We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
74
10
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters boutique hotel safari sebastien airport dar traffic zanzibar
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2015

This hotel is a small, all inclusive, design hotel which is stated in the residential area of Dar Es Salaam. They have only 8 rooms. The rooms are very well decorated, big and comfortable, staff is excellent, food is amazing. Next to the hotel, there is a small shopping area.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank corpusjuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

To years ago we stayed at The Oyster Bay or the first time. At that time we had a day room, lunch and dinner. It as so special that we decided to come back which we did now. This time we stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip and had the dayroom and meals in the end. It is always different when you go to for a 2nd time to a hotel. We still love the place, rooms are great (shower in bathroom needs maintenance), very good food, friendliest service and the location. Initially we were happy with the transport organized by the hotel. On the way back we were less happy when it was outsourced to a taxi driver. Kind management by Dimitra and Sebastian. We suggest to put some more candles & oil lamps on the (swimming pool) terrace and outside sitting area to create a more romantic atmosphere at night. We hope to stay at Oyster Bay the next time.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a sitting area, twin beds and overlooks the ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night but this place is Absolutely Fab.
Very impressive decoration and a very cool,building and obviously super cool rooms and great food coupled with a Super cool manager Dimitra

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kucho26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Only 8 rooms but unless you need more, look no further than Oyster Bay Hotel. Must say right away that there are only two negatives to mention: Dar is a tough city and there are no good locations but Oyster Bay is facing the Indian Ocean behind high gates so you need only be able to see 15 feet or above to get the view and be safe surrounded by a delightful yard, lap pool and generous staff who care about you and me. Additionally everywhere is bogged down by traffic so try to relax as you make your way to this gem because it is REALLY worth it.
Its most outstanding feature is that there is no outstanding feature, EVERYTHING is perfect: Service, Cleanliness, room features, quality of food, car service to and from the airport; They have thought of everything and implemented it perfectly!!!!
What a pity we could only spend 1 night there en route to safari.

Room Tip: all rooms face the indian ocean, but the views of course are best on the third and second floors.....however there is no elevator so as long as you can climb a few steps of course the upper floors are best.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank arnaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014 via mobile

I wish I could have spent longer here. I stayed for 1 night, but during this short time we were made to feel like royalty. From the time we arrived, to the time we left, there was not a moment i felt homesick. It was indeed home away from home. From the hospitality of the team, to the views from the room and the food, it was amazing. My next trip to dar es salaam will be longer and will be sure to stay at Oyster Bay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews