We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$2,692
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ersatzme
Raleigh, North Carolina
Best camp in Serengeti
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 July 2019
Serengeti Pioneer Camp was our favorite of all the camps we stayed in during our safari. The camp has the feel of something from the 30's or 40's but with every luxury amenity a person could want. King size bed, writing desk, full en-suite bathroom with solar shower. The staff was outstanding. The GM, Rodgers and his assistant Charles were superb hosts. Dining was elegant and the food was the best we had in the Serengeti. The chef made a birthday cake for me and the entire staff came out singing & dancing in celebration. Great service, views and accomodations. Thank you Serengeti Pioneer Camp, we hope to visit you again!
Date of stay: June 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$919
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
36.0 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$445
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$936
32.0 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$1,418
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,418
58.6 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$1,033
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
123.3 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$975
  • eDreams
4.6 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$347
  • Priceline
54.5 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$5,681
  • Booking.com
31.3 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$344
  • Expedia.com
    AU$436
25.9 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$291
  • Booking.com
88.2 km from Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Serengeti National Park
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
536
27
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
536
27
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water solar power game drives two nights personalized service watching the sunrise day safari our honeymoon rock hyrax every meal the entire staff assistant manager endless plains main area treated like royalty personal butler magical experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2019

The service, location and feel of this tented camp are superb. Upon arrival after a long and dusty ride, we were welcomed by friendly staff with warm towels to wipe away the grime. We were accompanied upstairs to a bar/lounge area and the panorama that greeted us was stunning. We spent a good amount of our time in this area, cold drinks in hand, taking in the expansive Serengeti plains that stretched out below.

The very personable manager of Pioneer Camp, Rodgers, and the Elewana representative, Charl, were both superb and really know how to treat guests. I spent much of my camp time conversing with Charl and his love and enthusiasm for the animals in the Serengeti was infectious. Thank you, Charl, for making this part of our African adventure even more memorable.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, General Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thank you for your great review, we appreciate your excellent feedback. We have an opportunity to blow our guests away within the first 5 minutes of arriving, as the view from our lounge is the cherry on the cake! We agree, it's a magnificent spot and you could spend hours just admiring the vastness of the Serengeti. The longer you admire the view, the more animals you see and the scene changes with the light of the day.

I will pass on your feedback to the team at Pioneer Camp, we are so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your next Serengeti adventure.

The Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2019

My family and I stayed at Elewana's Serengeti Camp and it was honestly a magical experience! The level of attention to detail and care the Elewana staff has for its customers goes beyond any expectations. The manager along with the staff at the Serengeti camp always went above and beyond – from sunrise breakfast with a view, to moonlight candle dinners – to create the most memorable moments for us. The staff is incredibly friendly and well trained, better than any upscale/high-end hotel in any world-renowned city. Besides the magical game drives, and beautifully styled rooms which provided us with the best sleep in our entire trip, Elewana's location is at the heart of Serengeti and allows you to experience the most of your safari excursion. The level of service and quality of experience they are able to provide for their guests is exceptional in every way, and leaves you wondering how they are able to do this in the middle of the savanna. Congratulations to everyone at Elewana's Serengeti camp, you've given my family and I unforgettable memories!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingLense
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, General Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thank you for a terrific review. It was a pleasure hosting your family at Pioneer Camp. We certainly thrive on creating memories for our guests. The breakfast on the rock and the candlelit dinner under the stars is a great experience, and I'm glad your family enjoyed it. Our staff are true gems and take pride in their jobs and ensure that every guest gets a unique experience.

A comfortable bed is a must on safari, especially when we're waking you up so early to enjoy everything that the Serengeti has to offer! We look forward to having you back in Tanzania and/or Kenya in the not too distant future.

The Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

My friends and I stayed at Serengeti Pioneer Camp as part of an amazing trip to South and East Africa planned by AMA Waterways. As far as a safari experience goes, this place was the real deal! We will never forget our days in the Serengeti and the animals we saw. We loved our tented accommodations with views that went on for miles. The staff was outstanding and made us feel pampered, special and safe at all times. Of special note was the food. Of the seven high end hotel properties during this whole trip, Pioneer Camp had our favorite food. We would definitely stay here again!!!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, General Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thank you for your valued feedback; we are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Pioneer Camp. The Serengeti never disappoints and the game viewing is truly exceptional. The Pioneer team pride themselves in making every guest's stay special and unforgettable. We agree, Joseph and his team in the kitchen are miracle workers, cooking out of a tent in the middle of the Serengeti he manages to pull off amazing cuisine. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Serengeti!
Rodgers Daniels and the Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

You can not get a better view of the valley than this spot. The rooms are wonderfully appointed and private. The food and staff are great. Wonderful for couples, not oriented towards community but staff takes care of every detail. I was a single traveler and they couldn't have treated me better.

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank fridayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, General Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. There are very few visitors that come to Pioneer Camp that aren't blown away by the endless vistas. We do individual dining at Pioneer Camp due to our guests having different schedules throughout the day. We do often have solo travellers though and some choose to join other guests for meals and some prefer to have dinner alone. Either way, the Pioneer team is always on hand to look after all guests. I will pass on your compliments to the team.
Rodgers Daniels and the Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019

This tented camp is simply wonderful. Our 3 night stay was a highlight of our trip with beautiful views, delicious food, beautiful accommodations and a first class staff. We absolutely loved it! Well done!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, General Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thank you! We are glad that we could make your trip memorable and honoured that it was your highlight. I agree, we have a first-class team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pioneer in the not too distant future.
Rodgers Daniels and the Serengeti Pioneer Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews