We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise in Zimbabwe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Coconut Grove, Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise in Zimbabwe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Ilala lodge is a perfect setting for an excursion to one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It is well worth timing your visit to the Falls for maximum water flow---Feb-Apr. We were there in February and stayed at this well situated lodge. Very elegant-rustic with just so-so food. The rest makes up for it!

Room Tip: Access at swimming pool level was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is always much appreciated as it helps us strive to meet your expectations. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    392
    57
    7
    0
See reviews for
185
559
72
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Ilala Lodge is a well designed, attractive hotel, the service is great and it is a short walk to the Falls. I didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked innovative and interesting and I would definitely try it out on my next trip. The bar on the terrace has a view of the "smoke that thunders" over the tree tops and it's very pleasant to sit there and take in the twilight. Breakfast on the same terrace is quite lovely.

The rooms are large and light, the showers have a slightly dated Art Deco appeal. Overall, this is a quiet hotel that is still near the action.

I stayed there when Victoria Falls was just beginning to bounce back and become competition for Livingston. At the time, it was great value for the price. I feel it has now become a little pricey but this may be because Vic Falls is returning to its former glory. In its class, Ilala is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have French doors which open out onto a terrace. This gives a great illusion of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZimKait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge, your feedback is much appreciated. I am very pleased your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back here for another memorable holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I chose to stay at this hotel after an adventure through Namibia and Bostwana. I was looking for a place where I could relax and feel indulged. This hotel was it! A little pricey but I loved it! Eggs benny on the patio as I watched the spray from Victoria Falls. Very happy with my choice!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is always much appreciated as it helps us strive to meet your expectations. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a wonderful experience here during our March 2011 trip. I loved the hotel. It is smaller and I enjoyed the feeling of privacy and intamacy. Our room was on the ground floor (down the stairs from the restaurant/lobby) and had french doors that open up onto a cute lawn. Baboons play and hang out on the lawn and we even saw elephants tromp through one night! We had champagne waiting in our room when we checked in and loved the decor and the atmosphere. The breakfast is very good, as is the dinner at the Palm Restaurant. Nice pool area, although we did not use it. I thought this hotel was a GREAT value for the money and would send any of my friends/family here and return if I ever have the chance to go back to Vic Falls. Close to the falls, if you're going to walk though it's a good idea to go with the tourism police.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens up onto the lawn. Very nice to have the french doors to open and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Your comments are highly appreciated and hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Overall, we were quite comfortable at Ilala. The grounds are well kept, they have free Internet in the lobby, and most importantly, they're only a short walk away from Vic Falls. They also are very close to several ATM machines and have a helpful travel agency at the hotel, where we could book helicopter flights and walks with lions (both activities highly recommended, by the way). We spent two nights there and ate dinner there both nights. The food was just okay and very expensive for what it was. But knowing the terrible economic situation in Zimbabwe, in which a lot of food has to be imported, we couldn't really blame the hotel for the high prices. Another drawback was the lack of privacy in our room. If we closed the curtain to the French doors, the room became very dark. But when we left it open, gardeners kept strolling by and staring in at us. Overall, I also felt that the staff could have been friendlier, smiled more, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you kindly for your imperative feedback.
We at Ilala Lodge continuously strive to meet and exceed guests expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated and l can assure you that all efforts have been made to rectify the concerns raised.
We thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.5 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
2.5 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.5 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.3 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.6 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price range (per night): $372 - $624
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia and Expedia APAC so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing