We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of their payment system”
Review of Skyna Hotel Luanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 28 March 2012

On my recent trip to Luanda our business partners in Luanda booked me at Skyna Hotel. They paid the first night's accommodation costs. Having stayed there before I convinced a colleague to also stay at the same time. He booked through a travel agent. When we checked in at the hotel they immediately charged the four night's accommodation to my colleague's credit card. After a rather average but expensive dinner in the hotel that night, he was told he would have to pay cash for the dinner and all future extras during his stay. The next day, I was also told I had to pay cash for any other services except accommodation. We obviously argued with the manager that this was not normal international hotel practice but he was adamant that since 2 guests left last year not paying for extras on their bill, this was now the hotel's policy. Needless to say, we never used any facilities in the hotel again during the 4 days we were in Luanda. We also noticed that there seemed endless arguments between reception staff and guests which didn't surprise us. While the hotel offers average service & comfortable facilities at the usual exhorbitant Luanda prices, you need to decide if you want to be carrying around a pocketful of money to pay for your extras during your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Skyna Hotel Luanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

I would rate this hotel no better than a 1-2 star. While its price (+350/night) is suggestive of a good quality hotel, that is not the case. The hotel is mediocre at best, with poor room service, and very little selection beyond the overpriced buffet for both lunch and dinner (unless you eat in your room). Room service typically consists of multiple phone calls before they "agree" to bring your food, with a ridiculous preoccupation about payment (why not just charge it to the room), and no seeming communication between phone calls to room service, so your order may or may not resemble what you ordered. As for calling for a cab, forget it. They will give you the phone numbers of companies, and direct you to call. Their definition of a doorman is literal........opens the door, nothing more. Concierge service.........where? Direct phone calls --- forget it. You must call the reception each time you want to call to ask them to give you a line, and they may or may not answer the phone. It is all incredibly frustrating. The beds are nothing special, and the fitness center is adequate. With more hotels being constructed in Luanda, this hotel is in for a rude awakening.......I'll never stay there again!!

Room Tip: high floor with view of the sea.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed a couple of nights at Skyna this week. It was my first time in this Hotel for my business trip. I have stayed in Alvalade and Golden Park Hotels in Luanda before. Skyna had great buffet for breakfast. Loved the bread and pastries and the strong dark coffee as well. Beds were comfortable, room was clean during my stay. i stayed on the 9th floor so it was not very noisy. I was also death tired after 14 hrs flight and trying to adjust to the 6 hours earlier. Bar Samba had friendly staff and their coffee was excellent too. Had a couple of beer on ourlast night and bar tender gave us a taste of Amarula for free. I had a kick out of the little rolling brush to clean your shoes in front of the elevator. I enjoyed my stay in Skyna and would push to get back to this Hotel if need to come back to Luanda.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ortiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

New and fresh, Skyna is a good hotel in Luanda city centre. Friendly staff, good location.
Of course this hotel too has some of the common Angola hotel problems...;
Breakfast is good and with lots of variety, while the lunch buffet is disappointing and if possible, avoid it and go somewhere else!
Room service is slow – plan to wait for an hour and take it as a pleasant surprise if you get what you ordered, it is a bit of jeopardy!
Unfortunately you can not order breakfast with room service, you have to eat in the restaurant.
Laundry service is good.
Gym is ok.
Internet comes and goes (Angola style…) but is much more reliable than at the hotel Tropico.
There are several new hotels under construction in Luanda, but I think Skyna is a good choise and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

But everything is expensive in Luanda. Skyna Hotel is a reasonable hotel in a city with prices out of control. After discounting all the peculiarities of Luanda, it is ok to stay there. Staff is friendly, facilities work. And it has a competitive price, as long as you don´t compare what you are paying for with what the same money would allow you to do in Paris or London.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrebrasil1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.2 km away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
289 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
198 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
117 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Alvalade
Hotel Alvalade
#16 of 39 in Luanda
129 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 39 in Luanda
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Luanda

Been to Skyna Hotel Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyna Hotel Luanda

Address: Avenida de Portugal N0 29 | Ingombotas, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: $408 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skyna Hotel Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skyna Hotel Luanda is a modern hotel present in the Angolan Capital since 2009. We now also focus on internationalization and Portugal is the first country that we are present. We are the first Angolan chain of hotels to venture abroad and we want to create an exchange between the know-how and best practices of Portuguese hospitality and the warmth and joy of the Angolan people. The Skyna Hotel Luanda has three bars (one for smokers, one for supporting conferences, serving light meals), and a buffet restaurant. It has 220 double rooms, 11 suites with 100m2 each and a penthouse apartment, 4 apartments T1 and two apartments T2, with room service 24 hours a day. The rooms are equipped with electronic locks, a private bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, safe deposit, telephone, television and mini bar. The reception is available 24 hours a day with currency exchange. It also has rent-a-car, own laundry, tobacconist, travel agency with support for local services, and free garage parking. Ideal for meetings and press conferences, the hotel has several multipurpose rooms and a business center. For relaxation, the Skyna Hotel Luanda offers to its customers a health club with massage, aesthetics, beauty and hairdressing services as well as a fully equipped gym with panoramic views over the city of Luanda. Visitors and hotel guests enjoy free Internet via WIFI throughout the hotel. A great space for fun and work. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Skyna Hotel Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing