We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
330
371
73
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
371
73
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens friendly hotel business hotel comfortable room hotel restaurant business trip home away from home stayed one night the general manager holiday inn enjoyed my stay city centre dar tanzania safari embassies traffic
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent stay at the Southern Sun. Very warm welcome, friendly staff, great food and bubbly restaurant manager. The rooms are squeaky clean and i could not find anything that I was not happy with. Best place I could stay.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Venture65521875119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Venture65521875119

Thank you for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and for your lovely review of your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Simply very enjoyable from my prompt booking via cellphone , to arrival ,welcoming drink valet service, a extremely nice ,clean room ,the appetizing decor ,safe and TV channels. Bar was well stocked ,bites complimentary very tasted ,even on the bar menu..As for Breakfast 7 stars the least.this is known to the whole of Dar without any boasting.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Lawns33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lawns33

Thank you for your great review of your stay at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam. Your comments have been shared with the whole Team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

The welcome was awesome!!! Friendly and efficient. My room was clean. Nice TV channels.The wifi worked perfectly. The breakfast was nice and freshly made. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank danina105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear danina105

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, much appreciated. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

The last time I stayed at this establishment, it was still branded as a Holiday Inn. I was pleasantly surprised upon my return that the standards and quality has not changed at all. Still one of, if not the best breakfasts served in African hotels and the rooms are very comfortable indeed

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Jeremy169

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

I always stay at the Southern Sun, when in Dar.The food is excellent & timely. I love to outside court room, it's beautiful, cool and leafy. Gorgeous little pool, just perfect for a quick dip. Always clean & staff polite and respectful.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank F9931LQdianab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear diana b

Thank you for your lovely review of your experience at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam. We are delighted to receive your feedback and your comments have been shared with the Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews