We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 210
USD 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 165
Booking.com
View Deal
ABS Guest House(Luanda)(Great Value!)
USD 168
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 570
USD 492
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
9
63
67
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
63
67
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaundry servicebusiness hotelthree nightsclean hotelafricacuts
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I would rate this hotel no better than a 1-2 star. While its price (+350/night) is suggestive of a good quality hotel, that is not the case. The hotel is mediocre at best, with poor room service, and very little selection beyond the overpriced buffet for both lunch and dinner (unless you eat in your room). Room service typically consists of multiple phone calls before they "agree" to bring your food, with a ridiculous preoccupation about payment (why not just charge it to the room), and no seeming communication between phone calls to room service, so your order may or may not resemble what you ordered. As for calling for a cab, forget it. They will give you the phone numbers of companies, and direct you to call. Their definition of a doorman is literal........opens the door, nothing more. Concierge service.........where? Direct phone calls --- forget it. You must call the reception each time you want to call to ask them to give you a line, and they may or may not answer the phone. It is all incredibly frustrating. The beds are nothing special, and the fitness center is adequate. With more hotels being constructed in Luanda, this hotel is in for a rude awakening.......I'll never stay there again!!

Room Tip: high floor with view of the sea.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed a couple of nights at Skyna this week. It was my first time in this Hotel for my business trip. I have stayed in Alvalade and Golden Park Hotels in Luanda before. Skyna had great buffet for breakfast. Loved the bread and pastries and the strong dark coffee as well. Beds were comfortable, room was clean during my stay. i stayed on the 9th floor so it was not very noisy. I was also death tired after 14 hrs flight and trying to adjust to the 6 hours earlier. Bar Samba had friendly staff and their coffee was excellent too. Had a couple of beer on ourlast night and bar tender gave us a taste of Amarula for free. I had a kick out of the little rolling brush to clean your shoes in front of the elevator. I enjoyed my stay in Skyna and would push to get back to this Hotel if need to come back to Luanda.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ortiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

New and fresh, Skyna is a good hotel in Luanda city centre. Friendly staff, good location.
Of course this hotel too has some of the common Angola hotel problems...;
Breakfast is good and with lots of variety, while the lunch buffet is disappointing and if possible, avoid it and go somewhere else!
Room service is slow – plan to wait for an hour and take it as a pleasant surprise if you get what you ordered, it is a bit of jeopardy!
Unfortunately you can not order breakfast with room service, you have to eat in the restaurant.
Laundry service is good.
Gym is ok.
Internet comes and goes (Angola style…) but is much more reliable than at the hotel Tropico.
There are several new hotels under construction in Luanda, but I think Skyna is a good choise and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

But everything is expensive in Luanda. Skyna Hotel is a reasonable hotel in a city with prices out of control. After discounting all the peculiarities of Luanda, it is ok to stay there. Staff is friendly, facilities work. And it has a competitive price, as long as you don´t compare what you are paying for with what the same money would allow you to do in Paris or London.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrebrasil1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Skyna hotel ( Pronounced Skeenah Or Skiner) is a fairly new complex 1 – 2 years, located about half a mile from the major company offices on the sea front. The hotel would most likely rate three stars if it was in Europe.

My room was spotlessly clean but had a slightly damp odour to it. In Africa, things either happen or they don’t. If they do, it’s a bonus, this seemed to be the case at the Skyna. The room had free wi-fi which worked about 50% of the time. A free safe was included, which was not bolted down to anything. The sink would not hold water & the shower hand spray would not work. A mini-bar with three bottles of water & a can of beer was included but not replenished. Tea / coffee making facilities included. The last place I stayed in Luanda, had a mosquito net on the bed & a couple of cans of insect killer, which I would blast the room with as I left for the office on a morning. This was not the case here, but to be fair, the room was bug free. Sound proofing was not too good allowing the guest to be entertained by the sound of traffic below. One form of Angolan entertainment is to remove the silencer from ones motor cycle, & then see how many car alarms can be activated by the resulting racket.

Breakfast was OK & included in the room rate. However, eating lunch or dinner in the restaurant was quite expensive at around $70 per plate. An ex-pat told me of a nearby bar that does more reasonably priced food, but I did not fancy the trip after dark. Beer from the bar was regular hotel price. Room service was available, but I was informed that the food was usually cold by the time it made it to your room, so I did not bother.

Staff on the whole were friendly, with varying English skills. A rudimentary grasp of Portuguese goes a long way here.

To sum up, OK for a short business trip, but the place would wear a bit thin after a week. At nearly $400 per night, it is somewhat expensive, but this is the norm in Luanda.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryogenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews