We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Aside from Dar Traffic Starting Us Late, Great Day

We took an Investour today and had a great time! Unfortunately Dar traffic and a hotel mixup had us... read more

Reviewed 22 July 2017
danas378
via mobile
The best way to experience Dar es Salaam!

We took a group of 19 people through GOOD Travel to experience Dar es Salaam through Investours in... read more

Reviewed 12 March 2017
Eliza R
,
Wellington, New Zealand
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
25
3
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
3
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local lunch business plan loan recipient wood school
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

After spending six weeks traveling though Tanzania and Malawi, I was a bit torn about how to spend my last day in Africa. Dar Es Salaam had some nice attractions: the beaches of Kigamoyo, Bongoyo Island . . . nice for mizungus such as myself. I'd been visiting development projects for much of my journey, and was so glad to have experienced this type of educational/philanthropic tourism before I went back home to the USA. Having accommodating, expert guides such as Peter and his staff was such a treat, and getting a peek into the lives of hardworking local entrepreneurs like the woodcarvers and charcoal sellers we met was meaningful.

Investours partners with local financial institutions, which in turn work with local businesspeople, using the fees paid for their tours to provide interest-free loans to support enterprise. My tour was money very well spent, and since I have been studying microfinance/microenterprise a bit lately, it was great to see a program such as their in action. I have such enthusiasm for educational tourism, and Investours was such an excellent example of what this type of activity should be like. Innovative, informative, inspiring! Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

If you ever wanted to know what it would feel like to be a dragon on Dragons Den. This is your chance to and to know you have left Tanzania and made a difference long term.

The concept is that you pay a fee ( if private $200 if two $100 each if over three $75 each) for a tour. For this you have the opportunity to meet two local people trying to set up or improve their business. Lunch at a local cafe run by some women previously helped by the project. Lastly, a trip to the carvers market where you can shop and meet Tony who had the opportunity to develop his business and here how it made a difference (we bought a larger item from Tony as he was very good with his pricing and did not start at outlandish amounts. No need or pressure to buy but we really wanted the giraffe he had). As part of the tour you are also given an overview of what micro finance is and poverty information about Tanzania.

The idea is then that your tour fee is what funds the loan that will be given to one of the two business people you meet. That means that as a group you have to decide who to invest in. The one who doesn't receive the investment will receive feedback as to why and can apply again in the future. The loan is then given and has to be paid back within 3 months. It is amazing how $200 dollars really can make a big difference to people trying to help their business and family.

Many small business like hair saloons and carvers are only just making enough week to week to live and can not make enough to save up £150 to perhaps develop their business or fund capital to buy more stock at a cheaper price.

You the tourist make these funds available to them in the form of a loan. The loan comes from a banking partner of Investours. When the loan is paid back 30% of the funds you have put in is kept by the bank to cover their lending cost and cost of being a part of the scheme such as running cheaper bank accounts long term. The other 70% is used to fund the cost of running Investours. To ensure it is a sustainable long term project. As a finance director myself I was impressed with this model.

You can know that during your time in Tanzania you helped a family to move further out of poverty and made a difference. You will have directly met the person who's family you have helped and can really feel the personal attachment to this. It has been a really inspiring talking point of our holiday.

I really can't recommend this enough if you have the chance do this tour.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank Daisy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

A fantastic way to make a real positive difference to peoples lives and get to see the real Dar es Salaam. The tour operators are friendly, well informed and are helping local small businesses with microfinance loans. We took groups of IB economics students on the tour and they loved it while learning about grassroots economic development at the same time. A must do if you are in Tanzania.

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank LRussek_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Investours is an non-profit organisation who supports local entrepreneurs with 0% interest micro loans. Two genuine and friendly guides, Peter and his colleague, will bring you along two of these small entrepreneurs. Here, you will have the chance to meet them and find out more about their lives, business and future plans. This is an excellent opportunity to explore the less touristic part of Dar and get a taste of the life of a local. You will also enjoy lunch at one of the previous entrepreneurs Investours has supported and see the difference your support could bring to others. Finally, a tour around the main wood markets is not to mis.

Highly recommendable to anyone who has a day to spare in Dar.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We spent the day with at investours with peter the guide. He started by giving us a presentation about microfinance and explained that we would be visiting two entrepreneurs who would explain why they had applied for an interest free loan. At the end of the day we would select which one the money we had paid for the tour would receive the money. we visited a woman wanting to start a sewing business and a woman who wanted to expand her small shop. We also visited the wood carvers market and also had lunch at a local restaurant (all covered in the price you pay). It was an amazing experience that you would just not see as a tourist to dar es salaam otherwise. It also felt brilliant being able to learn about the lives of these people and seeing how resourceful they were. if you are in Dar for the day you MUST do this tour. Peter was amazing, the experience was fantastic and i will definitely be going again. brilliant.

Date of experience: August 2012
3  Thank emma79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews