We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mount Kilimanjaro
from USD 2,564.11
More Info
from USD 1,743.59
More Info
from USD 2,450.06
More Info
from USD 269.42
More Info
Reviews (1,891)
Filter reviews
1,891 results
Traveller rating
1,722
117
23
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,722
117
23
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemosho route tro peaks african walking company mar tours uhuru peak summit night altitude sickness peak planet pole pole high altitude climate zones local company good luck base camp once in a lifetime whole team tour company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,557 - 1,562 of 1,891 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Dirty/dusty trail with lots of people on the trails...bathrooms are disgusting! Use the bushes and rocks instead...

Date of experience: October 2012
4  Thank hikerdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Drove in from Kenya to Arusha , first visited Mt Meru and then on to Mt Kilimanjaro as well as some waterfalls around. Loads and loads of tourists in town (not surprising though). Hotel was located very close to the mountain, arranged for a tour with a local guide. All in all , was a bit stressful but was worth every bit of the journey. Would recommend to anyone looking for the best locations in Africa to visit this mountain. Come prepared though.

Date of experience: October 2011
Thank Geraldattila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Highest peak in Africa. A fantastic achievement to reach the top - lots of people manage to get to the top, but don't underestimate this peak - it is not a "walk in the park".

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank DrVon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The best and hardest thing I have ever done in my life. A once in a life time adventure. If you have ever considered doing something as intense as this then do it!

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank Furby076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I and two friends recently returned from a private Kili climb with the African Walking Comany. I can unreservedly say, having observed the other companies on the mountain, that the African Walking Company team supporting us was second to none in professionalism, experience, friendliness and overall quality.

We did the 7 day Rongai route (2 nights at Mawenzi Tarn for acclimatisation) which was incredibly beautiful. I understand from talking to the guides that this route is easier on the first days but harder on the summit day to Gillman's Point compared to one of the routes on the other side of the mountain such as the Machame route that summit via Stella point.

We all experienced effects of the altitude (some short term memory issues from 4000m and nausea on the summit climb) but took Diamox so no actual altitude sickness. One of our friends is a severe asthmatic but with doctor approval, some extra drugs and the professional support of our chief guide Mussa and assistant guide Wilfred, she made it to the top successfully. Mussa made sure the walking pace was appropriate and frequent rest stops were provided to ensure that she didn't lose her breath and could summit safely without the need for oxygen. Yes it hurt and she had to work so much harder than the rest of us but she always felt safe and confident in Mussa's judgment.

The small differentials that make AWC stand out were the top treatement of their porters (all wearing appropriate footwear/clothing and not overloaded), the focus on hygiene and the little things (cup of tea in bed every morning and tea at the top of gillman's, wonderful conversations with the guides etc...). We won't forget our cook who stayed up until we left at midnight for the summit climb then walked the first part singing to us to sed us on our way.

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews