We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
10
31
37
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
31
37
13
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

The rooms are good in size but you have to ask for a fridge. Light is dim in the room. Wifi is very good. There is always noise outside from noon till sunset but I think it's a Cameroonian thing. I wish they add breakfast with the price they offer. Overall, not a bad experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Khaled S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric U, Directeur général at Hotel Merina Yaounde centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Khaled S,

Many thanks for all. We hope to see you for your next stay in Yaoundé.

Best regards.

Frédéric URBIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Old hotel with old facilities. Card key may not work. Overall lighting is dark. Bed and pillows low quality. Not clean and non-smoking floor is not non-smoking, even the owner smokes at the public space. Cigarette smoke come in room from bathroom vent. Access not good due to traffic and also close to the central market, may avoid if security concerns. No restaurant nearby. Small lobby space, always loud and noisy. Backside rooms facing trashing place, not pleasant. Better to be in one of those on hills even paying for transportation (taxi).

Room Tip: 1st floor above the swimming pool, relatively quiet and less unpleasant view, but not many rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuji N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

Dear Mr. YUJI,

We thank you for having dedicated un a little of your time to communicate us your inpressions.
We well noted your remarks and shall take care of that.
We thank you again and wish you an excellent day.

Best regards

Frédéric URBIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I had a month to explore in Yaoundé and you will not find hotels above Merina in Yaoundé for its category.

They do not have many bilingual staff as you will experience in Douala. French is the preferred language of communication.

The cuisine offering is quite unique with some local/African delicacies being available for breakfast.

They are quite strong on their Wi-Fi offering - it did not let me down.

The rooms are spacious and once in a while, something will not work e.g. the lift occasionally goes AWOL. :-)

I would recommend getting a non smoking room

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munguti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 February 2017

Many thanks for your kind comment.

We are very happy to have answered your expectations and will be happy to receive you again during your next stay in Yaoundé.

Best regards

Frédéric URBIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

It was very nice experience nice and cooperative staff always ready to help .breakfast also good .its easy to access from airport. All the supermarket near by hotel .hotel in central area so you can get everything near .

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank lalshankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 December 2016

Many Thanks Mr Amit for your kind comment. All comments help us to be more effective.

The Mérina Team thanks you for your remarks and we shall be very happy to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Frédéric URBIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I had a great stay at the Merina. I had planned to stay there for 3 or 4 nights, but because of complications, I extended another 3 nights. The staff was lovely, competent and flexible. I needed IT support and got it within minutes. I needed a doctor and had support immediately. The staff was consistently both kind and professional. The new general manager was on site and made his presence felt. In terms of infrastructure - nothing too exciting but I appreciated the generally clean room, hot water, international TV stations, safe deposit box and decent wifi. I travel a lot in Africa for business and the value-for-money was exceptionally high. There is also a really nice gallery/gift shop with very reasonable prices (especially compared to the Hilton, just a few blocks away). Overall, I can't recommend this hotel more.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 December 2016

Many thanks Laura W, for your kind comment.

You give the good boost to all the team of Mérina Hotel to continue its work with motivation, smile and professionnalis.

Thank you again, we will be very happy to welcome you for your next stay to Yaoundé.

Best regards

Frédéric URBIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews