We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When Staying in Luanda...”
Review of Skyna Hotel Luanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed a couple of nights at Skyna this week. It was my first time in this Hotel for my business trip. I have stayed in Alvalade and Golden Park Hotels in Luanda before. Skyna had great buffet for breakfast. Loved the bread and pastries and the strong dark coffee as well. Beds were comfortable, room was clean during my stay. i stayed on the 9th floor so it was not very noisy. I was also death tired after 14 hrs flight and trying to adjust to the 6 hours earlier. Bar Samba had friendly staff and their coffee was excellent too. Had a couple of beer on ourlast night and bar tender gave us a taste of Amarula for free. I had a kick out of the little rolling brush to clean your shoes in front of the elevator. I enjoyed my stay in Skyna and would push to get back to this Hotel if need to come back to Luanda.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ortiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Skyna Hotel Luanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 82 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

New and fresh, Skyna is a good hotel in Luanda city centre. Friendly staff, good location.
Of course this hotel too has some of the common Angola hotel problems...;
Breakfast is good and with lots of variety, while the lunch buffet is disappointing and if possible, avoid it and go somewhere else!
Room service is slow – plan to wait for an hour and take it as a pleasant surprise if you get what you ordered, it is a bit of jeopardy!
Unfortunately you can not order breakfast with room service, you have to eat in the restaurant.
Laundry service is good.
Gym is ok.
Internet comes and goes (Angola style…) but is much more reliable than at the hotel Tropico.
There are several new hotels under construction in Luanda, but I think Skyna is a good choise and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

But everything is expensive in Luanda. Skyna Hotel is a reasonable hotel in a city with prices out of control. After discounting all the peculiarities of Luanda, it is ok to stay there. Staff is friendly, facilities work. And it has a competitive price, as long as you don´t compare what you are paying for with what the same money would allow you to do in Paris or London.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrebrasil1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Skyna hotel ( Pronounced Skeenah Or Skiner) is a fairly new complex 1 – 2 years, located about half a mile from the major company offices on the sea front. The hotel would most likely rate three stars if it was in Europe.

My room was spotlessly clean but had a slightly damp odour to it. In Africa, things either happen or they don’t. If they do, it’s a bonus, this seemed to be the case at the Skyna. The room had free wi-fi which worked about 50% of the time. A free safe was included, which was not bolted down to anything. The sink would not hold water & the shower hand spray would not work. A mini-bar with three bottles of water & a can of beer was included but not replenished. Tea / coffee making facilities included. The last place I stayed in Luanda, had a mosquito net on the bed & a couple of cans of insect killer, which I would blast the room with as I left for the office on a morning. This was not the case here, but to be fair, the room was bug free. Sound proofing was not too good allowing the guest to be entertained by the sound of traffic below. One form of Angolan entertainment is to remove the silencer from ones motor cycle, & then see how many car alarms can be activated by the resulting racket.

Breakfast was OK & included in the room rate. However, eating lunch or dinner in the restaurant was quite expensive at around $70 per plate. An ex-pat told me of a nearby bar that does more reasonably priced food, but I did not fancy the trip after dark. Beer from the bar was regular hotel price. Room service was available, but I was informed that the food was usually cold by the time it made it to your room, so I did not bother.

Staff on the whole were friendly, with varying English skills. A rudimentary grasp of Portuguese goes a long way here.

To sum up, OK for a short business trip, but the place would wear a bit thin after a week. At nearly $400 per night, it is somewhat expensive, but this is the norm in Luanda.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryogenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Reasonable hotel and free wifi, very convenient. Good security watching in front of the hotel.
Hotel staff are very friendly. Breakfast is served in a buffet and has the basics.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lacbras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.2 km away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
289 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
198 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
118 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Alvalade
Hotel Alvalade
#11 of 39 in Luanda
130 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 39 in Luanda
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Luanda

Been to Skyna Hotel Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyna Hotel Luanda

Address: Avenida de Portugal N0 29 | Ingombotas, Luanda, Angola
Region: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: $411 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skyna Hotel Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skyna Hotel Luanda is a modern hotel present in the Angolan Capital since 2009. We now also focus on internationalization and Portugal is the first country that we are present. We are the first Angolan chain of hotels to venture abroad and we want to create an exchange between the know-how and best practices of Portuguese hospitality and the warmth and joy of the Angolan people. The Skyna Hotel Luanda has three bars (one for smokers, one for supporting conferences, serving light meals), and a buffet restaurant. It has 220 double rooms, 11 suites with 100m2 each and a penthouse apartment, 4 apartments T1 and two apartments T2, with room service 24 hours a day. The rooms are equipped with electronic locks, a private bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, safe deposit, telephone, television and mini bar. The reception is available 24 hours a day with currency exchange. It also has rent-a-car, own laundry, tobacconist, travel agency with support for local services, and free garage parking. Ideal for meetings and press conferences, the hotel has several multipurpose rooms and a business center. For relaxation, the Skyna Hotel Luanda offers to its customers a health club with massage, aesthetics, beauty and hairdressing services as well as a fully equipped gym with panoramic views over the city of Luanda. Visitors and hotel guests enjoy free Internet via WIFI throughout the hotel. A great space for fun and work. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Skyna Hotel Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing