on water system please because hot water runs out quick.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nonoza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marethabile S, Owner at Scenery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Good day

Thank you very much for positive response. We really appreciate the reviews as they help us to know the things that we are doing well and is it very nice to hear that our staff is knowledgeable and skilled and we will do our best to keep up the work so that when you come back, you will continue to enjoy your stay.

The reviews have been very helpful and I sincerely appreciate your time and effort and those of others who have reviewed us before because through your comments, we have grown so much that we are now accommodating high profile guests like top Executives, Ministers, Ambassadors and many other guests from within the country and around the world.

The comments have also given us pressure to have an Executive Room at Scenery Maqalika Guesthouse. The room offers more luxury to our guests. In addition to complementary Wi-Fi and other standard services, The room comes with kitchenette, couch and complementary wine and snacks.

Thank you
'Marethabile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for 11days. The room ok but found a dirty towel in the bathroom, this was not removed for 3 days, had to ask for a chair to be put in my room, had to ask for my bed linen to be changed after 3days even though the welcome card in the room said bed linen is changed every 2 days for long stay guests. Too many insects crawling on the floor. I had asked for an upstairs room because I wanted to sit on the balcony in the evenings, but the balcony was covered in pigeon poo which was never cleaned during my stay. Staff good and helpful. Breakfast ok. A secure place for solo travellers

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smash40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marethabile S, Owner at Scenery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review.  I am very sorry for not delivering on our promise.  Most issues are basic standard quality matters that I am sorry that we failed to deliver on them.  This review has been an eye opener for us and it helped us to go back to the drawing board and to up our game so that our guests can experience magnetic service.  The control systems in housekeeping and other departments have been strengthened to ensure adherence to our standards such that linen and towels are always clean and changed frequently.  We have also improved our checklist to incorporate more items to ensure that everything that is expected in the rooms is made available including chairs.  We have increased the frequency of using pest control measures while also having other controls to minimize insects.  We have also found environmentally-save means of chasing away  birds and the supplier has given us assurance that the equipment will be installed in February.  Our balconies are to be kept clean with or without birds because it is the facility that is made available to allow our guest to relax and to have a wide view of the north side of Maseru ( north facing balconies).

We appreciate that our staff was good and helpful and we will work hard to keep up the good service.  We will also keep up the good work in the kitchen.

Thank you for a balanced review.  I am giving personal assurance that we have worked on these issues.  

Best regards
'Marethabile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I enjoyed my visit to the Scenery Guest House which is in the economy bracket because the staff were competent and helpful and all the provided facilities worked. The remote control for the TV and AC were provided and worked.

As mentioned there is a TV set with the local stations, an AC, an electric kettle with instant coffee making items, and a small fridge. The shower was satisfactory with plenty of hot water.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Resident E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marethabile S, Owner at Scenery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for having stayed with us and for having good experience. We are striving to ensure that our facilities are well maintained and it is pleasing hear a satisfied guest because of that.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you
'Marethabile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our party of 10 African business leaders had real problems with premier hotels and top rated B&B in Maseru for reservations, service etc. This guest house was everything my wife and I needed and at 35% of the hotel prices. Secure, very friendly, adequate breakfast. Need a GPS to find it first time. I travel internationally a lot and would highly recommend this for basic accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DurbanPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marethabile S, Owner at Scenery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We are pleased to know that you were able to get to our place easily with the use of GPS. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, your review is highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and many more guests because of your recommendation.

Thank you
'Marethabile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I travel on business and always need wifi. if you can ensure that there is strong wifi in rooms the better. when I checked in at night there was a security guard who could not understand English and found it difficult to communicate that we had reserved a room.


  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patience M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marethabile S, Owner at Scenery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for constructive review. We take comments seriously and we took time to respond because we were hoping that we would have the solution to our wifi facility by now. We have worked very hard with the service provider to improve on the coverage in the rooms but I am sorry to report that we have just improved but the service is not really up to maximum level due to tecnhnical challenges as explained by the service provider. We have just engaged the new service provider at the new guesthouse so that we can compare the service and make informed decision about our way forward.

We have talked to the security company service provider to resolve our challenges with night people and the new arrangement is working.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Scenery.

Thank you
'Marethabile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maseru hotels
0.0 km away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 km away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#8 of 10 in Maseru
131 reviews
0.0 km away
Scenery Maqalika Guest House
0.0 km away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenery Guest House

Address: Maseru East (behind Setsoto Stadium) | Box 1785, Maseru, Maseru 100, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Maseru
Price Range: $58 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenery Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenery Lodge (Pty) Ltd, operating as Scenery guest house started its operations in 2008. It is located in a quite residential area just outside the city bustle to ensure that our guests can comfortably do business and get maximum rest and comfort. It is located no more than a kilometre away from its sister branch, Scenery Maqalika Guesthouse. Scenery Guest House is founded on the idea that maintaining highest levels of service and standards is essential to keep our guests satisfied. The guest house is located in Maseru East, behind the Setsoto Stadium. This location allows good visibility along with convenient access to business centers, sports and recreation facilities and tourist attractions. It provides beautiful scenery of Main North areas of Maseru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Scenery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing