We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
74
10
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters boutique hotel safari sebastien airport dar traffic zanzibar
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

I have given this boutique hotel a 5 star rating but there are problems if one cannot climb stairs. The property does not have an elevator and if you have one of the two 3rd floor rooms, which have the best beach views, there are 64 steps to climb to reach one's room. The rooms are very large, comfortable and spacious with huge bathrooms.
The rates are expensive but when one factors in the airport transfers, and that all the food and drinks are included, it seems more reasonable.
The staff are extremely helpful and the food is superb. The sea food platter we had was amazing. The lobsters (locally caught) were huge and beautifully prepared.
We both voted these the best lobsters we have eaten anywhere. N'uff said.

Room Tip: It is not the place for people who cannot climb stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed at Oyster Bay for one night before heading on safari. It is absolutely beautifully decorated in a luxurious colonial style, with huge rooms with a sea view, a stunning communal lounge area, and local artwork. The service from Sebastian, Catherine and the rest of the team was outstanding, and our evening meal was beautiful. It really felt like home from home, with only 8 rooms, and we wished we could have stayed another night.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning with sea views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kateel1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Beautiful location and sea facing. Very spacious rooms. Lovely food (I loved the sea platter :)) I loved my room in the second floor. Perfect for a night stop. sebastian, Catherine and all staff were so friendly...I definately recommend it

Room Tip: I loved the second floor room 6
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

It is artwork in colonial splendor, great personal service, food and beverages of highest order, boutique to risk the cliche, an old school club with a modern twist and style. Only 6 very spacious and opulently furnished rooms, fully air conditioned. While an hotel, and with a spa feeling, it has the comfort of home, and much more. Rimflo pool, huge trees and shady veranda makes the Oysterbay hard to leave! Sea views and beach a stone-throw away....

Room Tip: There are 3 floors, all very large and spacious, all with sea views and air cons
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Sebastien and his team were incredibly helpful and Sebastien a very good host. We were here for one night at the end of our trip. The decor is wonderful as well as the art work and the "common" areas very stylish and modern. The food was delicious both lunch and dinner and breakfast almost overwhelming with options Nice to spend the afternoon lying out by the small pool in the garden. Very large and spacious bedroom and bathroom with extremely comfortable bed and a nice sitting area. The Terrace was a bit disappointing as although looked out over the bay it was very small and extremely noisy with two large air conditioning units taking up most of the space and nothing comfortable to sit on.-not really meant for sitting out. We also had a problem with the safe and the shower was scalding hot - they tried to fix both these issues but with no success. However, it didn't detract from our stay here.
Excellent airport transfer service - very comfortable and pleasant driver

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews