We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
AU$1,736
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
AU$1,735
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$1,225
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Safe Adventures and Expeditions
Nairobi, Kenya

Indulgent cuisine. Impeccable hospitality. Breathtaking ambiance.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024
After a long day of travel, we reveled in an evening of luxury at the elegantly appointed Serengeti Suites.
The pristine table settings, fragrant blooms, and gentle melodies of the grand piano set the scene for an unforgettable dining experience.
Although tempted by the poolside terrace, we opted for a window table, savoring views of swaying greenery and the melodic chirping of crickets as evening descended.
My partner savored a delectable nyama choma followed by ugali and sukuma wiki. Meanwhile, I delighted in perfectly seasoned samaki wa kupaka accompanied by chapati and a delightful kachumbari salad. The divine bread basket and exquisite East African Chardonnay, followed by a merlot, rounded out our sumptuous meal.
And the service! From the gracious Captain to the knowledgeable sommelier and attentive busser, their warmth and professionalism left an indelible impression.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doreen Herman, Guest Services / Front Office at Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection, responded to this review
Responded 11 Apr 2024
Dear thesafeadventure,
Greetings from the heart of Serengeti Savannah!
First and foremost, i would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your time and write to us this positive experience you had during your stay, we are delighted that our team did a great job making sure you enjoyed every bit of your adventure.
Looking forward to having you back soon.
Best Regards,
Doreen Herman
Guest Coordinator
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$804
  • Priceline
24.9 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$951
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$953
  • Booking.com
    AU$530
  • Priceline
29.2 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
AU$911
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$839
  • Expedia.com
    AU$911
  • Priceline
30.1 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$347
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
38.9 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$1,062
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,061
  • ZenHotels.com
11.0 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$419
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$303
  • Hotels.com
    AU$315
53.7 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
gorgeous place to sun and read
Booking.com
AU$348
  • Hotels.com
    AU$371
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$319
  • Expedia.com
    AU$371
29.0 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
AU$332
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$333
  • Agoda.com
    AU$247
  • Booking.com
    AU$314
86.5 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$1,127
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,038
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,038
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$1,038
106.7 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$2,061
  • Agoda.com
    AU$2,060
  • eDreams
    AU$2,061
49.1 km from Meliá Serengeti Lodge member of Meliá Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Serengeti National Park
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
526
24
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
526
24
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool the general manager game drives amazing hotel the hotel manager incredible views unforgettable experience mind blowing comfortable rooms every staff member seronera airstrip incredible stay long days our honeymoon fire pit dream come true safari guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2024

- Very nice and beautiful lodge.
- Very friendly and attentive staff.
- Big and comfortable rooms with nice balcony looking towards the bush.
- Food could be better((
- Food menu should be refreshed.
- Bathroom was a bit shabby.
- Rooms already require some renovation.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oleg_tsal-tsalko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doreen Herman, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Serengeti Lodge member of Melia Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

Dear oleg_tsal-tsalko
Greetings from the heart of Serengeti Savannah!
Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing to us, and we are very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay here.
Regarding food and menu, we have taken it into our consideration, and we will do our best to make some changes so that all our guests can have the best vacation enjoyment while staying with us.
It would be our most pleasure to have you with us next time.
Kind Regards,
Doreen Herman
Guest Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

What a location. It's a bit of a drive from Seronera Airport. But it's worth it. Once you reach the site, it is like a fairytale. It's hard to imagine such a place in the middle of the Serengeti. Great service. Everyone was welcoming and friendly. The view from the sitting area is breathtaking. The food is great and money well spent.

Room tip: Be ready for a bit of a long drive to the location.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jayachinthaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Experience MSL, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Serengeti Lodge member of Melia Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear Jayachinthaka,

Greetings from Melia Serengeti Lodge and thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location, service, and food lived up to your expectations.

We strive to provide our guests with a memorable experience, and we are delighted to hear that we succeeded with you.

We hope to welcome you back to our little piece of paradise in the Serengeti again soon. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Regards,
David Larius
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024

Going on safari is an expensive undertaking that payment transparency should be paramount when excursions are add-ons and you do not speak the language of the country you are visiting.

Unfortunately, it is for this reason I cannot recommend the Melia Serengeti as there were three (3) separate incidents around payment that culminated into an overall negative experience that made me feel compelled to share this story. I do not want anyone to feel as embarrassed as the Melia Serengeti made our group feel! I have also attached a screengrab from another review that echoes similar payment issues, so unfortunately this is not an isolated issue.

I did try to resolve this matter privately with Benjamin Paul, Senior Sales Manager, but I never received a response even though my email was sent to an active email address.

Our trip was November 2023 into December 2023 and consisted of two couples celebrating two 40th Birthdays.

Leading into our trip I had been corresponding via WhatsApp with Rocio Zapata. When we arrived at Serengeti she was setting up for a sunset proposal and when she learned that we had arrived in the lobby she ran up the stairs to greet us. Unfortunately, the greeting began with a full-frontal hug of my husband, who she thought she was corresponding with via WhatsApp even though it was actually me. I felt that was an inappropriate greeting, but it did not bother me until subsequent unprofessional transactions with Rocio.

During this greeting, all four of us spoke to her and we heard her inform us that we could do a complimentary walking safari. For context, she and I were corresponding via WhatsApp and she told me about the terms and price for the walking safari, so we were pleasantly surprised to know it would be free. When it came time to book the walking safari with another staff member, they told us we would have to pay. After we explained what we were told by Rocio, the Concierge pulled out a screengrab from my WhatApp conversation with Rocio where she was informing me of the price. I did not want to feel like a thief, nor appear like I did not remember what I was quoted on WhatsApp, so we declined the opportunity.

Upon arrival at the Serengeti we were awkwardly encouraged to pay upon arrival, which is not a customary practice at luxury resorts, but we obliged. When I have stayed at various IHG's Six Senses or Equinox Hotels, they never asked to authorize the full freight of the stay in advance. In line with this strange practice, after we checked out from Serengeti we traveled to Melia Arusha for one night before our flight. That day at Melia Arusha, we received a panicked phone call to our room from Serengeti saying that they forgot to charge us for our balloon ride. They offered to send a separate bill to our email which we agreed to pay, even though we had signed and paid for our hotel invoice twice already, upon check-in and check-out. Shortly after they called again and changed the terms of payment. They informed us we must pay directly to the Melia Arusha during our checkout, or we would not be able to leave the property. The Melia Arusha was clearly not happy about what the Serengeti was asking them to do, and I'm sure someone at the Arusha front desk will remember this incident to confirm.

To the point, being made to feel like a thief about a complimentary excursion that was offered in person, then having a screengrab thrust in my face, paying twice at Serengeti, then being chased through the country like thieves for something that was a genuine oversight on the Melia Serengeti's part was very off-putting. Unfortunately, I believe these three experiences and lack of response from the Melia directly ladder into training and management from the lead brand.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jodit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ROCIO GARCIA ZAPATA, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Serengeti Lodge member of Melia Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Dear Ms. Jodit 24,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Melia Serengeti. As a Spanish company, warm hospitality is one of our core values, and we regret that your stay did not reflect this. We tried to assist you even directly by phone and not in working hours, helping with your friends booking to have the same benefits as yours and explaining all the activities and prices.

We would like to clarify a few points:

Complimentary Walking Safari: While we strive to offer our guests a memorable experience, we never explicitly offer a complimentary walking safari. Instead, we provide our guests the flexibility to choose a date for the safari during their stay, using with the words " feel free to do it whenever you want". We understand that there may have been a misunderstanding in this case.

Payment Upon Arrival: Our remote location necessitates requesting payment upon arrival due to the network errors. We apologize if this caused any inconvenience.

Balloon Ride Payment: We sincerely regret the confusion regarding the payment for the balloon ride. We are committed to ensuring a smooth and transparent payment process for our guests. We will investigate this matter thoroughly and take appropriate corrective actions to prevent similar incidents from happening in the future.

We acknowledge that your experience was not up to our usual high standards, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or embarrassment caused. We take your feedback very seriously and will use it to ensure that all our guests have a positive experience.

We would also like to point out that the referenced complaint is from August 2020, and we have implemented several measures since then to prevent such occurrences. We are confident that these changes will result in a significantly improved guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust and provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve.


Rocio Garcia Zapata
Front of the House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024

We reserved a stay at the Melia Serengeti lodge for three nights. Our initial impression was fantastic – the front office staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating, always striving to surpass expectations. Special thanks to CHACHA for his outstanding service at the restaurant. The front office manager, David Larius, was exceptional in ensuring our resort experience was magical. The entire staff provided top-notch service, with standout mentions to Majid and Jesica at the restaurants, and Doreen at reception, who truly made our stay unforgettable. I highly recommend visiting this remarkable property for an adventure-filled and soul-refreshing experience.

Room tip: Depart early morning for game drive and Balloon Safari experience is a must.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank abdulbadi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doreen Herman, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Serengeti Lodge member of Melia Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Dear 788abdulb
Warm Greetings from Serengeti Savannah! We hope you and the family are having a wonderful trip. First and foremost, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us to be part of your life adventure. we are truly honored to know that we did our best to make your stay unforgettable. I will be sure to pass this information to everyone, they will be very delighted to hear from you. Please know that Melia Serengeti is your second home in Tanzania, and we wish to have you with us again next time.
With Kindest Regards
Doreen Herman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed at Melia Serengeti for 3 nights in January 2024. It’s a beautiful property with a gorgeous view over the Serengeti plains. The rooms were a good size with air conditioning and ceiling fans and all the amenities you expect from a 5 start resort.
It took us a little getting used to the family style dinners as there was so much food and we quickly learnt to specify only the courses of food we really needed. The kitchen was extremely accommodating of our requests for different meals for our daughters - nothing was too much trouble and we were well looked after by Mr ChaCha and Nathaniel.
The interior design especially in the hotel common areas is beautiful.
The only reason I gave this 4 stars and not 5 stars is that the hotel is located a solid hour drive from where you will see the most wildlife within the park. That made for some long days of game drives - but it was worth it to experience the amazing array of animals in the Serengeti.

Room tip: Feel free to request different food. The staff are very accommodating.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LittleAffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doreen Herman, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Serengeti Lodge member of Melia Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Dear LittleAffy,
Greetings from the wild of Serengeti Savannah!
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your last visit to Tanzania, as well as for spending part of your precious time to send us your feedback.
It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have reached your expectations. We are delighted to know our team have made your stay an unforgettable experience.
Looking forward to having you back next time.

Best Regards
Doreen Munis,
Guest Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews