We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel--good location”
Review of La Maison Doree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tunis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison Doree
Ranked #10 of 19 Tunis B&B and Inns
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent hotel--good location”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

La Maison Doree was the first place my friend and I stayed when visiting Tunisia--and it was one of the better mid-range places we stayed. The Building itself was a little run down on a random side street, but ok for the area. The staff was friendly and helpful--basic french should get you by, but they also spoke a little english and italian to our surprise. Beds were decent and fairly clean. The room was also clean and fairly spacious with a nice bathroom. Light breakfast served in the morning (hope you like bread! That's what every breakfast if not most meals consist of). All we really wanted out of a hotel was a decent place to use as a base--the location is great. Very close to Ave Habib Bourguiba, the light rail terminal, and a 10 min walk to the medina. Pretty much all the main spots in Tunis (you only need a day or two to leisurely cover the attractions of the city)--and the Bardo museum is 15 mins away on light rail. There are nice supermarkets close by (Monoprix is our favorite! Very western, nicer than many european markets) and internet cafes. The train to Carthage is walkable as well--sort of like a communter rail. If I went back and was staying on the cheap, I'd probably stay there again. Though…Tunisia was great to see, but probably won't go back--there are other interesting places in north africa to explore.(oh--also beware of the "friendly" people that walk up to you on the street, they probably want to take you to their carpet or perfume shop. People in general are not as pushy or demanding as in other north african countries, but tourists are an easy mark) The only real turn off was that the front of the building where the hotel is located pumped out sewage into the street to the open gutters. Pretty gross to walk by. We are pretty hardy travelers--but lets just say it left an impression.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chococliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
10
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Situated in a good location in nouvelle Tunis within a 10 minute walk of the Medina and cafes on Avenue Bougiba.
Old French building in need of a refurbishment but clean and spacious.
Not much sound insulation so take your ear plugs.
Breakfast basic. No frills.
Staff quite helpful but only one receptionist spoke English.
Very little tourist information at hotel but tourist info office 15 mins walk away.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Stayed here on our way to and from the desert, 3 nights in total. The second room (for 2 nights ) was better than the first. We paid £10 per person per night including breakfast. Rooms were basic but clean and had everything you needed, towels changed every day Staff were very helpful and friendly, helped that we speak French though they seemed to speak some English. Very near the train station to the south and the souks - couldn't ask for a better location. Still quiet even though it is central.
Breakfast was continental and very adequate. The restarant was incredibly cheap - each day they have a different menu to choose from for 7.5 dinars - about £3.50!! For this you get 3 courses of very well cooked and presented food. Can't see how they could make a profit! They even serve wine at about £6 a bottle.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers6uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I stayed at the Maison Doree for a week and found the hotel charming. It isn't a 4 star standard but what it lacks in grandeur it makes up for in friendly and accommodating staff who are a delight. My room was large with a balcony - noisy but bearable. The hotel is perfect for exploring the Medina and other sights in Tunis. Excellent value and a real find if you don't want to break the bank!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We have stayed twice at the Maison Doree, and the rooms are spacious, clean and there is always plenty of hot water. the hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the continenatal breakfast is good, and can be brought to your room without charge. The restaurant too is excellent value, with waiters dressed in a manner reminiscent of an Italian Trattoria from the 60's. We love it.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.4 km away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
444 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#20 of 54 in Tunis
122 reviews
0.3 km away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#7 of 54 in Tunis
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Metropole Residence
0.3 km away
Tunisia Palace
Tunisia Palace
#14 of 54 in Tunis
161 reviews
0.9 km away
Palais Bayram
Palais Bayram
#9 of 54 in Tunis
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Doree

Property: La Maison Doree
Address: 6 Rue de Hollande, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tunis
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
La Maison Doree Hotel Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing