We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
205
350
132
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
350
132
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor buffet restaurant business district seafood star hotel swimming pool room service an upgrade business hotel main restaurant business trip prawns east africa comfortable stay rooms are spacious enjoyed my stay city centre
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We had just travelled for 36 hours from NZ to Tanzania so to get to this hotel was just like a haven to sleep and recover. Its very well appointed and an oasis of peace and quiet in the middle of a very busy city. The food was very good and the people who work in the hotel are really friendly.
Some reviews say its a little faded which I think is a bit unfair...........we loved it and think for what it is, is just terrific.
Some advice though on arriving in Dar ....be prepared for chaos if your flight arrives as did ours at the same time as a couple of other international flights.
The process on arrival is this;
1 Get as best you can an arrival card and fill it out
2 take it to the desk to be processed which includes photos and fingerprints
3 take the stamped arrival card to the cashier and pay your fees...leave your passport with the cashier
4 Stand outside the cashier desk and wait for an officer who will eventually arrive with a pile of passports with visa attached...he will call your name
5 proceed through immigration

Sounds easy, but believe me the day we arrived, that process took about an hour, with seemingly hundreds of people pushing and shoving

Then the drive to the hotel which can take anything up to an hour for what should take 15mins.

So on arrival at Serena...no wonder for us it was a haven!

Room Tip: Recommend the buffet dinner...superb!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank scratchykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Scratchykiwi,
We appreciate your honest review and thank you for taking notice of our newly renovated areas of the hotel which basically is the entire ground floor from the lobby to the restaurants and the garden terraces. Our next phase of our on going renovations will be the total revamp of our meeting and conference rooms. Shortly thereafter we plan to refurbish our bedrooms.
I look forward to your next visit and hope you will have time to try out our new Maisha Health Club and Spa.
Once again thank you for your positive feedback.
Sincerely,
Rahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

A very standard 4 star city hotel. It takes anywhere from 15 to 45 minutes to get from airport to the hotel, such is the chaotic Dar traffic. Politicians with police outriders cutting a swathe in and out of the traffic did not help the rest of us stuck in the jams.

The hotel offers comfortable but unmemorable (and a little faded) bedrooms, and a couple of decent (recently redecorated) restaurants. The pool bar is much better than the cafe bar (we waited over 30 minutes at the cafe bar for a cup of coffee)

The overall balance with this sort of hotel is neutral. Nothing bad to remember (in itself a plus point), and an overall similarity to dozens of other hotels around the world, such that in a few months you will have forgotten it. Having said that, I have no idea how it compares with other hotels in Dar.

The restaurants were first class, and the service was very friendly. No doubt pricey by local stands but a good overall experience both for dinner and particularly breakfast.

In fact we stayed here twice at each end of our holiday. And I would be satisfied enough to chose it again in Dar.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my family prior to our safari.... A great oasis of calm in a busy city. Lovely and warm welcome. Fast and efficient check-in. Great and very polite staff everywhere. The breakfast was amazing! Rooms were lovely and modern. The gym was also very good. We could not fault this place and look forward to a further stay there at the end of our holiday.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BPandRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear BPandRP,
We appreciate your review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continue to make improvements and feedback such as yours gives us the confidence to reinvest in our product and facilities.
Sincerely,
Rahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Went here for two nights after arriving in Tanzania, very friendly, polite staff who cater to all needs. Beds were comfy and the shower was great, breakfast was lovely and the view was amazing. Everything is there from a gym and spa to coconuts and passion fruit juice.
Fantastic Experience

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ploggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Ploggy,
Your review is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to our ever improving hotel as our remodelling continues.
Sincerely,
Rahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel antic design is just super and the rooms are up to standard, customer service is just "blow away the customer" arapha was very keen and she did as per my requests also the entire reception crew mary beatrice and the rest they treated us with respect and ever smiling... facilities like gym and pool also nothing to complain about. Looking forward to visit and stay for a long period.
Bravo team serena dar es salaam

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Chris K,
Thank you for your positive review and I am delighted that to see that you enjoyed your experience at the Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Rahim Azad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews