We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
283
231
47
25
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
231
47
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian ocean overlooking the ocean seafood lovely hotel business trip indian restaurant msasani peninsula comfortable rooms nice pool nana alcove dar gym tanzania supermarket poolside atm
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Sea Cliff for a week while my husband taught a class. The rooms on the ocean side are large and comfortable. We stayed one night across the hall where the bathroom and bedroom were much smaller. Try to get on the ocean side. Breakfast buffet is large, diverse, and very satisfying. We found that the quality and price of the hotel restaurant matched surrounding restaurants so there is no real reason to venture out for dinner.

Like all of Tanzania, you can't drink the water. Be careful.

Overall, we had a great time at Sea Cliff and would stay here again. The employees are very friendly and try to be helpful.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SusanJ309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCliffTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear SusanJ309,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very lucky to have this little oasis just 5km from the hustle and bustle of downtown Dar es Salaam! And a pleasure it is to read your review! As an independent hotel, word of mouth and recommendations on forums like Trip Advisor have such a big impact on us and we thank you sincerely for taking the time to write your review. We are very glad to hear you had a memorable stay with us. We hope we will have the opportunity to do so again.

Warm Regards,

The Sea Cliff Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed here whilst my husband was working in Dar. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the Cafe was a high standard-not an extensive menu but well cooked and presented. The gym was undergoing work at the time so was closed but the poolside was lovely when the weather was good.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank loubrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCliffTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear Loubrush,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip advisor. It was in deed a pleasure hosting you and your husband in our Hotel. We are happy to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. I have shared your wonderful feedback with team. We do hope we will have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future,

Warm Regards,

The Sea Cliff Tea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

First Impression
As the name suggest, it's right by the sea cliff in a very nice part of town. Getting there from the airport can be a nightmare during peak traffic hours but it's the same for all hotels so be warned if don't want to miss you flight out. Lovely hotel and staff and if you can get a room overlooking the sea, even better. Rooms are reasonable size and clean.

Parting Impression
Really enjoyed our stay here. The Karambezi Cafe serves up wonderful seafood dishes. It's like stepping back into paradise after wondering about in town. Do think the staff could be slightly warmer to guest.

Room tip: Definitely sea view
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Li11i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCliffTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear Li11i,

Thank you so much for a Five Star rating!

We appreciate your feedback. We take our guests comments seriously and work on the areas that needs improvement, It is feedback like yours that encourages our team to be the best. Thank you once again.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future

Warm regards

The Sea Cliff Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

The location is perfect, its easy to reach town and easy to go out f town,. so it is basical in the center. most necessities are just round the corner. Staffs are welcoming. Cleaning of the rooms was abit of a challenge but we reported and they promised to work on it!

Room tip: rooms on your right from elevator have the best views
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCliffTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Annie T,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great and heart-warming to read about your experience with us and we are pleased we were able to make your stay enjoyable. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile. Thank you for acknowledging our efforts, I will surely pass your kind comments to our team. who will be happy to know that their efforts are valued.

Wishing you a wonderful day and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

The Sea Cliff Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Returned to The Sea Cliff after 10 years to find it fresh, contemporary and as welcoming as we remembered it to be.
The staff still maintain the same friendly, professional service which we appreciated.
We had delicious meals in both courtyard and sea facing restaurants.
Our room was spacious and well appointed, with a comfy bed, fabulous sea views and a sunrise worth waking up for.
And ahhh, those sea breezes.
The Sea Cliff is away from all the Dar traffic, heat and congestion, which makes it very inviting.
But if you have to catch a flight during rush hour beware that you will need a good amount of extra time to deal with the above.
Not so appealing when you have a morning flight.
I definitely recommend a stay here!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCliffTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Ritajeff,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure welcoming you back to Sea Cliff Hotel. Your continued support of our hotel is sincerely appreciated.

I will ensure our staff know how much of an impact they made on your stay at Sea Cliff Hotel.

Thank you for recommending Sea Cliff Hotel Dar Es Salaam Hotel to other travels through TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Sea Cliff Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews